Chicken Challenge Day 1: Basil Cream Chicken Noodles

  We have turned into BEEF eaters.  Once we found Grass Fed Beef, there was no turning back I guess. 

  3 years ago? I made chicken almost every night!  Now? I am MAKING myself find some new chicken recipes to put on here for you. 

Starting with this one:

Basil Cream Chicken Noodles

Basil Cream Chicken Noodles

  I adore Basil, so I knew right away this was what I wanted to start my Chicken Challenge with.  And Cream sauce? HELLO. You know how I feel about anything creamy.

  This recipe came together really easily, we all adored it, even Dale who is anti creamy food!  {how in the world did I marry someone anti-creamy foods?}
He loved the CRUNCH the Panko Bread Crumbs gave the final dish.

   I served this all over Grandma’s homemade noodles, oh man, it was INCREDIBLE! If you can find homemade noodles, do it! Otherwise, try a whole wheat angel hair or something similar.

  I got this recipe from my Mother In Law’s Taste of Home Chicken Cookbook, and changed it around to my liking.

Basil Cream Chicken Noodles

{click title to print}

basil cream chicken noodles collage

Ingredients

  • ½ cups Milk
  • ½ cups Panko Bread Crumbs
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ¼ teaspoons Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 6 whole Chicken Breasts (about 4 Oz Each)
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • ½ cups Chicken Broth
  • 1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 18 ounces, fluid Can Of Progresso Creamy Parmesan Basil Recipe Starters Cooking Sauce
  • ½ cups Grape Tomatoes Sliced
  • ½ cups Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 Tablespoon Dry Basil (or 1/4 Cup Fresh Minced)
  • 16 ounces, weight Angel Hair Pasta (buy Homemade If You Can, YUM)

Preparation Instructions

Place milk and bread crumbs mixed with salt and pepper, in separate shallow bowls.
Heat butter in a large skillet over medium high heat. Dip chicken in milk, coat with crumbs on both sides.
Cook chicken in butter for about 5 minutes on each side, or until a meat thermometer reads 170*. Remove chicken and keep warm in a low oven.
Add broth to skillet, bring to a bowl and stir to loosen browned bits from chicken. This will add wonderful flavor to your cream sauce!
Stir in the cream, Progresso cooking sauce and tomatoes. Bring to a gentle boil and stir for 1 minute. (we don’t want the sauce to scorch!) Reduce heat then add cheese and basil. Simmer for 10 minutes while you cook and drain your angel hair pasta.
To serve, heap plate with angel hair pasta, cover in sauce. Place a chicken breast on top of pasta and drizzle with more sauce.
Serve with a salad and garlic toast for a great and fast meal!

Chicken Challenge Day 1 is off to a GREAT start! Don’t you think?

~T

14 thoughts on “Chicken Challenge Day 1: Basil Cream Chicken Noodles

  1. Mmmm, this sounds good! We have been on the venison wagon for the last few months. Hubby was just out at the freezer and informed me that we have a LOT of chicken out there that we(I) should be using. I think I am going to try this one out!
    Thanks for sharing and keep the chicken recipes coming!:)

      • Hubby’s family used to raise pasture raised chickens and process them, themselves to sell. It is really nice knowing what goes into your chickens. But, be ready for the blood and guts!!!!:) If you have a weak stomach you better watch out!!! hehe!! My sister and I help them with turkeys once and she was not quite ready for it all!!!;)

      • Eeek! I know!!!!! I am TRYING to be a country girl, but phew, this is tough stuff. Dale says you can do wonders with a hanging construction cone for limiting blood mess. His aunt and uncle have a chicken processing plant, so at least we have someone for moral support. They are the ones that gave us the cone idea! 🙂

      • Tonya didn’t know my name wouldn’t show up. might make more sense if you knew I wrote that. Aunt Lucy 🙂

      • Glad you have moral support!!! I am really hoping that now that we have all this new land that we will be able to grow lots of our own food. I am looking forward to getting chickens for eggs and probably when they are older and not laying we will eat them!:)
        You will have to tell me about your experience when it happens! I so want to see pics too!!!!;)

      • We just looked online to figure out a way to tell who is laying and who isn’t. Our girls are a mess, between -5 degree days and having their eggs freeze, and before that, Dale flipping on a light for them and sending them into molt….we are only getting a few eggs a day from a LOT of chickens. Time to butcher and can some meat!

  2. Love us some basil at our house, wish they made it in air freshener so I could smell it more often! This recipe is making me rethink our plans for pot roast…..thanks for sharing!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

