Being Thankful In the Midst of Difficulty

  2011 will no doubt go down as the toughest in the history of our lives as a married couple.  Never have we been stretched so much, never have we spent more time in the refiners fire being molded, chiseled and changed. 

 I am reminded of the letter shared with me by my mentor in a particularly difficult moment, to be read as if written by my Heavenly Father to me:

My dear one, my refining fire was never intended to hurt you, only to help you. Refiners%20Fire

When the firing is complete I won’t leave you in the heat one second more than is necessary, but will RUN to you and deliver you into my loving arms. Watch what I did with the heat of the days past, compared to today’s cool weather. I’m showing you something.

Can I not remove you from the heat of the fire in a split instant… into the Oasis of my love?

oasis

I am pleased pleased pleased with you, my child. Don’t doubt for a minute my immense love for you. I’m covering and caring for your children on earth with the same love that I’m caring for your children here. You will never on this earth know what measures of my love I am bestowing on you and your family in these days. I’m only giving you a glimpse here and there. Don’t fear in these days, my dear one. You’re not passing through the fire alone. You may not feel my hand or see my loving face, but I’m here… right beside you… silently, quietly, patiently, holding your hand.

holding_hands_10806_thumb1 

I love you,

Daddy

The rest of the post found Here.

Surviving a year as we have, has refocused our eyes back to Christ, not the American Dream.  The way we see things, the way we experience things, the way we set our goals for our families future…….

All different now.

Good.

For that I am truly thankful.

our house

I am thankful that we have been able to make our house payment each and every month, for an entire year of irregular pay, only by the grace of God. 

036

I am thankful that every time I have written checks far larger than the amount in my account to pay the bills, the Lord has provided the funds just in time, promising to provide Manna for today. I am not to gather extra, just trust that it will come again tomorrow, just in time. (Exodus 16)

  039

I am thankful for my mailbox angels who have left amazing blessings in all forms, and the way the Lord used them and their timing to show us HIS faithfulness to meet all our needs.

033

I am thankful for this year of famine, our “reset button”, even though it has been hard, because I am different inside, I can feel it.  Never has the Lord been more real to me.

Jeremiah 17:8 “He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

045

I am thankful for these precious little lives!  There is not a day that goes by that I don’t thank God for allowing me the job of raising these children, and allowing them here on Earth with me.

319

I am thankful for my husband and the tenderness he shows me daily, as the Lord uses this difficult year to soften him, and make him the man He has called him to be.

037

I am thankful for our home, the fire that warms it, the laughter, tears and squeals of joy that bounce across our walls.

091

I am thankful for family supper around the dinner table, and the comfort it brings me to sit as a family and discuss the day together. 

040

I am thankful that my Abba Father loves me and calls me by name. (Isaiah 43:1-2)

042

That He loves me too much to keep me the way I am. 

b favs

That He tenderly wipes my tears and draws me into His lap when I am too weary to stand.

018

I am thankful that trials by fire bring beauty from ashes…… (Isaiah 61:1-3)

I am thankful for this blog and the creative outlet it is for me.

I am thankful for you, my friends.

Enjoy tomorrow with your families, and be thankful!

Hugs, T

043

Colossians 4:2 “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”

 

6 thoughts on “Being Thankful In the Midst of Difficulty

  1. Oh what a heartfelt post! I smiled through my tears as I read your thoughts…relating soooo much to them. God doesn’t waste anything, that’s for sure. And I am who I am today because of the ‘fires’ He’s taken me through. I’m a quote person, and one that I quote often is…THINGS GROW BETTER WHERE THE MANURE IS! UGH! BUT WHO WANTS TO BE ‘UNDER THERE’ RIGHT? : / God knows what He’s doing for sure. My life’s verse is Romans 8:18 – I know you believe it and live it too. I’m surely thankful for YOU dear Tonya – and for all the ways you allow God to love me through you. Enjoy a blessed and awesome THANKS-LIVING!! LUV U GIRL! XO

  2. This was so very nice to read T. May your family have a blessed Thanksgiving celebration.
    (you used the photo I love in this post, the one that spells LOVE on the chairs)

  3. I love your tender heart, Tonya! I hope you guys have a blessed, blessed Thanksgiving. I know that your kids are bound to learn thankfulness well, because they’ll see it in YOU!

  4. This is a beautiful post, Tonya. Your confidence in God’s love, in the midst of all the storms you’ve gone through, is such an encouragement. Your heart is beautiful….and the photos in this post are stunning!!

  5. This is beautiful and honest. I pray you know that you’re not in the Refiner’s fire alone and that you know grace and mercy like never before.
    Your blog is a source of inspiration, encouragement and reality. I have 3 boys under 4 and it’s fun but hard, hard work. I send you big love from Scotland xxxx

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

