Mulberry Picking, Mower Races & A Simple Summer Supper

  Thanks for letting me have a break yesterday.  Phew, it was a crazy day.  The worst part of the vacation has to be either the drive home, or the pile of laundry, bills and phone call messages to swim through.  I have lots of photos to share from our Colorado trip, but I am going to need some time to weed through them.  So instead, you are getting some “Summer Snaps” from life at the Ferguson household………

  We have Mulberry trees the grow all over our back yard.  They make a terrible mess, the chickens eat them and poo purple, and the kids get them all over their shoes.  {Which is why there is a STRICT no play shoes in the house rule!} 

  But, boy are they sweet and yummy and FREEEEEEEE!  We pop em in our mouths, green stem and all, and they are delicious.  Every once in a while, when I am feeling generous, I let the kids have them on a teeny tiny dollop of Breyer’s Vanilla ice cream. 

  Yeah, I am cool like that.  😉

  Next time we will wait to do our Mulberry gathering until Daddy comes home, so he can help us do the ol’ shake the tree with a clean sheet under it trick.  It took forever our way!  But our harvest sure tasted good!

mulberry collage censored

  I censored the following photo for the safety of my kiddos, after some perv stole a picture of Destiny fully clothed sitting on her new bedspread, we try err on the side of caution on the blog now.  The bottom right photo was of Paxton’s berry stained buns.  It was interesting to me, that when I posted the uncensored pic on my personal page, which to me feels safe, I got turned into Facebook, who removed the collage!  {sigh}  Some people!

  Do you know how many bathtub pictures and naked baby pictures I see on my newsfeed everyday? And I never once reported them.  OH! And don’t even get me started on the scantily clad women in the ads on my sidebar.

Oh well.  What can you do? 

  Moving on….

  We recently sold our John Deer mower to get a Grasshopper mower, but before we got rid of it, we held some MOWER RACES.  Guess who won?

Yup, this girl. 

  What do you mean Grasshoppers are naturally faster than John Deers?

FIIIINE, you are right, but it was still fun to lap slow traffic a couple of times. 

  After that, poor, poor, sad Paxton did not WANT to ride on the green mower anymore.  He had to wait his turn to ride with Daddy on the Grasshopper.

  As you can see by the photo below, he was not feeling it……

  Gotta love my almost 3-year-old!  We don’t call ‘em “The Trying Threes” for nothing!

mower races

  Last but not least, I re-photographed an oldie but goodie simple summer staple around here.  I enjoy seeing the changes in my photography as I learn more.  You know what they say, the only photographer you should compare yourself to, is YOU!

Potato Stick Chicken Salad

2011’s shot 

025.jpg

Vs.

2013’s shot

IMG_9598IMG_9601

YAY! Improvement!  It’s so fun to work hard, and see growth.

  Now go make that salad, it’s a favorite!

Hugs, T

7 thoughts on “Mulberry Picking, Mower Races & A Simple Summer Supper

  1. Yeah for zero turn lawn mowers!!!! Hubby will not go back to any other kind!!!!:) He LOVES ours!!!:)
    I have never had mulberries before. What do they taste like?!?:) Anything that makes your hand purple while picking is sure to be good!!!!:)
    I am going to have to try that chicken salad. I am always looking for something new to do with chicken.:) I have everything to make it but the chips! Bummer!!!!!!:(
    Thanks for sharing your post, bare berry stained bums and all!!!!

  2. Yup…I hafta agree..You ARE cool like that. ;-} Great photos…and I think about that awesome salad often…have yet to make it, but I’m sure we won’t make it through summer without enjoying it. Congrats on the new Grasshopper! Hurrah for the Fergusons!

  3. Growing up we had two mulberry trees in our yard. The neighborhood kids would look like monkeys on every branch sometimes! We’d just sit there and eat them until we couldn’t eat one more! But, my mom, who, for years had fought a losing battle with the mulberry-eating birds, finally had my dad cut them down. It seems that those white sheets she hung on the line should have had bulls-eyes on them! LOL Thanks for reminding me to think of this happy memory!

  4. I did not grow up with mulberry trees but last weekend I ate mulberries from some trees on a golf course. They were very good! My husband grew up in this area and he had them on their farm so he knew what they were. I was glad as I had eaten a few before he got to that part of the golf course. They are very good! And your pictures of your kids are so cute! I miss those days when my kids were so young and cute! But now they have kids that are young and cute,

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

