It Works For Me!

    I’d like to jump in here on my previously scheduled post, to touch on a little issue I am currently dealing with:  

  If there is a recipe on my site that is “yours” and I have not cited you as the source, first let me apologize, it is never done intentionally.  If I find a post on a fellow bloggers site, I am SURE to link us up!  In fact, most of the time I’ll email you and say, “I am sharing a recipe of yours today! Thanks for a keeper!” 

   2nd, you have to remember, I have been collecting recipes for over 10 years, some from emails, some from family recipe cards, some I have no idea where they came from….the source is NOT always passed along with the recipe to me. 

The fact of the matter is: 

People love food and they love to share food…PERIOD. 

   I have been turned in for copyright infringement over a cookie, A COOKIE!  to a favorite recipe site of mine.  I have taken care of it, and they understood my side of the story.  They were actually VERY nice about it, saying sorry she is being threatening, and to please not let this stop me from continuing to share recipes on their site. 

  Contrary to what this woman said, I just want you to know I have NEVER EVER claimed to have invented the recipes on my site, I don’t enjoy that side of recipes. Sure, I’ll tweak a recipe, but I don’t like to start from ground zero and create my own, EVER.  Not my thing.  So, when I share a recipe with you, its because we have found a “winner” at our house, end of story. 

  I am sad people have to take such self-seeking paths, like scowering the internet for “Their Recipe” to see if they were mentioned as the creator or not.   Since there are 417,000 sites with this particular cookie mentioned, that is a lot of time and work to contact all those people to make sure they are giving her credit, and using threatening comments and hateful words to demand it, REALLY?!  Asking nicely sure goes a lot further!

  Here ‘s the thing about recipes, they all come from someone, sometime “inventing it”.  I can give you our FAVORITE casserole from my Aunt Regena, and credit her because she gave it to me, but who knows how many people ago the recipe was created!  I can give my best friend credit for Bestie Banana Bread, but who knows how many years ago the inventors name was dropped, as recipe passed from friend to friend! It is my understanding, that copyright laws protect the recipe INVENTOR, not the recipe share-er.

  After Dale shared this verse with me:  Romans 12:18 “Do all you can to live at peace with everyone….”  I knew what I was being asked to do, so I linked up my blog to hers to keep the peace, even though she was not the one that gave me the recipe.  If I have to scout out recipe inventors just to share our “keeper” recipes on here, I am done with the food part of this blog! That is WAY too much to ask!!!!! 

  Anyhow, lets all choose happy sunshine, and get on to the regularly scheduled post!!!! 🙂

I’ve always wanted to do a Works For Me Wednesday Post, but most of the time I can’t think of anything clever that works for me.

wfmw-300x198

  Then it hit me…..LAUNDRY! I can tell what works for us with laundry x 6 people;  5 who are VERY VERY messy, but I will not name names or anything…..daledestinytylanaverypaxton.

  Sooo, I’ve tried folding laundry on the dinner table, super annoying to deal with in the supper/homework rush.

  I’ve tried folding laundry onto the living room furniture, which worked great until kids 2, 3 and 4 arrived. After that, I ran out of furniture!

  I’ve heard of people folding on the bed, but if you know my house, you know that my laundry room is a bazillion feet away from the master bedroom. 

  So, instead, I just take a few extra minutes after the dryer is done, to stand there at the dryer door, and fold directly into the 6 baskets on the laundry room floor.  Each person has their own basket, so once the last load is folded, it’s totally ready to go to each child’s room, to be put away as part of after school or weekend chores.

BEFORE:

DURING:

057

AFTER:

laundry after

The stuff you see flopped over the edges are hanging clothes, they will get put on hangers ASAP.  This is a very wrinkle free way to do laundry since it goes straight from the dryer to neatly folded in, or draped over a basket.

  Also, don’t give into temptation to re-start the dryer just to give yourself some more time (GUILTY!)….did you know that running your washer and dryer accounts for around $30 of your electric bill as it is?  Also, did you know if you shake each item out before you throw it in, that it will dry better, faster?! (Thanks for the tip, Mrs. Baker!)

  This method may not work for you,  but it works for me!  (which is why they call it “Works for ME Wednesday” instead of “Works for YOU Wednesday”!)  🙂

~T

This post linked to:

Works For Me Wednesday

18 thoughts on “It Works For Me!

  1. AAAAHHH – I was thinking what a lovely lovely post, from beginning to end…then got a charge to see my name appear there too. Thanks so much for the plug. Oh gracious me! I totally understand your frustration with anyone claiming you were using their recipe without recognition. And I wholeheartedly agree with everything you wrote about recipes…how they do pass from one person to another. We do the best we can, but it isn’t easy to ‘keep up’ with every tiny little detail of whose is whose. Sheeesh! I appreciate you sooo much! Have a happy & peace-filled day. XO

  2. I love this idea for Wednesday posts! I have also found it way more productive to fold clothes as they are coming out of the dryer. It’s too easy to let them sit in a basket for days, just waiting to be folded. Great tips!

  3. You poor thing! The recipe shenanigan sounds very stressful. I agree that it’s very hard to track down the truly original creator. I always try to link to either the creator of the recipe or at least my inspiration (I’m like you–I tweak, I don’t create from scratch).
    I know that the Spirit will teach you forgiveness because your heart is so open . . . and that lovely ‘pray for your enemies’ will be a reality for you!

  4. Girl, if you stop sharing recipes my family will never have a new recipe again. Ok, a bit of an exaggeration, but please keep posting your fab dishes!

  5. :(( Sorry about the recipe deal. Who starts from scratch?! (No one!) You always give credit & do the right thing.
    I love your laundry tip. I’m going to try doing that, I have the same issues. I love your blog! Don’t let the copyright mess discourage you. :))

  6. Really over a recipe. Shame on that woman. A lady would have recognized in this day of technology everywhere that it is impossible to know exactly where something came from. Does she have a patent & copyright? How does one “prove” she made something all on her own. Crazyness. I am working on my own laundry system similar to your basket floor method. I had my dad whip some of these…. http://ana-white.com/2011/03/laundry-basket-dresser for me! and crossing my fingers! Love your post, “your” recipes and your blog! Thanks!

  7. I use a similar system for laundry! I line-dry everything, so I sort it into categories as I hang it, and then I fold it (and improve the categorizing) as I take it down. Saves time, reduces wrinkles, and prevents me from having to hunt for a surface in my home that is actually clean and empty enough to fold laundry on!!

  8. Oh honey…I wish that my biggest issue in life was a cookie recipe:) Let’s NOT sweat the small stuff….wouldn’t it be sad that if today was the last day on earth….we spent it worried about a recipe. To God be the glory!!!! I see the sun is shining today:) Love you more!!!

  9. I agree about the laundry system even though there’s only 3 of us! However, I keep hangers in the laundry room. I round up the empty ones and take them down with the dirty laundry. Then as I take the clothes out of the dryer and fold them, I also hang the ones that need it. Then I can take them upstairs and put them away without the extra step of hanging clothes at a different time. (Maybe I’m just lazy :P) 🙂

  10. Seriously.. a cookie recipe? She needs to GET A LIFE!!! I mean, really, I’m just happy to find great recipes and even happier for people like you who pass them on trying to credit where you got them, but seriously, in this big bad online world or recipes, I’m pretty sure there is nothing “original” even out there any more and you would be the LAST person on earth to not acknowledge whoever you think that was! You just keep on cooking and sharing… and we will keep on cheering in your balcony!! YOU GO GIRL… bring on the recipe police and we’ll back you up!!!

  11. I am an empty nester and do not actually cook a whole lot unless one of the kids comes over, but I do enjoy reading your recipes, and have actually printed out some of them for “MY COOK BOOK.” LOL–A notebook filled with sheet protectors–handwritten recipes from my mom and other relatives, sheets torn out of magazines, printed from the internet, copied out of fav cookbooks so I do not have to try to remember which book they are in–and almost all of them “tweaked” with my own notes. If I did not have recipes that came from other people, I probably would never have learned to cook.

    Love your laundry idea.

    I do sort, even though it is only me–towels separately, every day clothes, Sunday clothes, and dishcloths and towels.

    Also, as a moneysaver, I make my own laundry detergent (recipe from a site on the internet–again tweaked for my own needs), but no allergens, nothing but a clean smell, and all for about a penny a load.

    Keep on with your blog. I generally read it before I start work in the afternoon when you’ve posted something, and it nearly almost always makes me smile. A good way to strt my workday!

      • Mine is not organized like yours–my youngest daughter keeps threatening to organize it for me. If she does I’ll never find anything–cuz I know where things are in the book!

        Keep up your blog! Love your pictures.

  12. I very rarely cook anything from a recipe…..I just kind of watch the way my mom did it and then add my own touches and teach my kids how. Now baking is a little different and I’ll follow the recipes, but still have to leave out stuff my kids don’t like or add things they do. This may be one of the most important discussions of all lifetime.

    Would you sweet ladies pray for me….we are leaving Tuesday to fly to FL to see my grand kids. I have a lousy bronchial stuff, temp 102 yesterday and cough….I’m drinking lot of liquids and will hopefull start to feel better soon, but don’t want to have bursting ears on the airplane. Thanks sweet Christian friends.

  13. Thanks for the laundry tips! It’s just the two of us right now, but for some reason I always put off folding laundry and it becomes an enormous mountain that no one wants to deal with.

    So sorry about the recipe thing…..what a pain! Please don’t stop sharing the recipes; I love knowing that all the ones you post are keepers!!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

