Coleslaw Poppyseed Chicken Wraps

When I saw this wrap on Weekend Potluck, I knew it was going to be printed and made SOON!  I love all the recipes I find over at On the Home Front!

Now, honestly? I thought Dale would HATE this wrap.  I try not to make things very often, that I know he will hate.  I mean Poppyseed is sweet by nature, and he is not a sweets fan!

I also knew he would HATE the pineapple. He is silly like that and has a “No fruit should be served with any other food” Rule.  I left the pineapple out just for him, the kids and I just added it to our wraps before serving.  See how nice I am!? 🙂

And guess what!?  Everyone thought they were DEEEELICIOUS! EVEN DALE!

It actually remined me a teensy bit, flavor wise, of this Crunchy Poppyseed Chicken Salad I make in the summer.

Crunchy Poppyseed Chicken Salad

Coleslaw Poppyseed Chicken Wraps

Adapted from the lovely On the Home Front Blog

{click title to print}

Coleslaw Poppyseed Chicken Wraps

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Chicken Breasts
  • 16 ounces, fluid Poppyseed Dressing
  • 10 ounces, weight Bag Of Angel Hair Coleslaw Mix
  • ½ cups Of Either Shredded Carrots Or Broccoli Slaw
  • 1 whole Red Pepper, Seeded And Diced
  • 20 ounces, weight Pineapple Tidbits, Drained Well
  • ¾ cups Sliced Toasted Almonds
  • 8 whole Wheat Tortillas

Preparation Instructions

Thaw and marinate the chicken breasts in 1 cup of Poppyseed dressing.
Drain marinade and grill until no longer pink.
In a large bowl, combine angel slaw, broccoli slaw, red pepper, and pineapple. Toss with remaining poppyseed dressing until nicely coated. Refrigerate until serving time.
Slice grilled chicken and fill tortillas with slaw, chicken pieces, and sliced almonds. Roll and eat!

~T

11 thoughts on “Coleslaw Poppyseed Chicken Wraps

  1. That is pretty funny about Dale. My husband would be fine with the pineapple but does not like nuts combined with other foods except in cookies and banana nut bread..go figure. This looks great and I will be trying it soon!

  2. MMMM good! My hubby only likes fresh pineapple…not canned, but I may have to try this anyway…and do what you did. I am wild about poppyseed dressing and this just sounds so yummy. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Works For Me Wednesday: Kitchen Curtain Makeover | 4 little Fergusons

  4. Oh yum… I don’t know that I have ever noticed”Angel Hair Coleslaw Mix ”
    I mean I just bought a bag of “cole slaw” mix whats the difference ?
    Another to try recipe !!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

