“Courageous”: So Where Are You Men of Courage?

   A 3,000 member church, called Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, Georgia, would most likely go unnoticed if not for the idea of reaching people for Christ through movies.  Real movies, like in the theatre.  A church competing for screen time with Hollywood big names?  And they funded these movies themselves, no less! Are they crazy??  Maybe, but people are taking notice after the success their last two pictures provided

unnamed

Facing the Giants (2006) shocked Hollywood observers by making $10 million domestically despite being filmed on a $100,000 budget.

 

!!eBoIhQ!mM~$(KGrHqZ,!i4E0F777CgLBNQzCkNq,Q~~_8

 

 

 

 

 

Fireproof — the top-grossing independent film of 2008 — followed with a $33.5 million gross in spite of a $500,000 budget.

448856Additionally, following Fireproofs, “The Love Dare” book — a marital advice book featured in the movie — rose to No. 1 on The New York Times’ paperback advice bestseller list and has been in the Top 10 for 58 weeks.

Sherwood Baptist Church website states:

We exist to touch the whole world, with the whole Word, motivated by a passion for Christ and compassion for all people.

websitemaskhead01

Members of the 3,000 strong flock provided most of the 1,200 cast and crew, working for nothing on these films. Producers only had to pay professionals for the most technical jobs such as editing.

The church announced it was making a film and asked congregation members who were interested to sign up for a film-making “boot camp”. Some were trained in lighting, sound, camerawork and makeup.

Associate pastors Alex and Stephen Kendrick got Sherwood Baptist into the moviemaking business with the making of “Flywheel,” a film that debuted in local theaters in 2003 and starred Alex Kendrick in the leading role. The Kendrick brothers have written and produced all three films.

“After much prayer, creative brainstorming, more prayer, wise counsel, and still more prayer, Sherwood Pictures is ready to move ahead with their fourth motion picture,” a statement at TheNextSherwoodMovie.com reads. 

 And this weekend, it arrived……

“Courageous”

The must see movie of the year!!!courageous-2011-movie-poster

Cost 2 million to make, funded by the church.

Grossed 8.8 million in first weekend of release. (PTL!)

Number 5 out of the top ten movies for the weekend.

  Dale and I give it 5 tissue boxes.  Or is it 4 thumbs way up? 

Either way, AMAZING film.  I have never been in a theatre with not one seat empty…it was a packed house!!!  I have never heard such bust-out loud laughter one minute, followed by sounds of sniffles and sobs the next.  This film is high action, highly funny and catches you in your heart.  You will never view your job as parents the same, I can tell you that. EVERYONE needs to see this film!

Courageous_Movie_Slide

Story: Four men, one calling: To serve and protect. As law enforcement officers, Adam Mitchell, Nathan Hayes, David Thomson, and Shane Fuller are confident and focused. Yet at the end of the day, they face a challenge that none of them are truly prepared to tackle: fatherhood. When tragedy hits home, these men are left wrestling with their hopes, their fears, their faith, and their fathering. Can a newfound urgency help these dads draw closer to God … and to their children? Protecting the streets is second nature to these men. Raising their children in a God-honoring way? That’s courageous.

Quotes from the movie:

 “ I don’t feel like I started well. I want to finish well.”

“So where are you, men of courage? I believe every father should step up and answer the call and say “I WILL!”

“When you get married, have some kids. Your gonna figure out real quick how much you don’t know.”

courageous-movie-nathan-steps-in-3Courageous(web)online-255x234courageous-movie-javy-richman-1Alex Kendrick as Adam Mitchell in ``Courageous.''9UEY_092711_Courageous1

Take your hubby and go see this……you won’t be sorry!  The Lord is using this movie in powerful ways to make huge changes in people’s homes.  Simply amazing.

  TheResoultionForWomen_CVR-323x500There are several follow up books, including The Resolution for Men and The Resolution for Women.  There is also Resolution prints you can sign, and hang in your home. 

  Our Sunday school class, who has been together for 8 years now, is doing one of the Resolution studies, I think there is one for couples. It’s my understanding, that we’ll be having a Resolution ceremony at its conclusion. I am sooo excited! 

~T

 

 

THE RESOLUTION

courageous-scene-men-praying

I do solemnly resolve before God to take full responsibility for myself, my wife, and my children. I WILL love them, protect them, serve them, and teach them the Word of God as the spiritual leader of my home. I WILL be faithful to my wife, to love and honor her, and be willing to lay down my life for her as Jesus Christ did for me. I WILL bless my children and teach them to love God with all of their hearts, all of their minds, and all of their strength. I WILL train them to honor authority and live responsibly. I WILL confront evil, pursue justice, and love mercy. I WILL pray for others and treat them with kindness, respect, and compassion. I WILL work diligently to provide for the needs of my family. I WILL forgive those who have wronged me and reconcile with those I have wronged. I WILL learn from my mistakes, repent of my sins, and walk with integrity as a man answerable to God. I WILL seek to honor God, be faithful to His church, obey His Word, and do His will. I WILL courageously work with the strength God provides to fulfill this resolution for the rest of my life and for His glory.

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. —Joshua 24:15

yhst-93128105900816_2162_142581302

Available for purchase here:

http://www.dayspring.com/courageous_the_resolution_8_x_10_frame_ready_print/

 

 

 

 

37 thoughts on ““Courageous”: So Where Are You Men of Courage?

  1. Oh Sweetie – that could not have been a bit nicer presentation & review! I’ve seen the other two movies that Sherwood Baptist produced – just awesome and so professional. I can’t wait to see this one…I will share your post with a few who could use some encouragement in their lives. Thanks so much!

  2. That’s so cool! Of the movies they’ve made, I’ve seen Fireproof, and I loved the message. My parents recommended it to me, and it helped them in their marriage. =) Yay for a church stepping outside the boundaries of ‘normal’ missions and taking on these great projects!

  3. I have been looking for a quote I noticed while watching the movie and now I can’t find it. Could someone help me? It’s along the lines of I want my husband to love God more then myself, or something like that.

  4. I have been looking for a quote I noticed while watching the movie and now I can’t find it. Could someone help me? It’s along the lines of I want my husband to love God more then myself, or something like that.

    • I’m not sure of the quote exactly, but it is for sure along the lines of “I want a husband who loves God more than he loves himself”? Maybe? Hope that helps. Have you watched Fireproof? It’s another GREAT one!

  5. Great post! I was looking online for quotes about courage and did just watch the movie Courageous. Had no idea these last few movies were sponsored by a church. How awesome is that! Thanks for sharing.

  6. I hope that this will not be taken wrong, but fear it may. It is something I have often wondered about…

    Regarding the resolution for women:

    I saw the movie and loved it. I did NOT see the movie as a message for WOMEN. Did you notice any woman ‘leading’ her husband to take this resolution, other then the suggestion that it be done formally? I didn’t.

    Why do we women feel the need to take/to copy — and then to take over what God has designed for HIS MEN? Why are we so envious/jealous of His move among men that we MUST also have ‘one of our own’, the same thing He is doing for His men… Why can we NOT LET GOD DEAL WITH MEN, and just pray, and watch what He does when He leads them? Why can’t we keep our hands off, and just let Him work?

    We women have had so many many many Bible studies over the years. What we need to learn is how to let God lead us through His design, with our husbands, not lead our husbands the way we’d like God to do. When women step in in anyway, men step out and say ‘go for it’… when will we ever learn?

    • I think you make very valid points here and I agree with many of them! We ARE to be the help meet to our husbands, to honor their roll as the head of our homes. We answer to them, they answer to Christ. When the correct order is established peace and joy reign!
      I am taking part in a women’s Bible study right now, which I LOVE, doing the book “Created To Be His Help Meet”. It has some hard, fast truths about today’s society and the role women take in the home. A role that should be left to our men.
      The Resolution for Women is not designed to take away what our men are called to do, instead it is an encouragement for us wives to step back, and let God have our husbands. To destroy roots of bitterness before they destroy us. A resolution to make our homes the kind of place our husbands want to come home to. A resolution to care for our guys, our main job being, to support them in prayer as God makes them the men He has called them to be all along! I don’t know about you, but I love to read and learn, desiring to do better and be better in my life. I am thankful there are books and Bible Studies so I can learn from women older than me as the Bible commands.
      Titus 2:1-5 ““But as for you, speak the things which are proper for sound doctrine: that the older men be sober, reverent, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience; the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things–that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.”

      I hope this all makes sense and comes across the way I am trying to come across. I am glad you wrote, and I hope you will come back again soon and feel comfortable to leave your name with your comment. :) Hugs, T

    • I want to know how to purchase the ‘Couragous’ movies series and if there are books of the movies, those too. I really need all the backup I can get. Do you have anything else to help reinforce families? The movie just reminded me to search the scriptures. Good reminders go along way.

  7. im a 28 year old father of 3 i strive to see my children when ever possible but my heart was never there i always felt as if seeing my exs happy would hurt me too bad and here recently my girlfriend left and took my daughter because i was not the man i should have been i was lazy angry never spent alot of time with my other 2 children and i became so useless in life i never had a father and i had turned my back on god then one day i begged for people to pray for me so that i could live a better life and become the better man i needed to be 2 weeks after my break up i watched this movie and it touched my heart on more then one level i saw the man that i was and the man that i want to be thank you so much for this wake up call i will be doing my best to follow this story and put my life in the lords hands no matter how alone i am i will not falter i WILL become the man that my children god and myself need to be thank you so much for this movie i never thought that i could find hope i always felt so alone in the world and now i see why if there are any other fathers out there that feel as i do you can add me to facebook my names tyler johnson i live in west virginia and if your ever feeling like you need to talk to someone who understands i will listen i cant help that is between you and god but I WILL listen and pray for you as i would hope that anyone reading this will do for me.

    • Tyler, Knowing you need to make a change is a great first step! Good for you! I would recommend you get the book, The Resolution for Men. It is a great resource for the steps to becoming a man of honor. Also, it’d be so beneficial to find a good church family to support you, and lift you up as you learn to be the Man and Father you have been called to be. I am so proud of you, your children are beautiful and they will be thrilled to have their “new and improved” daddy around! :)
      You are never alone, Hebrews 13:5 says “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” We can always stand firm on God’s promises from the Bible!
      God bless, T

      • Have seen most of these movies, and loved them. Courageous was an inspiration to me as well. I have had a rough beginning with my marriage and stepchildren as well. The movie really woke me up, I did not know until today that it was all from a church in Georgia, WOW. I have read through several of these posts/comments. They are inspirational as well. My wife was talking about divorce a lot. I have been staying in the word, try to read a chapter everyday now. I am the first to admit, marriage and being a parent is difficult, let alone to step children that do not care for you at all. My wife has seen a huge turn around in me. I hope to live the words… for me and my family, we will serve the Lord, I personally bought and signed the resolution for my family…hope they see me as the man that I was created to be now. I know without God, we will fall short every time. I am a father to two boys and three stepchildren and I am only 34 years old, it has been very difficult, on top of going back to school and working full time for five years now. Praise the Lord, I get to graduate with honors May 11th. It is not easy to be a Christian, especially in this world today. I hope that I can be the father and husband that HE intended for me to be. Thank you all for all of your hard work, it meant a lot to me. Pray that that you can continue doing His work. I pray that HE gives me a calling for His work….so I can Live it as well. AMEN Steven Franklin, Crawfordville, Indiana

  8. I’ve watched Courageous several times with my Dad, then my sister, then with my friends. Courageous is definitely for all kinds of people. It’s amazing they have it in different languages. I’m Filipino and it’s good to see christian movies nicely translated in Tagalog. I have spoken to our Pastor; we should have this viewed by the policemen he’s currently having bible study with. I’m looking forward to another movie from Sherwood. Continue to be a blessing to all family in all nations. Shalom!

  9. Am about to begin this study and watch the movie. I so love your way to bring forth the background information, so that people like me will know the background and be of courage to stand up for our faith. Thank you. All glory to our heavenly Father…..

  10. But what do I do as a wife of a husband who saw the movie and started reading the book, but decided not to participate in the Resolution signing at church this Father’s Day weekend? Disappointed and feeling sad for my three kids once again….and wondering if I’m the only one going through this.

    • PRAY PRAY and then PRAY some more. Aren’t you glad he didn’t sign if he wasn’t ready, rather than signing and not meaning it? You keep praying for him to become the man God has called Him to be. Love him, lift him up, encourage him and never stop praying for your man! Don’t be discouraged, GOD IS BIGGER! Hugs, T

      • Thanks for the response. I saw the other comment first and was discouraged by the tone. I will just keep keeping on. I hope my kids can do the same. It breaks my heart when they come to me with their disappointment in this area too.
        :(

      • Do you enjoy reading? I’d encourage you to check out Debbie Pearl’s Created To Be His Help Meet book! It has some tough truths about loving our husbands no matter what. She steps on some toes, but wow, I tell ya, it was a life changing book for our women’s Bible Study! Please check it out.

      • (not sure if this is going to go in the right place) Yes, I have that book and have read it….guess I need to get it out and read it again. I do okay in our marriage for a good long while, but then I seem to reach these plateaus where I’m just weary of doing my part and wanting to see him step up to the plate and be the spiritual leader we all need. And to clarify, he is already a believer. This movie, book and signing is just tearing at a wound that I try to ignore most days. I don’t know how I’m gonna get through church this weekend. They will be doing 3 signings at all 3 services. I’m sure some of our kids’ friends’ dads will be doing it, and so our kids will wonder why theirs isn’t. What am I suppose to say if they ask me why?

    • Lisa,
      You LOVE your husband, and you let him in God’s hands. You love him just as he is, just as God does. What happens if he NEVER chooses to do this? Will you love and respect him less? For you, as his wife, have chosen to take vows in front of God and family/friends. Part of that is to be the best wife you can be, and to do what the Lord tells us, as wives, to do. Your job is to respect your husband. His is to love you (however, this does not mean that the opposite isn’t also part of marriage). That’s in Ephesians, in the section that we wives squirm when it is quoted, because none of us really READ it. We only hear the word submissive and chafe….

      You also PRAY, for you cannot convert your husband no matter how much you may want to. That is the work of the Holy Spirit. WE are called to live in such a way that he can see Christ in us.

      I do not remember the book that taught me this long ago, by a Christian woman. She asked right out what I would do if he NEVER accepted Christ. Would I spend my entire life with him living in regret and dispair, or would I LOVE HIM regardless, and treat him respectfully the way that the Lord would have me do? Would I keep looking to others for the perfect man, setting myself up for ‘falling in love with someone else’, or HONOR my husband and my vows til death parted us? Would I follow his lead in all but denying the Lord? Or beat him over the head with his failure to be the man I now wanted… by word, deed, or even just constant attitude that runs deeply through everything on a daily basis?

      So, you love him, and you pray for him. And you let the Holy Spirit work in His life, while He also makes YOU the wife that you are supposed to be for your husband.

      • And that is what I’ve been doing for 23 years….I’m just weary is all. It is hard to see so many families having a positive experience with this movie and movement, when we’re not. I guess I just wondered if there are women out there in a similar situation as myself. It gets lonely. I pray for my husband, but is anyone praying for me? I need someone to help hold my arms up, like Moses had…and not assume I’m doing something wrong.

      • Lisa, I am sorry about the tone. It was not intended to sound any way but helpful and encouraging.

        I will now share something with you that may help you to know that you are NOT alone, for many of us are standing firmly (as someone up above mentioned — there are THREE in every marriage covenant, and as long as there are TWO, as in God and myself, that Covenant exists. Marriage is until death parts us, not until mankind forces a civil divorce on us). So with that, I want you to know that I have been standing “alone” for nearly 30 yrs, in spite of all that people have said to me over the years. I have been told I am unforgiving, rigid, spiteful, stupid, legalistic… because I take God at His Word in Malachi, and Jesus’ Words in Matt, Mark and Luke seriously, as well as 1Cor 7:10-11. I pray all the time for my spouse, and for the children, now grandchildren that were hurt by his choices (and mine) years ago. I see them now not practicing any religion, because “God did not answer any of our prayers”.

        So, with that as a background, I’ll ask you to keep us in prayer, as HE is now going through what he put US through way back then… except that there truly is another person in the picture and there is no hope of reconciliation in his present situation. And this is our story:

        http://wicatholicmusings.blogspot.com/2005/06/story-of-theresa-and-joseph.html

        To any who may go to read our story….. you are welcome.
        Please know ahead of time that OUR ‘other’ was alcohol, but my reaction was so very close to what T has described here, because it is almost universal as we ARE ONE, and being ripped apart viciously without anesthesia.

        Please also know that I am not open to comments that are about my Faith, as that was settled years ago. = )

      • Thanks for the apology, even though I may have misunderstood the tone. I’m sorry to read that you know very well marital loneliness and pain, but I admire your conviction to stay true to your vows and your faith through it all. Your story helps put my own story in perspective, making me realize (once again) how much I can be thankful for, instead of having a pity party. Today, on Father’s Day, I am determined to celebrate what I have and not be envious of those who *seem* to have stronger marriages, including those whose husbands signed the Resolution at our church. Yes, let’s pray for one another…I already sense some prayer support from somewhere and am very grateful.

      • Will pray, Lisa, and I can understand completely where you are at. But you do care about him, and if the kids ask… let Dad answer. It is his decision, and his answer will also make him think about it again. We don’t need to ‘explain’ for them.

        In our situation, we respected the OFFICE of Father, not everything he chose to do. I still had the kids ask his permission for things that should take two parents to decide, etc.

        God bless, Lisa. God is good, and He is faithful. He knows your heart, and your husband’s.

  11. Courageous is probably the best movie I’ve ever seen. It’s a good clean Christian movie with a lot of clean humor! I love this.

  12. Pingback: 2012 in review |

  13. Lisa, I would like to hear from you and how things have turned-out for you, your husband, and family. I sound like your husband in your description and you sound like my wife. In our relationship, she tired of it so much that she turned from Christ and sought her own fun and fulfillment. We are trying to work through our issues and it has been such a wake call for me…I have turned to take the role God had always intended for me to do. We are now approaching our 27th anniversary. I want to also encourage you to remain faithful to the cause…there is sin that is unspeakable and for the short term enjoyment of it, it is not worth the pain, suffering and consequences that follow.

    • Rick, thanks for asking about my family. We are hanging in there by God’s grace! :) It’s very interesting (and sad) to hear about your wife, because I’ve been going through a very dry spiritual time and have been tempted to turn from God and His Word also. Thankfully that hasn’t happened, but I’m just being honest that I’ve had many doubts, feeling like I’m in a spiritual battle for my soul…..all while things are about the same with my husband’s spiritual leadership in our home. I would appreciate any prayer support for my family! On a positive note ~ my husband and I are planning a much needed 25th anniversary trip later this summer. :)

    • WI Catholic – Thanks, so much for the prayers and for letting me know. Things are pretty much the same in the spiritual aspect of our lives. We did have fun getting alone for our 25th wedding anniversary…went to the Upper Pennisula of Michigan back in August. So beautiful! It felt like a second honeymoon, but I still feel very lonely and scared for our children spiritually. Our oldest son is now dating a non-believer (I think) and seems to be drifting from his Christian roots. :( I will go read those Scriptures now. Thanks for the support. (By the way, I’m in WI too!)

      • Wisconsin is the best! I am also praying my own three adult children and their spouses back.. I can relate. I am near Green Bay area. Love ‘meeting’ another from our great State. God bless! Glad that you enjoyed your time together this summer, too!

      • I’ve been to Green Bay for a Packer’s game (sad they lost to the Bears last night) and up that way to Door County….so beautiful! We live down in SE WI, near Lake Geneva. God bless you too. May God move mightily in our children’s hearts for His glory!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

