Crock Pot Kraut & Bean Soup

This is post 2 for today, head back a post for Destiny’s post: “The Heart of Worship”.

 I adapted this recipe from my good friend, Mrs. Baker’s blog.  The second I saw it, I knew I HAD to make it.  I am intrigued by sauerkraut and I have to tell you something….this is BY FAR, the number 1 best soup I have EVER MADE.

PROMISE me you will try this!  I am not even kidding you, we GOBBLED it up!  {As in 2 bowls each, including the kids!}

  The Kraut cooks away to a sweet, mild flavor, which melds in your mouth with the smoky sausage, hearty beans and hint of dill.

Oh. My. Stinkin. Word.

  I want to go make this again right now!!!!!!!!!!!!

Crock Pot Kraut & Bean Soup

003

  • 4 cups Diced Raw Unpeeled Potatoes
  • 2 cans (14 Oz Each) Sauerkraut, Un-drained
  • 1 cup Water (I added more because mine was too thick)
  • 2 packages Kielbasa Sausage, Halved And Sliced
  • 2 cans (15 Oz Each) Northern Beans, Pour Off Top Liquid Only
  • 2 cans (15 Oz Each) Pork And Beans, Un-drained
  • 4 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Dill Weed (I Did A Bit More, Yum!)

In an 8 Qt. crock pot layer potatoes, sauerkraut, water, kielbasa, then beans. Sprinkle brown sugar and dill weed over all.
Cover, cook on high for 3-4 hours, or until potatoes are soft. Make sure you stir a few times during cooking, adding another 1/2 cup water as needed if it appears too thick.
Oh my word, this is seriously my new FAVORITE soup! It was so sweet & savory, big enough to feed a crowd and is OH SO GOOD!

{This makes a HUUUUUGE batch, so it can be easily halved and put into a 4 Qt crock pot as well.}

Repeat after me, ok?

Fill in the blank with your name…….

I, ________________, do hereby PROMISE to give this soup a try, even though I think sauerkraut is stinky and gross because I love Tonya and I trust her Foodie Opinion.

  See, that wasn’t so hard!  Now go…….make this soup, then report back to me how much you loved it!

~T  🙂

9 thoughts on “Crock Pot Kraut & Bean Soup

  1. Oh Girl – you have me laughing out loud! (I sure hope The Country Cook sees this cause I’ve tried to convince her to try it too!) It is yummy and I’m thrilled to know your whole family enjoyed it. So simple too! I’m also giggling cause last night I just typed up one of YOUR soup recipes to share soon. *_* As they say…Birds of a Feather! =) I TAKE YOUR PLEDGE SWEETIE! Thanks for making me smile – have a wonderful day.

  2. This sounds really good but are you sure you don’t need to rinse the sauerkraut?? The soup doesn’t taste bitter at all??? I come from a polish background and we always rinse the sauerkraut….

    • I don’t see what a quick rinse could hurt, especially if you were worried. Nope, I really didn’t taste bitter at all! We make bierocks with kraut and I always rinse and drain very well. Guess I didn’t even think about it!

  3. Sounds real yummy, I am gonna take that pledge and give it a try.

    Do you have or anybody out there have a recipe for gray dumplings? its a polish dish and i am trying to find it for my mother-in-law.

  4. Okay, I am NOT a sauerkraut fan, but if YOU SAY this is the BEST soup you’ve EVER made, I WILL trust you. I’m afraid, but I will trust you. And I will make it next week. Good thing the next thing on my to-do list is making the grocery list!!

    • Ok, listen hear Preggo, no judgments if I led you astray just this once!!!!! LOL 🙂 We really did love it, but we also like Rueben sandwiches and bierocks with kraut inside. Hugs, sweet friend! ~T

      • I really lovedit! My husband not so much, although he did eat it twice. It was better the second time around. I will definitely make it again for me!!!!! Yum yum!

  5. Pingback: More Soup Recipes!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

