Creamy Hamburger Casserole

  This is post 2 for today, go back a post to meet a cute lil’ man named Jameson!

  Are you figuring out by now that I am in LOVE with anything that involves Cream Cheese or Sour Cream? 

  This is another favorite from waaay back in the day when I was a child. We called it “Regena Casserole” after my Aunt Regena gave the recipe to my mom to try.  My kids have dubbed it “Gena Casserole”, since they call her Aunt Gena, but you can just call it Creamy Hamburger Casserole

Or if you are Avery you can call it:

“My FAVOWITE PINK CASSEWOLE!”

  The tomato sauce does turn pink, thanks to all the creamy stuff you add! :)

Creamy Hamburger Casserole

(click title for easy printable)

Ingredients

  • 1 pound Hamburger, Or Ground Turkey, Seasoned To Taste
  • ½ cups Chopped Onion
  • 15 ounces Tomato Sauce
  • 10 ounces Tomato Soup
  • 2 cups Colby Jack Or Casserole Cheese, Divided Use
  • 1 cup Sour Cream
  • 4 ounces, weight Cream Cheese
  • ½ teaspoons Garlic Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Pepper
  • 16 ounces, weight Egg Noodles (I Do Half White, Half Wheat)

  In a large skillet, cook hamburger with chopped onions, drain.
In a separate pot, cook noodles, drain and rinse.
Combine all remaining ingredients (except 1 cup cheese) in meat skillet, stirring on low heat, until cream cheese is dissolved. Add noodles, mix well.
Put in 9 x 13 casserole dish. Add remaining 1 cup cheese to the top and bake at
350* for 25-30 minutes.

Enjoy your creamy, “pink” Casserole!

~T

Share with:

Hammock Tracks

14 thoughts on “Creamy Hamburger Casserole

  1. MMMM! I can testify to how tasty this yummy dish is..one of my sweet memories of time with you and yours. Looks so good – so fun that Avery wuvs it cuz it’s pink. *I*

  2. Pingback: Weekend Potluck: October 5th ~ 7th

  3. Pingback: Weekend Potluck #38 «

  4. This recipe is very similar to my mom’s Hamburger Noodle Bake recipe (no tomato soup in hers and a couple slight variations on amounts). I loved when my mom made this. I was hoping for the same with my kids but, unfortunately neither one likes it. Seeing your post has me craving it now. I guess I will have to make myself some this week and the kids can fend for themselves when I do.

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

