Chicken Every Sunday

  I think everyone’s Momma made this at one time or another: Chicken Every Sunday, or Chicken and Rice Casserole.  Basically, uncooked rice, water, chicken and some sauce ready and waiting for you when you came home STARVING from church.

  Well, my best friend, Kasey and I put two of our favorite recipes together to improve Chicken Every Sunday and make it bigger, moister and creamier. I’ve been playing with portions every time we make it, but this time, it was just right!  (Last time I made this was over 5 years ago, and I overflowed my dish in the oven: WHAT. A. MESS.)  No worries, it worked PERFECTLY this time, but you are going to need a 9 x 13 style casserole dish, but deeper.  I used my Deep Dish Baker from Pampered Chef and it was just right.

Chicken Every Sunday

(click for easy printable)

Chicken Every Sunday (5)

Ingredients

  • 1 package Dry Onion Soup Mix
  • 10 ounces, fluid Cream Of Mushroom Soup
  • 7 ounces, weight Mushroom Pieces With Juice
  • 6 whole Chicken Breasts (or Boneless Pork Chops Work Too}
  • 16 ounces, weight Sour Cream
  • Salt, Pepper And Garlic Powder, To Taste
  • 4 cups Brown Basamati Rice
  • 5 cups of water

Pre-heat oven to 300*. Combine dry soup mix, mushroom soup, mushrooms and sour cream in a large bowl, season to taste.
In an over-sized 9 x 13 casserole dish (I used my Deep Dish Baker from Pampered Chef) spread 4 cups of DRY rice in the bottom of the dish. Cover with 5 cups of water. Next, layer 6 rinsed chicken breasts, not overlapping if possible.
Spread goo over the top of the chicken. {Yes, it will look weird, don’t worry!} Cover with foil for 2-1/2 hours or until water has absorbed into the rice and chicken is cooked through.

Delicious and easy!

~T

7 thoughts on “Chicken Every Sunday

  1. One of our family favorites too…love the changeups you did to create something even creamier. Good for you gals! I’ve never tried basmati rice? Guess I’ll have to be on the lookout for it.

  2. My Mom’s typical Sunday lunch for us was always a stir fry, and she would let us read on the couch and relax until it was ready. I have such great memories of Sunday afternoon meals!

  3. Thanks for posting this. I have been trying to recreate my grandmother’s recipe since she passed away 13 years ago. I’m going to give this one a try!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

