Creamy Burrito Casserole

  This casserole reminded me a lot of Tijuana Torte we already make and love, but I went ahead, because the addition of refried beans intrigued me.

  I found this recipe at Food.com, and the end result was nothing short of amazing!  {I changed it up just a bit.}  We loved the heartiness the whole wheat tortillas and refried beans bring to the final dish. And talk about quick, the whole thing came together in no time flat!

 Creamy Burrito Casserole

{click on title to print}

Creamy Burrito Casserole

Ingredients

  • 1 pound Ground Beef
  • ½ whole Onion, Chopped
  • 1 envelope (1 Oz.) Taco Seasoning
  • 16 ounces, weight Can Refried Beans
  • 6 whole Wheat Tortillas
  • 3 cups Shredded Taco Cheese
  • 10 ounces, weight Can Cream Of Mushroom Soup
  • ⅓ cups Sour Cream
  • ½ cups Taco Sauce
  • Lettuce, Sour Cream, Tomatoes

Preparation Instructions

 

Preparation Instructions

 

In a skillet over medium heat, brown meat with onions. When meat is browned and onions softened, drain off the grease. Add taco seasoning and water (use the amount of water recommended on the package directions). Stir in one can of refried beans, heat everything through then set aside.

 

In a small bowl, mix sour cream and cream of mushroom soup.

 

In the bottom of a 2 quart casserole dish, spread 1/2 cup of the sour cream mixture. Tear up 3 whole wheat tortillas and cover the sour cream layer. Layer half of the meat on top of this, spreading to cover the surface. Add a layer of cheese and a drizzle of taco sauce over it all.

 

Layer 3 more torn tortillas. Then top them with the remaining sour cream, meat mixture, taco sauce and cheese.

 

Bake uncovered at 350* for 20 minutes until hot and cheese is melted.

Garnish with lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream.


IMG_3451

Garnish with lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream.

Dig in!

~T

Creamy Burrito Casserole Collage

5 thoughts on “Creamy Burrito Casserole

  1. Yum! Yum! I read this today while at my daughter’s and I fixed it for their dinner this evening. She said they all loved it! =) I’ve made something similar too…a wonderful dish. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • How COOL! Glad I could help in some way….. 🙂 You are a great Momma to go help care for her and her family, I know I sure love when my mom can come over and help during times like that!!!!

  2. I love Mexican Casserole recipes like this! =)
    Im from KS, and Marsha ( The Better Baker ) sent me over!
    I like your recipes, I’ve already printed this one.
    Your recipes look great! I’ve already printed this one!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

