Flashback Friday & Foodie Friday: A 2 for 1 special :)

Welcome to Foodie Friday!  I had the first part of this post planned before I knew that I would be joining my friends in co-hosting this great weekly party, where YOU get to share your favorite recipes on FOUR different blogs. 

  Sooo, last time I made the Creamy Enchilada Casserole recipe I am sharing today, Paxton had just learned to crawl. What can I say? I don’t repeat recipes very often! There are too many AMAZING ones I am dying to try!  You can check out my crawler here:

http://4littlefergusons.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/creamy-chicken-enchilada-casserole-2/

Pax crawling

Look at my baby!  How time flies!!!!!!!!!!! 

Every once in a while, on a Friday, I will feature a recipe we LOVED that made “The Rotation”: a select view recipes that EVER get repeated at our house!

I will call these “Flashback Friday” with the below photo so you’ll know when it’s a repeat and I’m not trying to pull a fast one on ya! :)

  ‘Cause some things are just worth repeating!

This casserole was one of my FAVORITE suppers when I was a kid.  When I taste it, instantly I am back in my teeny little home town, out in the neighborhood riding bikes with the neighbor kids, waiting for our moms to come out on the front porch and holler:

“Come for DIIIIIN-NER!”

I hope your family loves this as much as my family does!

Creamy Chicken Enchilada Casserole

006

Ingredients

  • ½ cups Onion, Chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 cans (10 3/4 Oz. Can) Cream Of Chicken Soup
  • 16 ounces, weight Sour Cream
  • 1 can (4 Oz. Can) Green Chilies
  • 2 cans (6.5 Oz. Can) Mushrooms, 1 Drained
  • 3 cups Cooked, Diced Chicken
  • 3 cups Mexican Blend Shredded Cheese, Divided
  • 10 whole Tortillas, wheat or white, cut into Quarters

In a large family-sized skillet, sauté onion in butter until tender. Add all ingredients except tortillas, reserving 1 cup of the cheese for topping.

Heat on medium low until cheese is melted. Cut each tortilla in 4 pieces.

Spread a small layer of chicken cream mixture in the bottom of your 9×13 baking dish, followed by a layer of slightly overlapping tortilla triangles. Repeat layers, ending with the chicken cream mixture.

Add the reserved 1 cup of cheese to the top and bake at 350F for 15–20 minutes. Serve with chips and fresh salsa. Yum!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

  Now, on we go to the MAIN FRIDAY FEATURE:

  I am so blessed to be a part of such an amazing group of Foodie Bloggers, bringing you the opportunity to share your favorites on all 4 of our blogs, each and every week!  Please keep Tabitha’s family in your prayers today as they said goodbye to Grandma last night. Pray that today can be a celebration of a life well lived, even through tears. No more sorrow, no more pain….

  Over 60 A-mazing recipes were shared last week, thank you!  Among the sweetest of the sweet were three items that will take your holiday a little “south of the border.” If you need to spice up your winter night, please check out our featured bloggers and their recipes:


Butternut Squash Chipotle Dip by Life Currents

Black Bean and Chorizo Soup from Lisa’s Dinnertime Dish

BBQ Chicken and Pineapple Quesadilla by Siggy Spice

If you were featured today, please feel free to grab a button.

Your hosts ~

Remember that when you link up, it shows on all FOUR blogs. Isn’t that awesome?!?

Linky Guidelines: Please link up to your exact post and not the main page to your blog. Also, LINK BACK HERE from your post so that others can find the fun. You can use the button or a direct link within your post. If you have a recipe to share, please be sure that you are following ALL co-hosts (The Country Cook, Baking Bad, 4 Little Fergusons, AND A Penny Saved is a Penny Earned) by either RSS feed, Daily Email Digest, Facebook or Twitter. Thanks so much for participating!

Click the Link Button Below to be taken to this weeks recipes:


9 thoughts on “Flashback Friday & Foodie Friday: A 2 for 1 special :)

  1. AWWW – how quickly those babies grow! Sweet pix of Pax. =) I linked up my hot cinnamon milk mix and choc covered caramels for Foodie Friday. Thanks for being such a great hostess…and all those other things you are. =) Thinking of you…XO

  2. What a great idea! Thank you for your sweet comments on my blog & I will link up next week. I’m so excited! Thank you. I pinned the enchilada casserole too. Y. UM! :)

  3. That picture of Paxton is soooooo adorable!!! Just makes me want to pick him up and hug him and kiss him!! Enjoy those kids, they are going to grow up way to fast!!!

  4. Pingback: Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

  5. Pingback: Pasta with Vodka Cream Sauce

  6. Pingback: Homemade Puff Pastry

  7. Pingback: Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

