Not Your Ordinary Taco Night

  Too bad I am not clever enough to have made Nacho’s with supper, then this could be called: 

Nacho Ordinary Taco Night” 

I know, I know, it’s so been done. 

I still think it would’ve been cool.

  Before I share a recipe with you, I want to tell you about my lil’ Pax who turned 9 months old a couple weeks ago. 

What?!  How is that possible?

  Oh, and you know that LIE they tell you about 9 months to put on the weight and 9 months to get it off…..baloney, I say!  My baby weight doesn’t leave until a week or two after I stop nursing, then BAM, 10 pounds gone.  (Pleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleeeeease, let it happen that way again!)  Until then, I keep eating yummy food.  Oh,who am I kidding, I eat yummy food after that too!  I’m a foodie, what can I say? I love to eat!

  Right now, Paxton is totally obsessed with two things:

{No, they are not his food source, although it’s fair to say he IS obsessed with “those” as well.}

It’s…..

  • The Train Table
  • The Drum Set

He is so proud to be playing with “big kid” stuff!  Sniff-sniff, my baby is growing up!  😦  He walks the perimeter of the train table destroying track as he goes. 

006008

He gets SO excited when the whistle goes off! Sweet boy.

010

“Look Momma, I got one!”

013012

Next he heads over to the drums Tylan got from his Grandma.  This kid can JAM! He gets those drums a goin’ and beep bops his little head to the beat, I love it!  Of course, he has yet to do it for the video camera, that little stinker quits as soon as I get it out! I was lucky to get these few shots before he came over to see what I was doing!

015018

“It’s nice that they provide this teether stick for me while I play the drums, mom.”

020

“Ooooh, I am supposed to hold it like this? Gotcha!”

023

Sweet, big boy!

  He recently added high 5’s, waving Bye bye, and signing “All Done” to his repertoire of tricks.  He is also walking all over the place! Grabbing whatever is nearby to get the job done……

 

On to the recipe part of this blog, Gorditas!!!! These little corn cups are a great way to rev up Taco night.  I found them over on Mama J’s “A Little Bit Crunchy, A Little Bit Rock & Roll” website, she has some really great and oh-so healthy recipes over there!

GORDITA’S

  • 1 can creamed corn
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup water (I had to use a bit more to get the corn meal to blend)
  • 1 2/3 cup corn meal
  • 2 T. butter
  • 1 cup shredded Mexican cheese
  • Toppings: anything you’d put in a taco. We did taco meat, black beans, cheese, cilantro, tomatoes and sour cream.

Preheat oven to 400*.  In a medium-sized sauce pan, add creamed corn, water and salt.  Heat, stir and add corn meal.  Cook until thick.  Stir in butter and cheese.

  Drop by tablespoons into  well-greased muffin tins.  Press with tart shaper and fingers up the sides.  Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes before filling with your toppings of choice.005

  Easy and pretty too!  Try them soon!

~T

 

This recipe linked to:

Savannah’s Savory Bites

 

5 thoughts on “Not Your Ordinary Taco Night

  1. Looks great! We just had them last week and I was finally able to “redo” my original not-so-hot Gordita photos. I love the natural light of summer-time! 🙂

    • Thanks for a great recipe, Mama J! Amen to summer time lighting, I already dread the day I battle my yellow kitchen lights again. My winter time recipe photos just may always be ugly! LOL 🙂

  2. I am always amazed at how much all of your kids look so much like you..lol. Pax is just a dollbaby! Your photos look so good – see? You are rockin the food photos. And this sounds good too!!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

