Deep South Gooey Butter Bars

  Every household needs a couple “Go To” recipes. You know for those, “Come and bring a Dessert” kind of events.  The Deep South Gooey Butter Bars that I am sharing today, are my #1 pick, pictured down by the recipe, followed VERY closely by these…….

 Can’t Leave ‘Em Alone Bars.

Can't Leave Em Alone Bars

Deep South Gooey Butter Bars

{click for easy printable}

Ingredients

  • 1 box Yellow Cake Mix (dry)
  • ½ cups Melted Butter
  • 2 whole Eggs Beaten
  • 8 ounces, weight Cream Cheese, softened
  • 3-½ cups Powdered Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs Beaten

  Mix dry yellow cake mix, melted butter and 2 eggs well. {It will be thick and sticky.} Pat into the bottom of a sprayed 9×13 pan.
  Mix softened cream cheese, powdered sugar and 2 beaten eggs together. Spread over cake mix layer.
  Bake at 350* for 35-40 minutes. Eat warm or room temperature.

AMAZING!

~T

12 thoughts on “Deep South Gooey Butter Bars

  1. These look absolutely mouth-watering! Look at us…my post today is also a GOOEY (caramel coconut) bar! I love anything!!! with cream cheese. These are YUM! It looks like there’s a layer of chocolate? But I don’t see choc in the ingredient list…am I imagining it’s chocolate? =D I do DREAM about chocolate, so maybe…teehee And certainly! I would HAVE to eat these warm…no waiting til they cool.

  2. You are not helping my diet!! I guess I’ll have to try these this week while the girls are home for spring break. Maybe I won’t eat as many that way. 🙂 I took your S’mores Bars to a volleyball tournament recently, and they were a hit! Makenzie and I loved the Sausage and Saurkraut soup also.

  3. You can make these different flavored too! We make these and add things to the cream cheese filling. Such as (ready for this?) chocolate chips, peanut butter (and chocolate chips), white chocolate chips and raspberry preserves, M & M’s, caramel pieces, cocoa powder; white chocolate chips, crushed candy canes and peppermint extract for Christmas time; pretty much anything you can think of! If you’re adding liquid ingredients, though, I definitely recommend compensating by adding more powdered sugar. SO good!

  4. Mouth watering yet again…..I made something like this today with yellow cake mix cup of peanut butter and chocolate chips…..Fantastic !!!!

  5. Pingback: Super Bowl Snack Line Up |

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

