Basement Birthday, MCC & Ree Makes 3: Part II

 This is continued from Post I.  Live Writer seemed to think I had TOO many photos for just one post.  {It’s true}

I got to go meet the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond on Thursday! I couldn’t share it with you all Friday, because of Weekend Potluck, so I bumped it to today! Thus, the MEGA full post! I went with my best friend, Kasey and of course, I took my camera to photograph the whole thing. 🙂

My notebooks of Tasty Kitchen print-offs ready to be signed….

IMG_6980

IMG_6983

“We are going to meet PIONEER WOMAN!!!!” {Squeeeeeeeeeeee!}

IMG_6986IMG_6987

Crazy Driver, oops! I meant, The Driver.

IMG_6991IMG_6994

  I don’t know HOW we got lost and had to drive all over creation to find the theatre. I mean, I gave SUCH good instructions. I am pretty sure Kasey has laughed until she has cried several times over my notes. Well, I thought I listened to Dale VERY Carefully. I don’t drive in Wichita and apparently that makes a difference in the kind of notes you take?!?!?!?!?

Despite some squealing tires and hair pin turns, we still made it on time (with ONE MINUTE TO SPARE) to get seats at the back of the theatre. Good thing we had great tickets, numbers 203-204.

 IMG_6989

Ticket numbers 500 and up, had to stand outside in a line around the building. Highest ticket number we heard?

1500!!!!!!

After an hour of waiting, she came on stage!

Ree Drummond!!!!!

  She gave the CUTEST slide show presentation about her life and start of her blog. This presentation included ugly food photos, cowboy butts, photos of her babies and of course, Charlie. The Charlie portion including a lovely song. She seriously had us cracking up!!!!!

IMG_7005_thumb1

They had her come sit at a desk right in front of where we were seated and began to call ticket numbers, starting 1-25.

IMG_7019_thumb1IMG_7033_thumb1

Cowboy Josh was there, and quite a hit with the ladies.

IMG_7038_thumb1

We waited another 2 hours until they called our ticket numbers. Can you imagine how long number 1500 waited?!?!?!?!

IMG_7039_thumb1

Then, the big moment…..IT WAS OUR TURN! The ladies that worked up there almost didn’t let me go through! Saying TWICE, that they were just SURE I had already been through once. One even checked my books out to be sure they weren’t signed. {I think they thought I was you, Jamie Wyatt!} 🙂

Once I got through the Bookstore Body Guards, our 30 seconds sure went fast, and I am not sure I can remember what all was said. Honestly, the only thing I can remember was teasing her that her cheeks must hurt from smiling so much, so we all massaged our faces a bit before this mini photo session. Poor thing was soo sweet, but you could tell she was exhausted! And still had ticket numbers 250-1500 to go!

IMG_7057_thumb1IMG_7058_thumb1IMG_7060_thumb1

Thanks to a HUGE surprise from Kasey’s sweet Momma, Pam, I had a REAL cookbook for Ree to sign in addition to my two “homemade” ones. {Squeee!!!!}

IMG_7585_thumb1IMG_7586_thumb1

We headed to Newport Grill for supper at 9, exhausted but thrilled with our fun “Mom’s Night Out”. The first one in a long time with no nursing babies waiting for us at home!

IMG_7061_thumbIMG_7064_thumbIMG_7095_thumb1

IMG_7079_thumb1

ROCK SHRIMP CIGARS melted leeks, pineapple, fresno chili

IMG_7097_thumb1

BABY ARUGULA SALAD: shaved fennel, celery, Belgian endive, pomegranate, goat cheese, apple, sherry vinaigrette IMG_7104_thumb1

Served with Artisan Bread with sweet salted butter

IMG_7105_thumb

Smoked potato “tater tots”

IMG_7110_thumb1IMG_7075_thumb2

The waiter made Kasey do a blind taste test. Hysterical! {She nailed it!}

IMG_7111_thumb1

HAWAIIAN AHI TUNA hazelnut brown butter, crispy brussels sprouts, quinoa & tart cherries

IMG_7106_thumb1

It was SO GOOD!

Dessert with Banana Bread Pudding with caramel and ice cream. But alas, I was too busy eating and did not get a shot! 🙂

We started driving home at 10, full and yawning, no longer used to being out so late! Does that mean we are getting old, or does that mean we have 7 young children between us?

Let’s go with the second option…..

Welp, that’s all folks. Thanks for letting me share ALLLL my photos with you! 🙂

Happy Monday,

~T

17 thoughts on “Basement Birthday, MCC & Ree Makes 3: Part II

  1. LANDS SAKES ALIVE WOMAN! What a jam-packed weekend huh? I can’t believe you found time to do all of this post and all these photos after being holed up in a basement overnight! I’m sooo tickled you and Kasey got to have your photos taken with The Woman! I adore! seeing the photos of you and your sweet BFF too – I would have had the plate of tuna myself . Oh yum!! So thankful you survived the storm. Catch up on your rest and have a terrific week. XO

  2. P.S. – guess you gals needed to have me along on your PW adventure…I have a GPS in my phone and we shouldn’t have gotten lost, but I’m sure that was much of the fun of making memories huh? =D You are quite a wild pair. lol

  3. Wow, you met the Pioneer Woman! I guess it’s time for me to get jealous. But wow, signing and meeting that many people in only one day must have been a handful for sure.

    I’m glad you had such lovely time!

  4. So glad you and your BFF had such a fun night out….what an adventure and what a time to replenish and be ready to serve your family again. God is good all the time.

  5. I do NOT know how all of this fit into one weekend!! That is insane! I’m a teeny tiny bit jealous that you got to meet The Pioneer Woman…and at all that delicious food you got to eat…and it just looks like so much fun!

    Thank God no tornadoes touched you guys–I was praying for your family! So glad you’re all okay and that you didn’t have to spend the night in the office basement (though I’m sure the stories you would’ve had to tell would have been VERY entertaining!).

  6. You and Kasey look great! I am so happy you two got to have a night out! And Newport Grill–that Ahi Tuna is exactly what I chose the night I went! I laughed when imagined you two lost….who wudda thought????? lolol

    • Debbie the Newport Grill is one of Monty’s (company’s) restuarants!!! WE ADORE!!!! I’d love to dine with you there sometime…my treat;)

  7. I just discovered your blog and your pinterest page- love it all! I also recently discovered the work and blog of the Pioneer Woman and though I just “found” her two days ago, I am obsessed already. I wish she was coming to the DC area. I look forward to reading more about you and your family. I spent an hour tonight leafing through your pages, reading about your babies and your recipes. New fan!

  8. Awwww. I loved reading this and I loved all the pictures too!! You ladies are so adorable and fun!! So sweet! I’m so thankful that those tornadoes missed your area. You know we were keeping y’all in our prayers!

  9. Wow, you met the Pioneer Woman!
    I love her…
    Looks like you two BFF’S had a great time out!
    Good for you guys……Ummmm just wondering how things went at home with dad’s? watching all the kiddo’s
    That could be a post on it’s own :))

    • LOL! 🙂 The Daddy’s did great! All children were found peacefully in their beds and the house was almost spotless and I couldn’t even tell Dale had been in the kitchen. (He really had, they ate leftovers!)

  10. I’m kinda freaking out right now. OK, I subscribed to your blog because I found you through Jenna and invited you to her virtual baby shower. I think yours was the only blog I subscribed to out of all those I invited to the shower, it just caught me. And to find out, we’re both in Wichita! It was pretty neat reading through this because I WAS THERE TOO! I was ticket number 183! I just blogged about it and I wish I had a camera like yours because my pics were TERRRRIBLE-lol. What kind of camera do you use?

    • WHAT?! No stinkin’ way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is nuts! 🙂 What a small world we live in! I shoot with a Canon 60D, just upgraded from the Rebel xs which I LOOOVED, but killed in 18 months. No kidding. They should last like 6 years. Yikes! That is some hard core shooting I was doing apparently! I am honored you subscribed and look forward to chatting more in the future…Hugs, T

      • I know, right? I was pretty surprised! Thanks, I have heard good things about Canon’s and when I finally buckle down to get serious about photography, I’m probably going to get me one of those. Hopefully this one lasts longer than your rebel! lol

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

