Shhh! Top Secret Pot Roast

  The kids have been out of school since last Wednesday because of all the snow!  snow collage

  A week later, we are finally back to regular schedule.  I am glad things are back to normal, I have a lot of work to do around here to get caught up, but I miss them already!  It was noisy and messy, I had a pile of wet, dirty snow clothes at the back door constantly, but how fun to be home, all as a family, for so many days in a row!    We loved it!

  Yesterday, we painted the Salt Sculptures we had made the day before.

  Salt sculpturesSalt scupltures

Once the sun came out, it was perfect play weather, so we all headed out to make good use of this final snow day. Dale helped the kids build this cool snow chair.
Snow day fun

Avery says, Let’s look cool, since I am the Queen!

snow queen

Destiny and I made a snowman and snow bunny rabbit

Snow collage

  Now, on to the TOP SECRET recipe.  I have been making and perfecting my Pot Roast recipe for 11 years now. 

  Ok, that’s not true, I used to not even make this dish at all when we were first married, because I got burned on it as a kid. 

Come on Mom, EVERY Sunday!?  Haha 🙂

  I’ve been making it for around 7 years now, and I have finally perfected it.  Know how I know? 

  My Grandmother tried it and said it was the best she had ever tasted, and she’s been making delicious Pot Roasts for like 100 years or something.  

Thankyouverymuch.

Sooo, since I love you all so much, I’ve decided to share my Top Secret Pot Roast recipe with you today.  It has a secret ingredient.

Ready?

  It’s creamy.  {Everything has to be creamy at my house if you haven’t already figured that out……}

  It’s zingy.  {Is that a word? It is now.}

  It’s Creamy Horseradish Sauce.

   After I rub the pot roast in coarse Kosher Salt and fresh cracked pepper, I literally smear the whole thing in creamy horseradish sauce.  Don’t be scared if you aren’t a horseradish fan!!! It cooks away and leaves this tender meat behind, with an incredible flavor you can’t QUITE put your finger on.

Top Secret Pot Roast

{click to print}

Top Secret Pot Roast

Ingredients

  • 5 pounds Pot Roast
  • Kosher Salt And Fresh Cracked Pepper
  • 1 cup Creamy Horseradish Sauce
  • 2 packages {2 Oz Total} Dry Onion Soup Mix
  • ½ whole Onion, Cut Into Strips
  • 16 ounces, weight Baby Carrots
  • 12 whole Small White Potatoes
  • 14 ounces, fluid Beef Broth
  • 1 can Water

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 325 F.

Cut excess fat off of your pot roast and discard. Rub roast with coarse kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper on all sides.

Place roast in a large roasting pan. Cover all visible sides of pot roast with creamy horseradish, then sprinkle on one packet of the dry onion soup mix.

Slice onion half into thin strips, cut small white potatoes in half. Surround meat with slices of onion, potatoes halves and baby carrots.

Cover in the second packet of dry onion soup mix. Pour beef broth plus 1 beef broth can of water over everything, and cover with foil.

Bake at 325 F for a total of 3 hours. {Take off foil the last 45 minutes, so it browns up nicely}

Serve with additional creamy horseradish sauce, if desired.

IMG_2619

Now my secret, is YOUR secret!

~T

10 thoughts on “Shhh! Top Secret Pot Roast

  1. Wow! That roast looks soo yummy. I think we are going to have to try it out sometime. We had roasts for dinner every sunday growning up too!:) It was just the thing to do. I do kinda miss that somewhat. We don’t do that anymore.
    Your kids looked like thet had a blast with there time off! Love,love LOVE the “cool” picture! To cute!:)
    What salt dough recipe did you use? I use one that my mom always made for us when we were younger and now I make it for my kids. All the ingred. are edible! So, I never feel bad if they eat it. Not that you would want to with a cup of salt in it but, at least it will not make them sick.

    • I’ve never tried it, but I don’t know why not. I’d put veggies down first with one packet of the dry onion soup mix, then your seasoned and sauced meat with the other packet of onion soup. Beef broth/water over the whole thing and cook for probably 8-10 hours on low.

  2. OK, I have been cooking for Ron for almost 49 years (teen bride!!) and making roasts which is so good to have in the oven for lunch after church on Sunday. He LOVES horseradish! I will try your recipe soon and see if he can tell what it is. Thanks, Tonya. Your snow pics, especially the snowman and rabbit belong in some magazine called Fun with Kids!

  3. The recipe sounds very good and I loved the snow pictures! We’ve been averaging temps in the 70’s and 80’s and my kids have started making up stories of what it might be like to play in snow someday! Looks like you had a lot of fun! –Alison

  4. That roast looks soo yummy.
    I love Roasts and will be trying this soon and what fun snow days there’s nothing better then family home time!

  5. Pingback: The Dairy Free Table {A guest post by Tonya Ferguson} | gracefullhome

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

