Snow Day & Buttered Kale Chips

  Yesterday we had a SNOW DAY!  I love having everyone at home.  And guess what!? We get to be home together today too!!!!  🙂  Here are some photos for you to see, head on over to facebook to view.

Snow shot from facebook

  We had some leftover Kale from that yummy Potato Kale soup I shared on Monday, so we decided to brave a new recipe I have been eyeballing for Kale Chips!  I can’t believe I am saying this, to you, but Kale Chips are AMAZING! 

This kale chip recipe includes olive oil. Did you know that healthy fat eaten with a veggie increases nutrient absorption? Who knew eating healthy would be sooooo delicious?!

Buttered Kale Chips

{click title to print}

buttered kale chips (2)

Ingredients

  • 75 leaves (or More!) Organic Baby Kale
  • 1/4 cups Butter Infused Olive Oil, or more to taste
  • Coarse Kosher Salt, To Taste

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 275*.

Prepare Baby Kale leaves by removing the fat part of the stem, starting up in the leaf. This part is bitter! Place trimmed leaves in a bowl and drizzle with approximately 1/4 cup buttered olive oil, use more or less based on the amount of baby kale you are using. We just want a nice coating of oil on each leaf.

On a baking stone, place leaves in a single layer and sprinkle with kosher salt. Bake for *25-30 minutes or until leaves are nicely crisp, but not brown.

Allow to cool, then carefully remove to a platter and enjoy. You will not believe how crisp these get!

*If you do not have a baking stone and instead plan on using a baking sheet, flip each leaf over, and bake an additional 20 minutes to crisp the other side before cooling and eating.

Enjoy!  My family went through 2 batches of these in one sitting!!!!
~T

buttered kale chips (1)

9 thoughts on “Snow Day & Buttered Kale Chips

  1. I just wanted to say thank you for sharing your excitement over having your kids at home on snow days. My news feed has been jammed the last few days with parents who are griping about having to deal with their kids for more snow days.
    It’s encouraging to hear from a mom who is excited to spend time with her kids. 🙂
    Thank you!

    • Thank you! I meant every word of it. Families belong at HOME together, and I think that is lost in the busyness of this go, go, go world we live in. I also think lack of discipline shows up in these moments of mothers not wanting to be around their own children, because they are naughty, or will fight all day. We are the parents! Help them change it!!!! Teach early on to be respectful to others, to obey first time….I will stop there. 😉

  2. Looks like here! We are having lots of snow right now too! We have about 9 in. on the ground and it is still coming. Thanks for being so upbeat about the weather. It is so nice to hear rather then the doom and gloom about more snow! This is just one of the many wonders that the Lord has made for our enjoyment. Also reminds you how we have been washed as white as snow!:)
    Love your pictures! I would frame some of those and hang them on my wall;)
    Love and hugs set to you today! Enjoy your time with your family.
    Oh, ps…. I have not tried the chips yet but, I think we may give it a try today.I still have not gotten any kale but, I think that spinach will have to do.:)

    • I will be curious to hear how that goes! Kale leaves are very thin, like paper. So I am thinking you will have a fatter, cracker like “chip” in the end. Or some wilted spinach to use in a spinach artichoke dip! lol 🙂
      I ADORE snow and I ADORE having us all home, which is why I keep wondering why I don’t homeschool already, but I love the kids’ school, they are getting a great Christian education, so that makes it hard to want to leave.

      • I know, I could not have it any other way as far as having my kids and family home. I LOVE homeschooling!!!! But, if you have a really good school that they can go to that is great too! We might have thought about Christian school, but the only ones are about 1/2 hr. away. So, that would mean 2 hrs. of driving everyday!(Plus if you are calling the business I am the voice on the other end!);) Add that on top of school cost and it is very expensive. Sometimes I wonder if keeping my kids at home is a good thing because they are not with other kids. But, if you were to talk with them( they would be shy at first) you would know that they really have not socializing problems at ALL!!:)
        It is all about what you feel comfortable with. I was homeschooled so to me it is second nature. For others who have not been it is a bigger step to do. I think as long as they re hearing GOD’s word it is good.
        You are a great mommy and I know that your kids know that!
        ❤ and {{hugs}}

  3. I have been thinking about trying these. Does the butter infused olive oil come in a bottle, or did you just mixed melted butter with olive oil?

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

