Ribbon Flip Flops

I mentioned last week, that for Women’s Encounter, I made Kasey and I matching flip-flops.  She and I were servers together in a room full of wonderful, awesome women of God. It was AMAAAAZING!

On to less Spiritual things, but we wanted our shoes to match the Encounter colors.

Well, we DID! God loves us and our fashion forwardness, right?! :)

IMG_3277

  Here is how I made our flip-flops:

  Select a variety of ribbon.  Anywhere from 4-6  patterns and textures.  Make sure you grab at least one unique ribbon with strings, or tassels, it makes it super cute!

  You will not want wider than 7/8 inch.  See that pink and white stripe ribbon? Smack in the middle?  IMG_3269

I cut it down the middle as it was too large to tie nicely.

Using a scissors and a ruler, cut each ribbon into 6 inch pieces.

IMG_3283IMG_3281

  With my variety of ribbon sizes, I did between 35-40 for EACH shoe, meaning 70-80 total strips. 

I bought 11 rolls of ribbon between our two sets of flip flops, but that will vary for you since some rolls have 9 yards of ribbon, others more.

IMG_3285

  I started tying from left to right up one side and down the other.  I did not have enough ribbon to tie an actual knot, which I was bummed about, but just the first part of a knot. {Like doing only the first step in tying your shoes.}

  Tug VERY VERY hard, to ensure they will not come untied. 

Or maybe cut your ribbon to 7 or 8 inches so you can knot it?!  I am going to try that next time.

 IMG_3298

Be sure to keep the ribbons very very close to each other, sliding close to the other ribbons after you tie, to ensure you are not leaving any gaps.

  Here are Kasey’s flip flops:

 Her shirt has hot pink, so we did different ribbons.

IMG_3500

  Here is the end result.

IMG_3490

Fun, right?

~T

P.S.  I bought back Kasey’s extra ribbon and made my girls some, too.

And one more pair each,  just because it was fun! :) 

5 thoughts on “Ribbon Flip Flops

  1. Those are so cute! You must have been the talk of the conf. with them on! hehe!!:)
    I am sure that your girls love wearing them too. I know that my girly would think they were GREAT! Hope you are having a nice day!:)

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this with us, those are really cool flip flops! My wife is always looking to do stuff like this, she’s very creative so I know she’s going to love this. I’m definitely bookmarking this and sharing it with her and my sister, thank you again for sharing!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

