Steak Fingers

We like to buy grass-fed beef, and with a side of beef comes some weird cuts I never know what to do with.

Like ROUND STEAK.

There are just no good recipes that use round steak, trust me, I’ve Googled it many a time.

That all just changed, and from now on, I will be making THIS recipe from Pioneer Woman:

Steak Fingers and Gravy

{click for easy printable}

Steak fingers text

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Tenderized Round Steak Or Cube Steak, Cut Into 1-inch Strips
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Seasoned Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Black Pepper
  • ¼ teaspoons Cayenne
  • 3 whole Eggs
  • 1 cup Milk
  • Canola Oil And Butter For Frying
  • 2 cups Milk (additional)
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste

Combine flour, seasoned salt, pepper, and cayenne in a dish.

Whisk together milk and eggs in a separate dish.

To bread the meat, first dredge in flour, then dip quickly in egg mixture, then put back into the flour to coat on both sides. Continue until all the meat is breaded.

Heat canola oil with 2 tablespoons butter in a large skillet over medium to medium-high heat. Fry steak strips 4 or 5 at a time, turning midway through. When golden brown, remove from the pan to a paper towel-lined plate. Continue until all the meat is done. Cover loosely with foil to keep warm.

To make the gravy, pour off all the grease from the pan. Add 1/4 cup of the grease back in, then sprinkle on 2 to 4 tablespoons of the flour mixture (or you can use fresh flour.) Whisk mixture till it becomes a paste (add more flour if you need to) and cook the paste over medium-low heat until it’s deep golden brown. Pour in milk, whisking constantly. Allow the gravy to cook and thicken, whisking regularly and adding more milk if it seems too thick right off the bat.  Season gravy with salt and pepper.

Serve with mashed potatoes, green beans and whole wheat rolls.

Yummo!  I doubled this, so we used the whole wheat rolls the next day, and had the leftovers as Steak Finger Sandwiches. Delish!

~T

13 thoughts on “Steak Fingers

  1. We get a buffalo every year, very lean meat & we like the taste better too. I have to say round steak is on of my staple items in my freezer, swiss steak, steak in brown gravy over noodles, stir fry, green pepper steak, the list goes on. So I have to disagree with you on the no good recipes using round steak. I found PW recipe for Steak Fingers a while ago & my hubby love it. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. I have to agree with Kathy H..
    I love using round steak for pepper steak, Stir Fry and our favorite Beef Stroganoff is made with Round steak!
    This recipe looks yummy as well!

  3. Jerky is another way to use weird cuts of meat that you have a hard time cooking with. I love cooking with beef now that we have a source for grass-fed. But it has been an adventure. And we, like posters above, have some yummy ways to make round steak. But until you find them, don’t be afraid to bust out the dehydrator! There are oven methods, too. Happy Cooking!

  4. I agree with the others–I use round steak (cut into strips) for homemade beef stroganoff. You will not be disappointed! You could also use the round steak (cut into cubes) for beef stew too. Great belly-filling dinners for the upcoming winter!

    • Ooo, Beef Stew would be delicious! Believe it or not, I’ve never made Beef Stew before. Then I could save all those stew meat packages for Beef Stroganoff, which we LOOOOOVE. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

  5. Cousin.. I can’t believe you didn’t grow up on Round Steak and Mushroom Gravy! Seriously Kevin’s favorite birthday meal. I wish my beef came with way more Round steaks!!! Cooked in the crock pot, slow and it literally melts in your mouth!! I can be bribed for the recipe 🙂 Or it might be on our freezer cooking site too.

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

