Monetery Grilled Chicken

   Sooo, let’s talk shop a bit before we get on to the next delicious recipe I have ready to share.

Do you like the recipes I share on here? Are you printing and making? Are you pinning and liking?  

  I try very hard not to compare my blog to anyone else’s, because I never want to undermine the opportunity the Lord gave me when He prompted me to start this blog.  I promised from the get go, I’d write to an audience of 1 or 1,000, and its gone much further than I ever imagined it would 2 short years ago.  

  HOWEVER, if you all are unhappy, or I am not doing a good job generating conversations, or posting things you like, then I sure want to know.  I was at a small blog today checking out the recipe she brought to Weekend Potluck, and as I was scrolling down, I noticed she had over 21 comments on one food post!  I was like Oh my goodness, ALL these people are commenting on this post about food, hmmm.  When I post about food, I rarely get 3 comments.  {See, I compared, and I am not supposed to!}

Comparison aside, this got me thinking that I should check in with you!  Are you happy with what you read here?  Does 4 days of posts about food or life, plus Weekend Potluck on Friday overwhelm you? I have posted 5 days a week for almost 3 years now because I set that goal for myself, I guess I am OCD like that!? 😉  

  So, should I cut down to 3 day a week plus Potluck?  There are over 3,000 of you out there, and 2,995 of you are silent! LOL 🙂  Speak up, I love to hear from you all today!!!!!!!!!!!!!

On to the food, cause I know all this talking made you hungry……

  This is a great grilled meal that is unique and delicious!

  Picture grilled chicken breasts, layered with sauteed onion, avocado, crisp bacon and a fresh slice of garden tomato, all covered in a melty Montery Jack Cheese slice.  MMMMM!

  I found this recipe two summers ago in the Taste of Home Magazine that graces my mailbox every month!

Monterey Grilled Chicken

{click title to print}

Monterey Chicken txt

  • 6 pieces Bacon Strips
  • 6 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, Thawed

FOR THE MARINADE:

  • ½ cups Olive Oil
  • ¼ cups Each Red Wine Vinegar And Soy Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Minced Garlic
  • ½ teaspoons Salt And Pepper

FOR THE TOPPINGS:

  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 6 slices Tomato
  • 6 slices Sweet Onion
  • 6 slices Avocado
  • 6 slices Monterey Jack Cheese

Preparation Instructions

1. In a skillet over medium heat, cook bacon until crispy and then remove bacon from the pan and drain the grease. Mix up marinade ingredients in a bowl and place chicken in the bowl. Put bowl into the refrigerator and allow chicken to marinate for at least 30 minutes.
2. Thinly slice tomato and sweet onion. Saute onion slices in 2 T. butter.
3. Heat a skillet to medium heat with the butter. Drain and discard marinade and put chicken into the hot skillet. Grill chicken uncovered over medium heat for 4-6 minutes on each side or until chicken is no longer pink.
4. Cut avocado into wedges. Move chicken to the edges of the grill. Top each piece with a slice of bacon, an onion slice, a tomato slice, an avocado wedge and a slice of Monterey jack cheese.
5. Cover the pan and cook over medium heat for 4-6 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.

Happy Grilling!

AND commenting!?!?!?!?  🙂 PLEEEEASE?
~T

62 thoughts on “Monetery Grilled Chicken

  1. I heart the recipes you post. Love, love them. I have made LOTS of them. Five days a week is fine with me but so is three our four! Love!!

  2. I’ve only been following your blog for a couple months now but I do like the recipes you post on here. This one looks especially good! I would love to see more posts about raising kids, homemaking, marriage etc. I’m not sure what your purpose with your blog is (if its just more about recipes) but I enjoy getting email updates when you post something new. I think you are doing a great job and the pictures you post along with the recipes are great too 🙂

  3. Love your posts! I really enjoy photography so I have lots of interest in your photos. I have made some of the recipes you post but I just haven’t gone back to post about them. Guess I am one of the quiet ones but I read your blog and love it!

  4. Only since you asked…. I almost never, ever post comments on blogs. I enjoy your personal blogging much more than the actual recipes and that is why I follow every day (except Fridays!). We really just don’t have the same taste in food and I almost never print a recipe from your site. Also, what I really enjoy most about all the “foodie” blogs I follow is the personal narrative entwined with the recipes. Your recipe posts do sometimes include that but not always. I enjoy having something to follow every day so keep that up. Thanks for the efforts!

  5. I love your posts and don’t think that you are doing anything wrong!!! I think you have GREAT recipes and your love for family and the Lord is refreshing! You are the first blog I go to each and every morning.
    The only word of advise I would give is I don’t think it is easy to know where to go to leave a comment. Not to compare but many other sites after the post says comments and it will take you right there. Keep up the good work 🙂

  6. I love your blog! The recipes are good but I follow your blog because of the commentary on your family and faith. I’ve gotten great advice from you on creative discipline and I do enjoy your pictures! I think what all you do to preserve the innocence of your children is most admirable. Thank you!

  7. I look forward to reading your blog EVERY day (well, Mon-Fri:))!! I think your recipes are “real” and just what a busy mom needs for inspiration to feed her family. I definitely don’t want to see less food posts!!

    If I may offer a suggestion…it might make it easier for folks to comment if the comment section was located directly after your posts. The fact that you have to click the button at the top of the post is not intuitive. I like to just post my comments after I read a post and wouldn’t naturally think to go all the way back to the beginning. Also, I like to see others comments following a post becaus I think it often leads to follow on comments/conversations.

    Keep doing what you’re doing, for sure!!!

  8. Girl, keep the recipes coming! I love em! I usually don’t have time to comment but I took time today 🙂 don’t compare yourself to anyone, EVER!! It never turns out good for ya. I love your blog and look forward to email everyday ! Keep up the good work

  9. I follow your blog because of the faith and family advice. I have used several of your creative discipline techniques! What you do to preserve the innocence of your children is amazing! I love it! I wish the world was full of Tonya’s!! Your blog is great! I read it daily! Thank you , from one faith-filled Mom to another.

  10. Your doing a great job! You’re the only blog “I make time for”. Just made your gooey Oreo bars last night. Mad at myself for eating too many but my kids were thrilled! I pin toooons of your recipies. Sometimes I wait anxiously for them to be put on pinterest so I can get it pinned and not forget! You have been a great encouragement to me as I have healed from a dark place through God’s grace. Btw, I am not a usual commenter either. Just wanted to give you kudos.

  11. Oh Tonya, I love the recipes! Being a foodie with a picky husband, your recipes are often just the right fit for both of! I even have a day of the week dedicated to tonya day for trying your many recipes! I’m usually a pinner, so after reading your post ill head that way to pin it for trying the following month. Many people comment on blogs after they tried the recipe, if they did something different, or replaced ingredients. I would say that can be helpful, but never thought of myself as being the type to comment! I suppose it could be a new challenge for me 🙂

    And on another note, this looks fantastic! Can’t wait to try it!!

  12. I love your blog the way it is! I think that you are doing a GREAT job with it. Everyone in so different in there ways of living/blogging. I don’t think that you need to change anything at all. Keep up the good work! I have to tell you that your blog is the one of the first places I go in the morning after checking my e-mail. Even BEFORE pinterest!!!! 🙂 Just thought you would like to know that!
    Love you girl! Don’t feel like you need to keep up with the Jones’! The Fergusons are just GREAT!!!:)

  13. I LOVE your blog, Tonya!! I heard about your site with the ‘brew ha-ha’ of the Dear Mom on the iPhone, and man did it sting! One of those good shakings that you need sometimes. 🙂 I love hearing about your family and especially your faith. You’ve inspired me to forgive others. And so many of your posts, I’ve spoken to family about; like ‘just a little poop in brownies’ and the one that’s my new favorite is when you (and Dale, too I believe) mentioned that if you aren’t choosing God every second, you automatically default to Satan. I have tried some of your recipes, too. We’ve had some hits and some misses. Cowboy Bundles and Crack Dip have been the biggest successes!! 🙂 All I can say, is keep up the great work!!

  14. I make TOO many of your recipes and have TOO many waiting to be made! Thank you for your blog and what you bring—and I am having a blast with Weekend Potluck—if only I would read the directions and do it right! 😉

  15. I love coming to your blog everyday and finding new recipes or pictures of your sweet family, but I can totally understand how you might wonder when no one is commenting! It’s one of those funny blog-world things where since I have been following your blog for so many years I feel like I kind of know you, but you would have NO idea who in the world I am, so I hesitate to comment. But hey, I can change that!
    I have made several recipes over the past couple years, but we try not to cook a lot with canned soups or cream cheeses (medical reasons) so that rules out a lot of your best looking recipes 🙂 But recipes like today’s are definitely ones we would make. Just want you to know how much I appreciate your blogging, and would miss you if you left!

  16. This is my absolute favorite blog. I read every day. I’ve tried MANY of your recipes. I like that they’re always “realistic” to make…especially for a wife who works full-time. My favorite posts, though, are the ones about child-rearing, marriage, family, and faith. You have so much wisdom. I wish you would write a book!

  17. I like your blog just as it is, but if you want to mix it up that’s fine with me too. Granted, I do not usually use your recipes since I am a bit of a healthy cooking gal. Don’t get me wrong, your recipes look fabulous, but I do quite a lot of healthifying if I want to re-create them. It’s just that I never mastered the art of portion control, so I can’t be trusted to share the finished products with friends and neighbors as your family does
    🙂 Having said that, I am familiar with the Monterrey Chicken recipe you featured today. Might have been in Taste of Home several years ago. Whenever my husband begs for this chicken, I add a bun or French loaf and make it into a sandwich. Even I will admit that it’s delicious!

  18. This recipe looks so yummy! I want to try it in the near future (once I can get gluten free soya sauce) I read your blog a lot and really appreciate it. Blessings to you as you raise your family!

  19. Well Honey..lookie there at ALL those lovely comments! I’m with you in wondering why I don’t get more comments too, but know you are doing a fine job. Your recipes are always family-friendly and amazing (I KNOW…cause I added 10 of them to my latest cookbook!=). And of course, your posts about marriage/family are always ‘spot on’ and I love reading them, and sharing them too. Keep on doing what you’re doing. It’s good to know that sometimes folks simply aren’t commenters…but I know how much that means to us bloggers. Thanks for sharing your insights and wisdom…and family times together. You are a very special gem in the crown of my life here on earth. Love you and all you share here. XO

  20. Hi Tonya,
    I started following your blog about the time you were having your “Come to Jesus” moment with Dale. I was very impressed with how you handled it. I was also amazed at some of the feedback you received, both critical and encouraging.
    I like a lot of the food you share. I don’t make all of it, but what I have made, my family generally likes.
    I don’t think about your blog until it shows up in my inbox. Then I open it first. I like you and your bog. I like the photos your share. I like that you are “real”.
    I don’t usually comment, so that is my failing. Like when one never tells their spouse or children they are loved, they sometimes end up wondering if they are.
    Sooo – I like your bog. Please keep posting as often as you can. Thank you!

  21. This is my favorite blog which I enjoy checking on every day. I really enjoy the pictures and family posts. Knowing you are doing this for the future of your children makes me sometimes feel like a stalker but I’m there anyway..LOL I have printed off more of your recipes than I have actually made but I’m kind of overly ambitious that way. Keep up the good work, Tonya. I enjoy your blog and your Facebook posts and look forward to many many more, however often you feel led to do them.

  22. Hello—
    I just wanted to say that I love your blog!
    I find it not only fun, but also very inspirational & the recipes are awesome!
    Keep up the great work.
    I usually don’t take the time to comment anywhere, but I wanted you to know that you are loved!
    Becky

  23. Ask and you shall receive…. I truly enjoy your posts and have used several of your recipes. However, I’m not the commenting type. I just don’t do it unless I have something very specific to say. So please know that no news from me is good news. If I didn’t like what you were doing, I’d unsubscribe. Keep up the good work

  24. I read all the other comments before writing mine. It’s kinda funny that I realized what I do a lot of times with comments is to give them a LIKE click. Obviously that’s not an option here so I need to make my own comment.
    I stumbled across your blog about a year ago. Spent a lot of time playing catch up on the previous entries. I have found it very insightful, entertaining, moving, thought provoking, faith building, and plain amazing. I see your transparency and honesty in sharing about the struggles in your life helping so many, but only because you lean completely on your faith to get you through. The best example you could set for others.
    We all have our stories to share, but don’t have the gift of writing, confidence or time to share in a blog such as this. I thank you for taking the time to follow what you believed God would have you do. One thing you need to remember is, there is soooo…… much here on the internet for us to read and look at. If I commented on everything I read I would only get a fraction of it read. All the available information can become overwhelming.
    The fact that I happen to live in the same area as you adds a personal touch for me. It’s like we are neighbors, even though you don’t know me. You know how it goes, I know others that you do know. The world of facebook has made all these connections possible. Sometimes I don’t know if it’s good or bad. Are we all spreading ourselves too thin, so to speak?
    I have to agree with some of the previous comments. Don’t compare yourself with any others. Crazy, how we do those things that we know aren’t in our best interest. Gee, I guess we’re human like that.
    You do an excellent job with what you do. I eat a bit differently, no grains and very, very little sugars. Most recipes shared, (although they look wonderful), just aren’t something I can use. There is that time element I mentioned. I’m on here checking out a lot of grain, and sugar free recipes.
    You have a gift and you are using it for the greater honor and glory of God. That’s all that He expects. The Lord has not called us to be successful, He has called us to be faithful. My humble opinion is that I see you as very successful in many areas of your life. I most appreciate the job you are doing with your little ones and in your marriage. I see the break down of the family, as God intended, as the biggest detriment to our society as a whole. Most of all I see you as being faithful.
    Keep up the good work He has started in you, my friend of friends. All that really matters is that in the end you will hear Him say, Well done good and faithful servant.
    Blessings!

  25. Tonya,
    Please know even if I don’t comment very often…you are the one blog that I check out EVERYDAY. Love your posts and have since I discovered your blog. Your story has not only helped me try to be a better person but also my sister who has gone through her husband having not one but two affairs.
    Keep up the good work…I am the 1 you write to everyday.
    Missy

  26. I know you did not want to compare, but it’s a sign of a hard worker that wants feedback on how he/she is doing the job he/she set out to do. I can see that we all seem to love your blog. I do agree that the add-a-comment section should be at the end of your post. I also like the suggestion from C. about weaving personal narrative through your recipe posts. And, on a selfish note, I would seriously miss reading you daily if you cut back your posts. 🙂

      • Ok, so if you immediately click on the post title when you open my page, THEN scroll down to read, the comment box is at the bottom. If you stay on the plain “4 little Fergusons” general page, all blog posts are listed out in a long row, then the comment is only WAAAY at the bottom, or at the top next to the title. I am going to see if maybe partial posts with a “click to read more” would make the general page more user friendly or not.

  27. Good morning, Tonya! I very much enjoy your blog and following you on Facebook. I have made some of your recipes and they have not disappointed (even that gouhlash sp? – hehehe). That being said, I enjoy the “whole” content of your blog, not only the recipes. You are a gifted story teller. I know you already know this (from reading today’s post) but I have to remind you that your audience is YOURS and the other blogger’s audience is HERS. How boring would life be if we were all the same with the same likes and dislikes and the same words to say? I believe that God led all 3,000 of us to your blog because you are saying what He wants us to hear. It could be that many have experienced heartbreak and that’s how we found you. You know from personal experience that when your heart is broken, there aren’t many words to say. Take comfort in knowing that God has led you on this journey thus far and the He will see you through it. He has led most of your readers to this little piece of the world wide web because He always knows what’s best for each one of us individually. Be blessed 🙂

  28. Hi T!
    I enjoy your posts EVERDAY. You share your family, photos, food, inspiration, the Lord, and some craft projects. I come here because it’s such a good mix. Keep up the good work and thank you for being you.
    Julie

  29. Love your blog! I’ve shared it a ton with friends and family! I don’t comment a lot because I never know if people read them or not! But I will Start! PS this dish looks DELISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  30. Tonya,
    Love your blog and frequently make your recipes for my family. Your blog is the only one that I read everyday and I use it to give me new ideas as I menu plan each week. Thanks for sharing your heart with us!

  31. Hi Tonya! I’ve never commented before but I read your blog often…I look forward most to your posts on parenting and life in general. :o)

  32. Hey there young lady! I do love your blog. It is one of the very few that I read on a consistent basis. I print recipes all the time–some of them are yours. I’m not sure if I’ve made any of them. Since I live alone, and it is hard to cook for one, I save the ones that really look interesting for the church potluck dinners I get to attend.

    You are doing a great job. Keep up the good work!

  33. I love your blog! Your kids are absolutely adorable. I actually just tried one of your recipes over the weekend for Pepsi Chicken. It turned out great and we will be having it again.

  34. I greatly enjoy your blog! Love seeing your posts on family, being a stay at home mom photos & your charts. I don’t enjoy to food posts as much. But I think your doing an awesome job keeping up with your blog and being goal oriented.

  35. As a new blogger…this really hit home! How can I expect people to comment on things I am posting if I don’t respond to things I’m READING myself! Love your recipes, pictures of those beautiful children and any story you feel like telling!

  36. Hello! Just chiming in to say that I really enjoy your daily posts – both the recipes and the family related content. I don’t usually comment on blogs, but when a post catches my eye, I then go to your blog and “catch up”! Blessings to you and your family.

  37. The Monterey Chicken is a big hit-I made it tonight 🙂 And I do love your blog…not fair to you, but I just don’t take time to comment. 😦

  38. I’d say you got your wish for feedback. I think I speak for a lot of us out here that absolutely love your great mix of real life, honesty and new recipes. I try to read every day, since it’s the only blog I really follow, make recipes as I have time to try new ones…. I vote for keeping on keeping on!!!

  39. Although the photos are always lovely and I’m sure the food is delicious, I tend to skim over the recipe posts. Personally, I’m a fan of stories. There is an abundance of tasty-looking recipes on the internet, so the posts you write that I enjoy most are the ones where you share a slice of who you are. They have a much more personal touch.

  40. I read every day, Tonya. I love seeing your recipes….don’t always make a lot of them because I’m usually just cooking for the two of us, but I do make some of your dishes to take to small group etc.. In fact, I’m going to go looking for a chicken dish for next week to take. I love, love, love hearing about your family and your precious kiddos. I always wonder if they have developed such wonderful taste buds from all the variety of foods you feed them….no fussy eaters in your house. But mostly, I love your testimony of what our Lord has done in your life….He is good and He is Able to far more than all we ask or imagine. Keep spreading the Good News.

  41. Oh my look at all of the feedback you got….
    I have to say I LOVE your blog Its like a breath of fresh air to me each and everyday!
    I follow not only your blog but your FB and Pinterest to I love the mix of what you post and enjoy every single one of them!
    I have not been around as much this summer as I had decided to spend as much time as possible enjoying time OFF of the computer other then some evening time.
    I try to comment after every post I read even if its a quick note just to let you know I was here I think I owe you that just for brighting my day with a post !
    Thank you again for being such a loving, sharing child of God and many times making this Grandma stop and think twice!
    Keep on posting my friend we all appreciate you!!

  42. I really appreciate your blog. I usually only glance over the recipes you post and I hardly ever look at the Friday potluck. I try to cook with as few processed foods as possible and it seems like a lot of the recipes have at least one. Also I cook basically dairy free so that eliminates a lot of the others. Having said that I love the other topics you write about. Sometimes I struggle with comparing myself to you with how cute your decorating is, how cute you dress and how well you parent but I usually don’t let myself dwell too long and just try to take only what God would want me to. There are so many ways I feel like we are similar that sometimes I wish I could take a trip down to Kansas and hang out with you in real life! Your encounter weekends sound similar to weekend retreats we are involved in called Tres Dias. Anyway, I am kind of rambling but just want you to know I really do appreciate you and I enjoy looking at your blog every weekday!

  43. Your blog came to me at a time when I needed it the most and for that I thank God and his guiding hand. We have e-mailed a few times, and your genuine, friendly responses were very much appreciated. I love the recipes, but mostly I love your testimony. The glimpses into your personal life and seeing all God is doing in your family’s life is what I enjoy reading. Plus, I love to see your photography!! My sweet husband bought me my first ‘fancy’ camera (Nikon D3200) and I can’t get enough of taking pictures with it. I actually wouldn’t mind hearing more about that side of your life occasionally too…maybe photo ideas, editing tips, etc., 🙂
    So, I say keep the recipes and family stories coming and I will try to find the time to comment more often. Seems like a fair trade 😉

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

