A Birthday Bash: 82nd Style.

Happy Labor Day! I forgot we all had the day off and went ahead and planned a post for you.

  My Grandpa turned 82 last week, so we decided that was a great reason to get together and celebrate over the long weekend! 

“Did you say 82!?!?!?! When did THAT happen?”

023

  We enjoyed BBQ ribs, pulled pork, Linguini Oh-Yeah, chips & dips, followed by Grandma’s FAMOUS  chocolate chip cookies and Nana’s nearly as famous, Homemade Peach ice cream made with Colorado Peaches, of course. YUMMO! 

005

004007

009010

021031033039

129

During dessert, Paxton decided to take matters into his own hands and use an Everyone-is-Distracted Moment to help himself to some homemade ice cream…

012013015

  Well goodness sakes, how can I be upset looking at a SWEET face like this?

017

Yes, I let him have some, we all did. Little beggar got his fill, no worries!

After supper the kids BEGGED to play The Game With No Name.  Ok, maybe it has a name, but at the moment I cannot recall it.  I’ll explain it to you instead:

All the grown ups and kids stand in a circle.

042

  Whoever is “it” takes the ball round and round the circle, sneakily dropping it behind an unsuspecting grown up or kid, then runs….

043

If you get the ball dropped behind you, you grab it and RUN in the opposite direction of the “it” person, trying to beat them back to their spot.

Hey!!!! It’s kind like Duck Duck Goose expect with a ball and no talking! (Did you see that light bulb moment happen?!  What can I say, I loose brain cells with every pregnancy!)

045044048060

069

To say my kids enjoyed The Game With No Name That Is Kinda Like Duck Duck Goose with No Ducking or Goosing, would be a bit of an understatement.  In fact, I am surprised Destiny has a voice left at all as much cheering and screaming she did!

057062071

Great Grandpa and Grandma had just run a 5k that day, and their legs hurt, so they decided to sit out. 

072075085

Ok, not really, but either way, they had fun watching!

084

  Time for a few gifts!

126128115117

  We gave him a Daily Journal called “Grandpa, Tell Me Your Memories…”

131 

  I am so excited to have him fill it out, that man has STORIES like you would not believe!!!!!  And I sure can’t recall them all, you know, with brain cells missing, as previously discussed. This book will be priceless to my kids as they grow up!

  As everyone gathered around the Birthday Boy, I saw an opportunity and called for a Group shot! 

Easy right?!

087

Wrong!

089090093094

Close enough! That’s a wrap, people.

096097104

Happy 82nd Birthday, Grandpa! We LOVE you!

106

027

xoxo

~T

5 thoughts on “A Birthday Bash: 82nd Style.

  1. How awesome! We just celebrated my dad’s 86th this past weekend too. HOW NICE you still have both your gr’parents. Doncha just adore those pictures of them together…how sweet! Looks like a grand time with family – it doesn’t get any better than that. Blessings on your week! I have prayed for you already today. :-*

  2. Grandpa looks so much better than he did so I’m glad he could really enjoy his birthday celebration! Instead of him writing his stories down, he should tape them for your kids.

  3. How fun!! Have I ever mentioned that I’m really gullible? As in, I totally believed the “they just ran a 5k” comment till I scrolled down and saw that you were kidding. For a few seconds I was VERY impressed with your grandparents!!! Nonetheless it looks like a fun, fun birthday party. You are so blessed to still have your grandparents–how special that your kids know their great-grandparents!

  4. Pingback: Preparing to Say Goodbye «

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

