Stitch Broke…Er, I mean, Fix!

   If you could see my walk in closet, you would deduct that clearly, I am a sucker for clothing.  I love to shop, I love to look at the latest trends and fashions….. BUT, I am a bargain shopper through and through.  And let’s be honest, I am a STAY AT HOME MOM.  I dress up once or twice a week, otherwise its leggings and a comfy top!

  Plus, I head for the sale section like no body’s business.  I rarely pay full price for anything, because I know if I wait long enough, it’ll be on the clearance rack!

  I once waited on a pair of GORGEOUS red Jessica Simpson boots for an entire winter and into the summer so I could get them for around $10 instead of $150+. 

I think I am a few months preggo with Avery in this pic?????  Nope, my friend Heather says it was Pax. I don’t know what I would do without her. She can even remember how many clicks I had last summer at the wedding we shot together. I am like, We shot a wedding together?!  Haha, ok not that bad, but pretty bad!
pregnant with Pax

  So when I heard about Stitch Fix, I wondered if it would be a good fit for me?

  I loved the idea of a delivery RIGHT to my door whenever I asked! And I loved the fact that you don’t have to commit to monthly, you could only do this once a season, once a month, or once a year if you wanted to.

  I committed to try it 3 times and see what all the fuss was about.

Fix #1:

  Everything arrived in a neatly packed, oh so lovely box, with tissue paper and a personal note from my stylist! 

  She actually went to my Pinterest board to research my fashion likes. WOW! 

  Every Stitch Fix comes with a style guide so you can get ideas how to wear your 5 new pieces.

stitch fix 1

Here is what came in my box:

stitch fix 2

  Right away I could not believe how NICE and high quality these items were.  Way nicer fabrics then my bargain shopping ways can provide!! 

  I also really liked the fact, that these items were things I would not necessarily rush to try on, but you know what?

I loved all of them except the skirt pictured below!!!  This is going to be great for pushing me out of my comfort zone!

  I opened up my receipt to see what came next……..  

Yikes. 

  Clearly I cannot afford to pay these prices on a regular basis, nor can I justify them because I am not dressing up daily for work. 

  I picked ONE splurge, the white one for $48, even though I reallyreallyreally wanted the blue tulip one, and even the blazer.  Oh man, it was lined in navy and white stripes, and was SO luxurious!!!!   It would’ve been gorgeous with skinny jeans and cute heels!  {sigh} I still miss it.

  Returns are easy, simply pack everything back up in the provided, postage-paid bag, and plop it in your mailbox. 

Easy peasy!

  Here is the last skirt, the fifth piece. I hated it.  Haha!

  BUT, if you love everything, you get a nice discount……$72.50 in this case.stitch fix 3

  Waiting for you in your email, is a link for you to fill out what fit, what didn’t, what you loved, what you hated.  It’s short but thorough, and every answer you give, helps them do better next time.

Stitch Fix #2:

  Stitch Fix two was a total bomb.  I hated every single thing in here, so I didn’t even try it on for you.  I was frustrated and made sure I said so in my survey!!!! 

stitch fix 5

Stitch Fix #3:

Fingers crossed they will redeem themselves!  I had to photograph inside this time, because it was totally nasty and drizzling out.  I couldn’t wait for a nicer day, because you do need to be prompt in trying on and returning, or you will be billed for all items.

    I hated the yellow cardi and grey skirt on the left, but loved the maroon top on the right!stitch fix 4

  The above plaid in navy and hunter green, reminded me WAY too much of the 90’s color scheme of hunter green, maroon and navy, so I returned that one, but I am gaga in love with the vintage lace chevron dress!!!  I will mostly wear it with leggings and those boots for appropriate sake, but for Dale’s awards banquet, I did wear it as a dress with tights.

  

IMG_4062

  They listened to my price tag grumblings too, because this Fix was much closer to budget. 

  I haven’t gotten any jewelry, or bags in my fix yet, but it is possible!  I think my favorite part is opening the box to see what BEAUTIFUL surprises they sent me!

  I will totally do Stitch Fix again, it’s just something I am going to have to budget ahead for.  I have never owned such high quality, luxurious clothing!!!!

  If you want to try Stitch Fix, please use my referral link and give it a whirl. 

You can try it once, or once a month, YOU set the schedule.

Just go fill out your Style Guide and let the fun begin!

stitch fix screen shot 

GENERAL INFORMATION from the STitch Fix Site

What is Stitch Fix?

Stitch Fix is a personal styling service. You tell us your style, size, and budget preferences, and we send you a package of stylish goodies to try on at home. Each Fix is unique and hand-picked just for you.

How does it work?

 Sign Up and Complete Your Style Profile
After signing up you can start immediately on your Style Profile. We need to know your size, shape, style, budget, and lifestyle to get your Fix right. The Style Profile will take about 10 minutes to complete.

 Schedule a Stitch Fix

Pick a shipment date, and we’ll send you a box of 5 clothing and accessory items we’ve hand-picked just for you. You can even opt to schedule a monthly delivery if you’d like.
You pay a $20 styling fee when your stylist selects the items in your Stitch Fix. This $20 fee will be applied as a credit toward anything you keep from your shipment.

Try On All Of Your Items

Try on everything we send you—you never know what you’ll like until you see it on. Pair each piece with items already in your closet to try different outfit options. Each item includes style cards with ideas and inspiration on how to wear it.

Decide

Take 3 days to decide what you’ll keep. Return the items you don’t want in our pre-paid mailing bag at any USPS mailbox.

Check Out

  Login to your account and pay for those items you kept. If you buy all 5 items you save 25% off the entire shipment price.
  Don’t forget to give us feedback on your Stitch Fix shipment—our secret (styling) sauce gets better over time if we know what did and didn’t work for you.

What types of items might you send me?

Right now, we carry a wide and varied inventory that includes shirts, sweaters, pants, skirts, dresses, jackets, scarves, jewelry and bags. As we grow, we will add new categories but now this is what you can expect from us!

How is Stitch Fix different than traditional shopping?

Stitch Fix takes the hassle out of shopping and gives you the added benefit of having a trained stylist pick out perfect pieces just for you. Using Stitch Fix means:

  • no more circling the parking lot to find a spot
  • no more pushy sales people
  • no more dirty, poorly lit fitting rooms
  • no more annoying trips back to the store to return items that you change your mind about

Plus, Stitch Fix saves you gas money and hours of time!

Who can use Stitch Fix?

  • We are able to offer our styling service to women located in the United States. Right now, we are able to style women sizes 0/XS–14/XL due to the sizes available from the brands we work with. As we grow, we hope to be able to offer more sizes.

We could all go Broke with Stitch Fix, but with careful planning, I think this could be an amazing way to add some high quality unique and GORGEOUS pieces to your wardrobe!

  Happy Stitch Fixing!  Please use my referral link and have FUN!

Hugs, T

 

28 thoughts on “Stitch Broke…Er, I mean, Fix!

  1. Ohhhh! I think I now have something to ask for, for Christmas and Birthdays!!! How fun. I LOVE surprises in the mail and clothes…….what more could a girl ask for to come in the mail. I HATE trying stuff on in the stores.( I ALWAYS get the clerk that thinks they need to be at my door asking every 5 sec. if I need something different! AHHHHH!) So, this would be GREAT for me. Hubby would like it too. He is not big on sitting and waiting for me to try things on.;)
    Thanks for sharing! I am off to go and check it out.:)
    ❤ and {{hugs}}

  2. Tonya, I was just reading your fb feed on the side and was wondering what recipe you used for the kale chips? I love new “healthy” recipes!!! I don’t care for it in smoothies but, I think the chips would be a great way to get it in us!!!:)

  3. This is so cool! I love to shop, but lately I cannot keep up with a whole day out. So this is perfect, and love the element of surprise! Sounds like a win/win to me.
    BUT, I wanted to give you credit for me signing up-I clicked on the referral link and it asked how I found the site, but there was no where to actually give your name. Did I miss something maybe??

  4. I think all the clothes looks really good on you (except that first long skirt…way too long). I am curious, does the same stylist do the box each time?

  5. I’m a little sad you didn’t keep that gray skirt. I like the yellow sweater too, but I understand that yellow sweaters aren’t for everyone. Still, the skirt looked very retro-classy on you. Stitch Fix looks fun!

  6. Tonya-I see your name now at the top when I click on the first link. That’s the one I used when I signed up, so hopefully I just didn’t see it then and you got credit. If you don’t, let me know and I will email them!

  7. You rock the yellow cardigan! It’s my favorite of all the outfits you posted! Think it goes well with your hair, skin color and the skirt!

    • I can try! Some of it is filling out what I think of photos they show me, so I can’t share that part.
      How would you characterize your personal style?
      Bohemian Chic: this style is me to a tee!
      Classic: I sometimes like this style
      Glamorous: this style is me to a tee!
      Romantic: this style is me to a tee!
      Casual Chic: I frequently love this style
      Edgy: I sometimes like this style
      Preppy: I sometimes like this style

  8. Since having kids I’ve dreamt of a personal shopper! Thanks for “testing” the service and for a thoroughly post! FUN!

  9. You were a few weeks preggers with Pax in that top picture by the way! I know this because they day you posted that picture announcing your pregnancy we found out we were preggers with Meadow but did not announce it for another 8 weeks LOL!!

  10. Pingback: A Fashionista Wannabe In A Stay At Home Mom World | 4 little Fergusons

  11. Pingback: Shopping With Stitch Fix | 4 little Fergusons

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

