Can’t Leave ‘Em Alone Bars: Pumpkin Edition

010  YAY! I am so happy it’s fall.  We just got the house clean from top to bottom so we could get out all our fall décor. 

  I am loving that evenings are cooler; we added a quilt to our bed, and before I know it, a fire will be crackling in our fireplace.  (Hopefully, it was like 90 today!) Cooler weather and thinking of fall in general, just makes me want to BAKE! And now that all our fresh peaches are gone (or put in the freezer for later this winter- yay!) it’s time to move on to PUMPKIN stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Every year I have a HUGE stack of pumpkin recipes. This year is no exception, except I may not need to try any of them, because I think we already have a clear winner.  

 I give you:

Can’t Leave Them Alone Bars: Pumpkin Edition

Have you tried Can’t Leave ‘Em Alone Bars?  They are stinkin’ amazing. AMAZING. AmAAAAAAAzing.  For real, yo.

  These are too.  Clearly the winner in my pumpkin category, you’ve gotta try them, no matter how ugly my photos turned out!  Seriously AMAZING!  If the recipe seems long or too complicated with its 3 steps, don’t worry, it comes together VERY quickly as each step is simple!

008 (7)005 (9)

Can’t Leave Them Alone Bars: Pumpkin Edition

  002 (5)

CRUST:

1 box yellow cake mix, reserve 1 cup

1/2 cup melted butter

1 egg, beaten

Mix together and press into a 9×13 pan.

MIDDLE:

2 eggs

2/3 cup evaporated milk

1/4 cup white sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

15 oz. can pumpkin

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Mix well and pour over crust.

TOPPING:

1 cup reserved cake mix

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup melted butter

1/2 cup chopped nuts optional

Mix together and spoon over pumpkin filling.

Bake at 350* for 40-50 minutes.  (it will be a bit soft still)

Serve with whipped topping, warm. 

  OR, in my opinion, they are even better the next day, cold!

  But to get the full effect, you should try 1 at every temperature;  hot, room temp and cold so you decide for yourself.  Purely for scientific reasons, of course.

  Happy Baking!
~T

  P.S.  This is post 1 of 2 for today, remember I told you we went to see the new Christian movie that came to theatres over the weekend?  Well, head over to the next post for our take on “Courageous”.

This post shared at:

Lark’s Made It On Monday

Hugs & Cookies

This Chick Cooks

Full Plate Thursday

Everyday Sisters

17 thoughts on “Can’t Leave ‘Em Alone Bars: Pumpkin Edition

  1. I’m licking the screen! Lately it seems my mind has been boggled with pumpkin recipes, and this one will be next on my list to make. MMM! I’ve learned to trust your judgment…when you say it’s fabulous, it really is. ;-} This looks so inviting. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Amazing is right they look mouth watering !
    I love love Fall and pumpkin and everything that goes with it from cooler weather and crisp/crunchy leaves and Ohhhhh the wonderful baking smells..I will be making these very soon :)
    Thanks so much !

  3. I have copyed the recipe and will try soon!! I, too, like pumpkin food in the fall. the Two just simply go together. Ummmmm

  4. So, turns out I had everything to make this. You better believe it is in the oven AS I TYPE THIS. I can almost taste them as they cook… to bad they aren’t as quick as the others….

    I will be patient.

    But it is so hard.

    Mmmmhmmhmmhmm they smell so yummy!

    • YAY! I love it when a plan comes together. So, you’ll try one tonight warm, one tomorrow room temp, stick it in the fridge that night, and by Friday be able to try it cold. I’ll need a full hypothosis of your findings and favorites. LOL :)

  5. I for sure would not be able to leave these alone, they just look so awesome! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  6. I made these this weekend and they were DELISH! 2 days later and they are soggy…should I store them in the refrigerator? Thanks for an awesome fall treat!!!!

  7. Thought I should leave another comment, though belated. I made these bars the same day you shared the recipe and they were OUTTA SIGHT! I had a piece warm (of course) and then later in the day, hubby and I enjoyed a cold piece for dessert. It’s a wonderful dessert. I love pumpkin and this is a ‘keeper’ recipe….we both loved it cold. I took some to our sons home and they loved it too. SO glad you shared. I plan to share this recipe on my blog in Nov. MUAH!

  8. OK – one more comment at this post! =D I’ve got it scheduled to be shared at my blog next week. You’re gonna laugh when you see all I HAD to say about you…let’s plan on your doing a guest post for me in the new year, okey doke? Thanks again – I really do need to make this again soon. XO

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

