Texas Cowboy Pie

  From the 4 little Ferguson’s archives: Cook Once, Eat Twice: Pot Roast Edition!  We have made both dishes again recently, and remembered how much we loved them! 

  Yesterday we prepared an entire Pot Roast and used 1 1/2 cups in a Philly Cheese Steak Pizza.  Today we are using the leftover meat to make this amazing dish called, Texas Cowboy Pie!

Texas Cowboy Pie

{click title to print}

Texas Cowboy Pie

Ingredients

  • 3 whole Large Potatoes
  • Milk, Sour Cream, Butter, To Taste, For Mashed Potatoes
  • Leftover Pot Roast {we prepared this in yesterdays post}
  • ½ cup or more Your Favorite BBQ Sauce
  • 2 cups Shredded Cheese
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste

Peel and cube the potatoes into uniform sized cubes. Put potatoes in a pot. Cover potatoes in water and boil them, uncovered, until soft (this will take 10-20 minutes – use your fork to test). Drain liquid, reserving one cup of the liquid. Mash the potatoes until no lumps are left, adding potato liquid as necessary to reach your desired consistency. Stir in sour cream, butter and/or milk, as well as salt and pepper, to taste. Spread warm potatoes in the bottom of an 9×9 pan. I used my circle baker from Pampered Chef.

Mix BBQ sauce with leftover cooked, shredded beef roast (you needed 1 1/2 cups for your Philly Cheese Steak Pizza) and layer it on top of the potatoes. Top with cheese and bake for 15 minutes at 350F.

Texas Cowboy pie (1)

This is a delicious way to use leftover pot roast! You won’t believe how awesome it is!

~T

texas cowboy pie collage

6 thoughts on “Texas Cowboy Pie

  1. I don’t think that I have ever cooked a pot roast in the whole 9 yrs. we have been married! How can that be?? When I came from a home that had it for Sun. lunch almost EVERY week?!?! I think it is about time I make one! Now I have 2 recipes to use it in!;)
    Thanks again,
    ❤ and {{hugs}}

    • Ugh. My mom went through a faze like that too. We had it EVERY SINGLE SUNDAY! Can you tell I am anti-repeating foods? LOL 🙂 In 3rd grade, I used to get permission to make it into a Bbq sandwich to “change it up” a bit. Little did I know, this view on food was going to be in me for life.

      • Maybe that is why I have not made it all this time! I think also that the time period that our moms were in there was not the variety of foods that we have now.:)So, that led them to make the same dishes over and over again. I am so glad that you are a “anti-food repeater”!!! I love coming over here for a new way to make a meal taste good for my family! You have been my inspiration for this week. I am trying to make different foods this week. Different then what we eat every week!
        Thanks girl! ❤ ya!!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

