Shrimp & Avocado Salad

   Are you all staying safe and dry? We have had the craziest weather this summer! Check out this hail photo from a couple of weeks ago:

Hail

Dale ran out and saved this little lady from meeting her maker! See all that hail on the ground behind them? Crazy!

IMG_2893

  So in continuing with our Weird Weather Summer, here is a photo of our yard from this weekend.  We had almost 5 inches of rain in 90 minutes and the biggest, loudest thunder and lightning storm I can remember!  In fact, it is raining AGAIN tonight as I write this, with more scheduled every day this week.

  Lots of flooding in town, streets closed, basements full, and cars stuck!  We live in the Sand Hills, so usually the water disappears as fast as it comes, but not this time!  The kids had lots of fun playing in “the lake”.  

  Dale got to spend Sunday morning cleaning out our shed, which had about 4 inches of standing water in it, almost from front to back.  Everything is fine, and we are thankful for the rain after 3 years of drought conditions!

rain

Anyhow, on to the recipe:

My friend Susie, shared this recipe YEARS ago, and I have been waiting and waiting to try it without kids or hubby, because I knew they weren’t going to appreciate it like I would. 

  So mom, Grandma and Aunt Gena and I enjoyed it together one evening while Uncle Dan and Dale had Bored, I mean Board Meetings.  The kiddos got to eat Grandma’s Corn Dogs, and boy were they happy about that!

This delicious marinated shrimp salad makes for a cool summer supper…

Shrimp & Avocado Salad

{click title to print}

Shrimp & Avocado Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 ounce Packet Of Italian Dressing Mix {plus Ingredients To Make Dressing, Typically Oil And Water}
  • 2-3 drops of doTERRA’s Lime Essential Oil
  • 90 whole Petite De-veined Shrimp
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1 cup Sliced Green Onions
  • 8 ounce can of Water Chestnuts, Quartered
  • 4 whole Avocados, Finely Diced
  • 1 cup Thinly Shredded Romaine Hearts, per person

Preparation Instructions

  Make Italian Dressing per package ingredients, adding in 2-3 drops of doTERRA’s Lime Essential Oil for a nice pop of fresh flavor.
Rinse shrimp in cool water until it thaws, then sautee in butter until nicely pink. Set aside to cool.
  Slice green onions, quarter water chestnuts, dice avocados and shred lettuce.
Toss shrimp, green onions, water chestnuts and avocados in dressing mixture and refrigerate for 4 hours.
{This is VERY important to the flavor of the dish!}
  Serve over 1 cup of lettuce shreds.

Enjoy!

~T

4 thoughts on “Shrimp & Avocado Salad

  1. Wow! What weird weather indeed! We have been having it here too. Now, I think we have skipped Aug. and gone strait to about Oct.!! It is so chilly here. But, it does make for nice sleeping. I do have to say that! I have this feeling that we are going to get really HOT weather the end of this month or into Sept. I don’t know but, that is the feeling I am having.:)
    My kids LOVE shrimp! So, I wonder if they would like this salad. I am going to put it on the list to try tho. Thanks for sharing it.:)

  2. OOOO – that salad looks mighty tasty. I would LOVE it! How fun to make it a ‘girlie’ meal while the men and kids did their own things. The size of that hail is UN.REAL! I have never EVER seen hail that big. So thankful you had your strong and brave hubby to help your dear chicken friend. =) What crazy weather huh? Take good care and ya’ll stay safe!

  3. This looks fabulous! I was thinking of trying it with marinated artichoke hearts in place of the water chestnuts. I know it would change up the texture some but, I just don’t like those water chestnuts. 🙂 Maybe add in some cashews for extra omega-3’s and add back the crunch. What do you think, Tonya?

    • Water chestnuts make me gag too, so I chopped them super fine and it helped. But I like where you are going with the artichoke hearts and cashews!!!!!! If you make it this way, please come back and let me know your verdict!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

