Canning Adventure: Bone Broth

  Dale and I had our 3rd ever canning adventure last month!  First time was tomato sauce, second was jalapenos, both were 2 summers ago.   Bad crop last year. Boo.

  This time we canned with a PRESSURE COOKER…

Oooooo!  Ahhhhhh!

  Step one: Figure out how to open the lid of the Pressure Cooker.

{sigh}

They put this warning on the Pressure Cooker for people like me.

IMG_4938

  Luckily things went uphill from there.

  You all, there is NOTHING better than the sound of those cans, pop, popping as they seal on the counter top.

  We used the following recipe for Bone Broth, minus the Chicken feet.

  Have you heard anything about Bone Broth lately?  Apparently, it is FANTASTIC for your immune system and can fight whatever ails you.  Plus, its just delicious.  And you can’t beat all those amazing fresh veggies and herbs that you soaked in there.

Here is what Dr. Mercola has to say about Bone Broth:

“Stock contains minerals in a form the body can absorb easily—not just calcium but also magnesium, phosphorus, silicon, sulfur and trace minerals. It contains the broken down material from cartilage and tendons–stuff like chondroitin sulphates and glucosamine, now sold as expensive supplements for arthritis and joint pain.”

Bone Broth—A Medicinal ‘Soul Food’

Simmering bones over low heat for an entire day will create one of the most nutritious and healing foods there is. You can use this broth for soups, stews, or drink it straight. Keep in mind that the “skin” that forms on the top is the best part. It contains valuable nutrients, such as sulfur, along with healthful fats, so just stir it back into the broth.

Wellness Mama has a great article that goes into even more detail of the why’s and how’s of it all.  Read it here.  It’s important you are getting your bones from a good source, like a local farmer who tries to avoid hormones and prescription drugs for his animals.

  I used her recipe as a general guide, making changes based on my veggie drawer findings and personal preferences.  The good news is, you really can’t screw this up by doing more or less of a veggie!

Note: I did not roast my bones first, because they were covered in meat still.  Plus, I read somewhere else, it can deplete some of the good stuff. 

  I also did a ton of garlic because I feel like it’s a fantastic immune booster. I left it in the whole 2 days, not the last 30 minutes, as listed in the recipe. And I left the peel on the onion. Just wash it first.  It’s a natural dye from back in the old days, and will give your broth a pretty color.

Click on the title to be taken to the recipe!!!!!!

Bone Broth

bone broth

  I slow cooked my bone broth on my stove top in 2 huge pots for 2 days.  Each pot had a steamer basket in it that housed the veggies, herbs and chicken bones.  I had 7 chicken necks and backs frozen from a summer BBQ that worked perfectly.  We bought the chickens from Dale’s aunt and uncle that time, but the next time I make bone broth, we will use the girls that are no longer laying in our coop.  It’s been 2 years and it’s time to “clean house” and start with a fresh group this Spring.  I’d also like to can some Chicken noodle soup! 

{Note to self: learn to make homemade noodles first!}

  After 2 days of simmering soup pots, (yes, night and day on low! I prayed angels of protection over my stove top when we went to bed!!!)  we consulted our trusty book that came with this free, new to us Pressure Cooker.

pressure cooker canning

You will need to do the same, so that you are canning, per your Pressure Cookers instructions.

  It took about 30 minutes per batch, and the end result for us was 14 Quarts.

I haven’t tasted this recipe yet, but I assure you, it smelled AMAZING!

You CAN Can, I mean it!  Just make sure you have the proper equipment and keep those jars and lids warm in the sink so they won’t break.  I put the rings in there because well, I felt like it?

{Shrugs}

  It was like 11 at night, who knows what I was thinking.  Cleanliness is next to Godliness?

Yeah, that was it.

IMG_4935

   I am praying for a good harvest this year from our Garden. I am ready to do homemade Spaghetti Sauce again, but I want to be able to preserve it instead of freezing it.

Garden-Spaghetti-Sauce-text.jpg

  Plus, its time for Tomato Sauce and Jalapenos, again..we are running LOW!  Guess it’s a good thing we are getting some practice in before a busy summer!

IMG_4330.jpg

  Alright guys, I know you can do this!  Be BRAVE! 

~T

15 thoughts on “Canning Adventure: Bone Broth

  1. You go girl!!!!! You are really getting this canning thing down. I am very proud of you!!!:)I am planning on trying to do more canning this year. I have my mom’s pressure cooker to use, but have never used it by myself!!!!(should be interesting the first time!) I really want to start making all my own stuff as much as I can. I feel so much better when I know all the ingred. that are in it.
    I have been seeing so much about bone broth lately. Now, I am going to save this post for later this year when I can, can my stuff.:) You have inspired me to get it all canned!:) Thanks for the push.;)
    Love and hugs!

      • Yes, we are all doing ok. My mom and sister-in-law helped me move out as much as we could yesterday. The rest is all the big stuff and things we need till we move everything on Sat. Hard to believe we are finally here at this point!
        Yes, I do get hubby to help with freezing and canning some. He is a BIG help when we freeze corn and green beans. He likes to run the bean frencher.(It was a hand crank one until he stripped the threads on it while using his drill to make it go faster!!! hahaha!! Guys!) Makes for good memories when you get them in the kitchen to help out with stuff!!!:)

  2. Good for you. I too have begun the adventure of canning and preserving this past year. I also love it when my husband gets involved. Which he does. I find it a great bonding experience for us. Keep up the good work. Your family will reap many benefits. Blessings!

    • Ooo, I would LOVE that!!!! 🙂 Dale’s grandma said she would show me and she said I will be shocked how simple it is in the end….
      Do you use a clean sheet on your bed? Or do you do drying racks for yours?
      We were told duck eggs make amazing noodles, which is perfect since we have 3 ducks! 🙂

  3. I LOVE canning. So fun! I can fruit for my kids & they’re so yummy. I’d never buy store bought again. Same with spaghetti sauce. The canned stuff is soooo delicious! 🙂 I was never a spaghetti fan until I canned my own sauce. Next up, I want to do born broth 😉 Will you be posting a recipe?

  4. Interesting! I follow Dr. Mercola also, not sure on all his advise but a lot is spot on I feel. I got a recipe for bone broth from my vet 6 years ago when I had a very sick kitty. I will have to check the recipe you used out. Then I guess you just use it in recipes calling for chicken broth? I guess if it is good for the animals it would be good for us too!

  5. Your broth looks fabulous, Tonya! Just a word of caution on the chicken noodle soup, though. The National Center for Home Food Preservation and the other “authorities” in this area recommend against canning (even pressure canning) with noodles. I have canned noodle-less chicken noodle soup, then cooked the noodles when I heat it up for serving. I think it has something to do with a) the density of the noodles/flour; and b) noodles have a tendency to go rancid. The Ball Blue Book is a fabulous resource. If you don’t have it, I’d highly recommend it. Have a great day.

  6. Canning broth!! Sweeeet! I was wondering if this was possible. I make a lot of broth, and freeze it, but it takes up a lot of freezer space, and is sometimes annoying to have to thaw it first, if I’ve forgotten to take it out ahead of time.

    I don’t have a pressure canner, though (well, I do, but it was Grandma’s and has the gauge broken off, which makes me a bit nervous!) Is it possible to do it with just a regular old canner? Like you used in this post https://4littlefergusons.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/you-can-learn-to-can/

    Or is the pressure canner necessary to get it hot enough to keep properly?

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

