Mediterranean Chicken Salad Pitas

This recipe comes CLEEEEEAR from Costa Rica, where Dale’s sweet family lives.  Cousin Karen, was kind enough to type out and email me this recipe.   

  As soon as I read the ingredient list, I knew it would be right up my alley, but wasn’t sure about the rest of my fam.  But guess what, they LOVED IT!!! {Minus the feta for them…..I adore feta so I saved it for mine!}

  I decided to quick share it in August, so we can all still beat the heat with this easy supper recipe.  Whole wheat pita pockets were much easier to find then I thought they would be!

Mediterranean Chicken Salad Pitas

{click title to print}

Mediterranean Chicken pita

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Sour Cream Or Greek Yogurt
  • 2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice
  • ½ teaspoons Ground Cumin
  • ½ teaspoons Crushed Red Pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 3 cups Cooked, Seasoned And Chopped Chicken Breasts
  • 1 whole Red Pepper
  • 30 wheels Pimento Stuffed Green Olives
  • ½ cups Diced Red Onion
  • ½ cups Fresh Cilantro
  • 15 ounces, weight Can Of Garbanzo Beans, Rinsed And Drained
  • ¾ cups Feta Cheese Crumbles
  • 12 whole Wheat Pita Pockets
  • Lettuce Leaves & Sliced Tomatoes
  • More salt and pepper to taste

Preparation Instructions

Combine first 4 ingredients and set aside.
Combine chicken, chopped red bell pepper, chopped olives, red onion, cilantro, garbanzo beans, seasonings and feta cheese. Taste and season more as needed.
Add sour cream to chicken mixture and stir well. Line each pita pocket with lettuce and a slice of tomato, stuff with chicken salad and serve immediately.

   ~T

8 thoughts on “Mediterranean Chicken Salad Pitas

    • Totally! I don’t love them either, but they added a nice crunch. What do you think about cashews to replace that element? Hmmm, what else would be a “mediterranean” replacement? Maybe you don’t even need to worry about it! The flavors are so complex and good! I was surprised, but the tomato adds a lot. We liked it way better once we had toms. Enjoy!!!!

  1. Cashews sound awesome-they are good anytime! Water chestnuts would add crunch but not a lot of flavor. Really any nuts would be good. When I think of Mediterranean nuts, almonds and pine nuts come to mind first. Either of those sound tasty too.
    Hmmmmm….Can’t wait to try this!!

  2. This looks sooo good! I think it would be a good change up on chicken salad. I think I may try this in a wrap! I LOVE the garbanzo beans but others in the family are not big on them. We will have to try it and see what they all think.;) It is all stuff I have on hand too!:)
    Thanks!!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

