Papa’s Homecoming

We spent last evening at Hospice House, playing cards, eating with family, just being together. Wondering how much longer Papa would hold on.

The night before last, Dale had a dream we sang around Papa’s bed side, and without him sharing this tid-bit with me, I turned to him before supper and said I felt like we were supposed to take the kids and sing in his room tonight.

 

We gathered around and prayed and praised, cried and hugged.  The children curled up on his chest and wept, telling him how much they loved him.  Even though he was no longer communicating successfully, we heard/saw him say ‘I love you’ to Avery.  Precious moments, as we ushered God’s very presence into that room.  We knew whether he went home last night or not, that would be the children’s official goodbye with him.  It was a good final page to a hard chapter in the story of our lives.

The nurse informed us it wouldn’t be long, so Dale and his siblings camped out at Hospice for the night.  Dale was sleeping in the chair, when he woke with a start, and said without even looking over at the bed, “He is not breathing!”

And he was right.  He got over to the bed just in time to see him go.

  Papa Don went home to see his Jesus at 3:50 this morning, March 25th, 2014.  

He simply breathed in, breathed out, then was gone.

Jesus met him at the gates, and welcomed him home; new body, new life, Paradise for all eternity.  And all the hunting and fishing he could ever ask for……

Papa hunting

I know this morning, our 4 little Heavenly Fergusons, raced over to greet their Papa, babies I have not been privileged to hold or meet.  But one day, one day we will be together again.

Thank you Jesus, for the assurance of Salvation, Heaven and a reunion one day, like none other.

Have you ever heard of Kat Kerr?  She has the most amazing things to share about Heaven.  We have been listening to her on You Tube every night.  If you aren’t excited about Heaven, listen to her and you WILL be!

You all, it’s going to be AMAZING!

Hugs, T

Don

48 thoughts on “Papa’s Homecoming

  1. Prayers for you all. You will miss his physical presence but as with my mother in law, his spiritual presence will feel very strong. I talk to her most everyday. Blessings!

  2. I am so sorry for your loss, but so happy he is home and happy and healthy and with Jesus. Reminds me so much of my own father’s last few days. How do people do life and/or death without Jesus. Prayers and hugs for your family. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  3. Tonya, what a beautiful epilogue to Papa’s story and our condolences to you, Dale, and all of the family in the loss of this very special man. The words you have shared with all of us as you watched and waited for Papa’s homecoming have been eloquent and touching as he made his journey to Heaven. Praying for all of you to celebrate the life of this good man with strength and comfort in the knowledge of our Lord’s promise of eternal peace. God bless you!

  4. My the God of heaven bring you sweet peace and comfort! Thank you for sharing this difficult but beautiful time with us.

  5. Even though we miss our loved ones when they pass, I absolutely love the reassurance we have that we will all meet again someday! When my mom was so ill it was His love and promises that got me through it. No more pain and suffering on earth, a new body with no sickness, and she could see again!!! Praise Jesus!!!! PaPa Don will be missed here on earth by many, but welcomed by Jesus above!!! WOW, what a beautiful picture!!! Love you all!!!!

  6. My deepest sympathies to your family. I am praying for you all at this difficult time. May his light be eternal. Today on “The Annunciation of the lord”, it is a special day. May he rest in Peace.

  7. Praying for your sweet family. It is so hard to say goodbye to a loved one. I have lost both of my parents. We grieve for our loss but rejoice with them…it hurts but it so sweet to know we will be reunited. Much love to your family.

  8. Tonya, I was able to finally get on the internet quick and I came here to check as soon as I did to see what was going on. You have been in my prayers and thoughts!!!! I am sending you LOTS of love and LOTS of {{hugs}}
    I am so glad that he is no longer suffering and is walking with the LORD today! And, that you all were able to say goodbye to him like you did.
    Hopping that your day goes well, praying for comfort and strength to you all.

  9. I lost my Grandpop just before Christmas, I feel for you. Love to your family at this difficult time. It’s so beautiful to know that your Heavenly babies are going to be with their Papa Don and share His embrace until you all are together again. Special hugs to your Earthly babies from Australia ♥

  10. I actually thought of you yesterday. I think because it was my sister’s youngest son’s birthday. We lost her to cancer 2 years ago. We went through a similar journey with her. Although some days I relive those last unbearable days with her in pain, I know she is at peace & with our mother & grandparents & Jesus. WIth deepest sympathy

  11. So sorry for your family’s loss, Tonya, but I know it’s a relief that he’s finally at peace. Hugs and prayers for you all right now.

  12. Oh, Tonya this brings happy AND sad tears to my eyes. Happy, SO happy he is in Heaven! Praise the Lord! Sad tears you all had to say good bye to him. I’m sorry friend. Love, maryann

  13. Thinking of you and your family Tonya! Praise God for memories and foot prints on our hearts to sustain us until we meet our loved ones again!

    Much love, Arianne

  14. I grieve for the deep loss you and your family are enduring, but I rejoice that he is at the feet of Our Heavenly Father. Even though we understand our loved ones’ passage into Heaven, sometimes it’s so hard to be without them! My Mom passed almost five years ago, and there are times that I still break out in sobs for no apparent reason.

  15. I’m so sorry about your loss. He looks like he was a fun person to be around! Isn’t it so good to know that He is made whole and brand new, and you will see him again?! Praying for your family.
    Blessings,
    Leslie

  16. Tonya, Please know that even though we don’t “know” each other face to face…your loss is felt by us. Thank you for allowing us a glimpse into your life with your blog. We are all here to stand with you in your loss. Each of us will hold each of you up in our prayers. Your family has such a strong understanding of how the Lord works and I am thankful that you pass that on to us with your posts so we can pass them on to others too that might not understand Him as well. Comfort and peace and love in the Lord!!!

  17. I live in PA and follow your blog, I continue to pray for your family. Your faith in god is a real inspiration. It truly must be a comfort to know that you and your family will see your father in law again in a much better place.

  18. God be very near and dear to you during this time. I think it’s just amazing how you took care of Don. The memories are a real treasure!

  19. I have been following your blog for a while now and you have a such a beautiful family! Deepest sympathies to you and your family as you grieve such a precious loss, but blessings on celebrating an amazing life and the goodness that is to come. God bless.

  20. I have been following Papa’s story . I am sorry for your family’s loss but praising God with you that he went to meet his savior. You gave your children such a beautiful gift regarding life by allowing them to experience Papa’s death. And the fact that if we know Jesus separation is only temporary. I will be praying for you and your family. Thank you for sharing.

  21. Hi Tonya,
    I’m so very sorry for your loss of Papa. That’s the name my grandkids had for my dear beloved late hubby, who passed away from cancer this past August. He never missed work and had 25 months of chemo. He was far too young, but The Lord had other plans. I miss him everyday, but look forward to meeting him again in eternity. Love and prayers to your family.

    • Sorry for your loss, Miss Kitty! Cancer is a tough road to walk. Where would we be without our Jesus and the hope of a reunion one day? I am so thankful we have that hope!!!! I know without a doubt, our loved ones will greet us at the gate with HUGE hugs! 🙂 No more sorrow, no more pain….

  22. I’m so sorry for your loss of your Papa. Hugs to you and your family, and prayers that you find comfort during this time.

  23. Prays for your family. Last March we lost my MIL to MS and a week later my father to cancer. It was a difficult time, but I know they are there waiting for us with no pain and big smiles! Bless you and your family.

  24. Pingback: There Is A Hospital Bed In My Living Room… | 4 little Fergusons

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

