Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

When its cold outside, and all I can see is white out of my window, there is nothing I love more than getting a pot of Soup on for supper.  When it’s cold outside, and all I see are brown, dead sticks outside my window, I still love soup, just not as much.  Haha!  🙂

Really though, I love how it makes the house smell, I love the sides you serve with soup, I love that I only have soup bowls, and a pot, to wash at the end of the day.

So, in order to maximize Soup Season, which at our house, starts in October and officially should end this week, I wanted to quick share one more, before we have to switch to more Spring-y foods!

My best friend called while I was menu planning and she says we have a Veggie Chowder we love and I think you should make it.  I agreed to try it, and it was WONDERFUL!

Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

from Taste of Home Magazine 2013

{Click title to print}

Cheesy Vegetable Chowder 2

Ingredients

  • ½ cups Finely Chopped Carrots
  • ½ cups Finely Chopped Celery
  • ½ cups Finely Chopped Onion
  • ¼ cups Chopped Red Pepper
  • 8 Tablespoons Butter, Divided
  • 4 cups Chicken Broth, Divided Use
  • 3 cups Fresh Broccoli Florets
  • 1 whole Potato, Peeled And Diced
  • ¾ teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce
  • ½ teaspoons Cayenne Pepper
  • ½ cups Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Fresh Cracked Pepper
  • 12 ounces, fluid Evaporated Milk
  • 4 cups Cheese, I Did A Mixture Of Colby Jack And Cheddar
  • 4 slices Bacon, Cooked And Crumbled

Preparation

In a large soup pot over medium heat, saute the carrot, celery, onion and red pepper in half of the butter until vegetables are tender. Stir in 2 cups of chicken broth, broccoli, potato, Worcestershire and cayenne; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer 10-15 minutes or until broccoli and potatoes are tender.

Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, melt remaining half of the butter over medium heat. Whisk in flour, garlic powder, salt and pepper until smooth. Gradually add in milk and remaining 2 cups chicken broth. Bring to a boil, cooking and stirring for 2 minutes or until thickened. Add cheese and stir until melted. Slowly add cheese sauce into vegetable mixture.

Cook and crumble bacon. Serve soup with bacon crumbles.

Enjoy!
~T

One thought on “Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

  1. Oh my, this sounds so yummy!!! If it was not for this yucky bug going thru our house I would be making this today!!!! It is going to be added to the soup recipe pile! 🙂 We are going to be having soup a little bit longer this year with building the house. I like to have warm meals for Ray when he comes home from working out in the cold or even just from being where there is no heat. So, maybe this can be added to next weeks list!
    Thanks for sharing.
    ❤ and {{hugs}}

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

