Vanilla Crumb Pie

 This is post 2 for today, head back a post for some Egg-citing news!

 

  This pie is really simple, has simple flavors and reminds me of a mix between Custard, Snickerdoodles and sugar cookies.  In other words…..SO SO good!

  First, make Easy Push Crust:

Easy Push Crust

(click title to print)

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup chilled Crisco (butter flavored is best)

1 tsp. salt

1/3 cup cold water

1 T. milk for basting (only when fully cooking crust)

Combine flour and salt. Using a pastry cutter, cut shortening into flour. Sprinkle with water. Form into ball, divide in 2. Flatten each to fit your pie pans, all the way to the edges. Crimp with fingertips to make pretty.  Prick with a fork before baking.  Baste with milk if fully baking.  Makes 2 crusts.

  I baked this at 425* for 10 minutes to just firm it up a bit before I put liquidy pie filling in it.  This is called Par-baking and will help the crust from getting soggy.    (Now, if you were using this crust for say Peanut Butter Pie, you’d want to baste it and fully bake it at 425* for 15 minutes, and then cool completely before filling.  Make sense?) 

Vanilla Crumb Pie

006

  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 2 cups Water
  • 2 Tablespoons Flour, Heaping
  • 1 cup Corn Syrup
  • Pinch Of Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Cornstarch
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla

Crumbs For Top:

  • 2 cups Flour
  • 1 cup room temperature Butter
  • ½ cups Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Cream Of Tartar

First, make Easy Push Crust, listed above.

Mix together and bring to a boil first 6 ingredients.
Remove from heat and cool mixture.
Add 1 T. Vanilla and 2 eggs.

Mix crumb ingredients and divide between the 2 pies evenly. Bake at 350* for 20-30 minutes or until the top is golden brown.  Serve warm.
Makes two pies.

Happy Baking!  This simple push crust and pie recipe will make you feel like Susie Homemaker in NO TIME at all!  It really is simple!

~T

20 thoughts on “Vanilla Crumb Pie

  1. Oh how I love making simple desserts like this. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a recipe like this one, so thank you very much for introducing it to me. Love versatility in recipes – this is a winner!

    • My GRANDMA got the pie crust recipe from me after she tasted it. Then I knew I had arrived as a baker! LOL 🙂 She can no longer do the roll out kind, but thought this one tasted great. It’s flaky and delicious!

  2. This looks delicious! And it reminds me (in the picture and the simplicity) of my Chess Pie. Not being much of a baker, I love a good simple dessert like this.

  3. Oh my word friends…..Tonya shared a piece of this….HOLY COW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So yummmmmmyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Pingback: Custard Pie & Weekend Potluck #7 «

  5. I’m going to give this a try for a church bake sale this weekend. I figure someone already has the chocolate pies and the fruit pies mastered, so I wanted to try something a little different. Storage advice? Will it be OK to bake a few days in advance? Room temp or fridge? Thanks for your help!!

    • If you are making it more than a day in advance, I’d store it in an air tight tupperware in the fridge if possible to keep it fresh! Then let it come to room temp for the big day. Note that it can be served warm, cold or room temp! (I’d include that on the pie.) Enjoy, it’s a keeper!

  6. I am obsessed with this pie! SO SO good! And I like that it’s so rich…keeps me from eating too much! I will say, though…I totally emphasize the part about letting the filling mixture cool before adding the eggs! Haha! Scrambled eggs in a pie = not too appetizing… 😉

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

