School’s out! Plus, Grilled Steak Salad with Homemade Dressing

  Today is Destiny’s last day of 2nd grade!!!  It’s been a great year and we adore her teacher but I have to say, I am super excited to have my big girl back home with me for the whole summer!

059

  The kiddos are so happy too.  They have big plans to continue their new favorite activity, playing “Orphans” who needed food and shelter.006  See that poor little Orphan baby in the wagon?  Poor thing!  I welcomed them in to my home (after they washed their feet and hands, of course) and we shared a lovely meal.  🙂 

008

  Later, I found them reading in bed all snuggled up together.  Moments like this make my heart swell!!!!

019

  We had our first “From the garden” salad recently!  A delicious and flavorful Steak salad with homemade dressing.  Whenever we grill Steaks, I specifically marinate an extra one knowing this salad is in our future! YUMMY!

048

Grilled Steak Salad with Homemade Dressing

  • FOR THE SALAD:
  • 1 pound Leftover Grilled Sirloin Steak, Thinly Sliced
  • 16 ounces, weight Bag Baby Spinach Leaves
  • 1 head Romaine Lettuce, Washed, Dried And Torn
  • 1 whole Tomato, Chopped
  • 1 cup Green Onions Tops And Bottoms, Sliced
  • 2 cups Cheese Shreds
  • _____
  • FOR THE DRESSING:
  • ½ cups Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons Vinegar
  • 1/2 cups Honey BBQ Sauce (or more to taste)
  • 6 Tablespoons A1 Steak Sauce
  • Salt And Pepper

To prepare dressing, simply whisk all dressing ingredients together until well-combined. Set aside until serving time.

Sear a previously grilled steak a bit, to bring to room temperature. (I thaw and marinade an extra steak, with this salad in mind, the nights we grill out.)

Chop veggies and toss salad ingredients together, add cheese and dressing on each individual serving.

AMAZING and simple, a great summer meal!

Have a great weekend!  YAY!  School’s out, it’s SUMMERTIME baby!

~T

This recipe linked to Made It Monday.