Born Again Birthday Parties & Linguini Oh-Yeah

   I recently was privileged to help out in the Pre-K class during our church Summer Bible School program.

During our 4 days together, 14 of the 45 students in that age group, came to know Jesus.  I don’t know about you, but that brings tears to my eyes!  What a BIG decision! And oh, were they ever sweet about it. 

  First we talked about the ABC’s of Salvation:

A Admit we are sinners.

B Believe God sent Jesus to die on the cross for our sins.

Claim Jesus as Lord of your life. This means you act different and show God’s love to those around you.  (This used to be Confess, but it has been recently changed because by this step, you’ve usual already done so)

  In discussing this event with the parents, it came to my attention that not everyone knows quite how to handle this new-found faith of their little ones.  I’d like to share with you today, what we tell our children and how we celebrate.

  First we tell them that the Lord has washed their hearts clean from the ugly “weeds” of sins.  (this gives a good reference point later when they lie or something, that the only way to get that weed out is to say sorry for their sin to their Heavenly Father and He’ll clean it out again.)

  The second thing we say is that God has opened His BIG book, called the “Book of Life” and has written their name in it! WOW, how exciting! 

  Then we tell them that the angels are whooping and hollering and having a Praise Party up in Heaven. 

Why? 

Well, they are celebrating a Born Again Birthday, that’s why. 

036  We choose to have a “Born Again Birthday” Celebration down here on earth too, making a treat, lighting a candle and singing Happy Born Again Birthday to that child at dinner.  We write it on the calendar so that every year we can remember this special day.

  Yesterday, was Destiny’s Born Again Birthday, and although we don’t celebrate with cake EVERY time, we do make mention of it and talk about what a special decision that was.  She asked Jesus into her heart June 30th, 2006.

  When I first started blogging last fall, Tylan asked Jesus into his heart after tearfully announcing he wanted to live with Jesus forever. It was just precious. I wrote about it here.   Avery did later that year as well.  She came padding into our room at 6 am and first thing, announced that last night when Nana was babysitting, she did something special.  She says, ”I have Jesus in my heart (points at tummy), I can go to HEAVEN!” And did the cutest little Yipeeee! jump in the air you ever did see.

  It makes this Momma’s heart proud that 3 of my 4 little Ferguson’s are children of the King of King’s! Praise His name!

034

Sooo, on to the food portion of today’s post. I think you’ll love this at your 4th of July celebration, it makes a nice BIG batch!

  I don’t know who named this dish, “Linguini Oh-Yeah!”, but despite their lack of a cool recipe name, this is a DELICIOUS pasta salad. Our favorite one in fact!

LINGUINI OH-YEAH!

058

Prepare 1 day in advance!  Colorful, zesty, and oh-so flavorful!

Ingredients
  • 1 pound Linguini Noodles
  • 1 whole Large Cucumber, Seeds Removed And Diced
  • 2 whole Medium Tomatoes, Diced (Grape Tomatoes Are Prettier!)
  • 4 whole Green Onions, Sliced
  • 5 Tablespoons Salad Supreme Seasoning (about Half The Jar)
  • 10 ounces, fluid Wishbone Italian Dressing
  • 1 dash Salt And Pepper

Cook and drain linguini noodles. Mix all ingredients together until they are evenly coated. Refrigerate overnight. Serve cold.

  Hope you have a fantastic Holiday weekend!

~T

P.S.  Thanks for all your sweet comments to Destiny yesterday!  I read them to her and she BEAMED, proudly pushed up her glasses and skipped off to play.  :)

6 thoughts on “Born Again Birthday Parties & Linguini Oh-Yeah

  1. LOVE the idea of incorporating a birthday party into the salvation message! I’ll have to use this in one of my AWANA or VBS lessons in the future.

  2. I just read through many of your old posts. I can’t even explain how your writing touches my heart. You faith in God is beautiful. I am a mother of four sons and have gone through many periods of extreme financial woes. Each time I was ready to just give up the Lord provided. Your writing blessed me and I pray your family is well. I’m so thankful that I stumbled onto your website months ago. May God continue to bless you and to continue using you to bless others with your writing and your personal faith.

  3. Now I know why I let all of my friends have children first: so you can give me really cool ideas like this! I have no idea when my born-again birthday is. I think it was written in the Bible I had as a child but who knows where that is (that’s what happens when you move too many times). I love the idea of talking about it each year! We had a former pastor who would send cards on the anniversary of your baptism, I think that was pretty cool too.

  4. Pingback: A Birthday Bash: 82nd Style. «

  5. Don’t know how I missed this post??? We still celebrate our kids and gr’kids RE-birthdays…in fact, Chloe’s is this week as she asked Jesus into her heart at VBS a few years back. This week is VBS and I’m using the A.B.C. way to teach also. Thanks for sharing – such sweet celebrations for all who are new believers in Christ.

  6. Pingback: Linguini Oh Yeah & Weekend Potluck #26 «

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

