Fun in the Florida Sun 1

  Summer is in full swing, have you all had a good one so far? Thanks for letting me catch my breath in June, it was so busy, I can’t fathom having done it any other way.

  We had a trip planned in March to go relax in the Florida sun over Spring Break. Unfortunately, this was also the same week Papa moved to Hospice, so needless to say, life came to a screeching halt.  The same week Papa Don went to Hospice, my dad, whom the kids call Papa Clay, was also diagnosed with cancer. 

  You better believe the last 3 months, all we have talked about, is getting down to see him.  We have just walked this path, and while believing for a miracle, know to make the most of every moment.

  God is so faithful, because let me tell ya, 3000 miles in the car with 4 kids, round trip, would be a LOOONG time on the road!  He knew we had been looking for a motorhome and He provided JUST in time for our trip!!!! And one we could pay cash for, miracle of miracles. I think you can always enjoy “Paid For” things better than anything you pay on monthly! 🙂

  I tell you what, I grew up traveling in an RV and it’s such a nice way to go with a family.  We made the rule, that like an airplane, you had to be seated unless you were going to the bathroom or getting a drink. Both the couch and the table bench, have seat belts.

  We left late at night, after I got home from the wedding I photographed. I worked really hard that whole week to get us packed so we could leave as soon as I walked in the door.  Ha. That didn’t happen, but an hour later, we were on the road.  The kids were BESIDE themselves excited!!!!  {me too}  road trip 1

They slept wonderfully, Dale pulled over at 1 in the morning to also catch some z’s.  6 am the next morning, we were back on the road again.  I even drove for a bit, so Dale could stretch his legs and get some coffee.  Then I fed him breakfast. That my friends, is service with a smile! Winking smileroad trip 2

   A whole day on the road, and another night in the RV, and we were in Florida!  road trip 3 

  First stop, Uncle Chad and Auntie Lauren’s house for breakfast!road trip 4road trip 5road trip 6
  If you look above, you will see a “cousins photo” sounded easier than it actually was, haha!road trip 7
The boys have changed so much since they came to see us last.  Destiny was in baby heaven!road trip 8IMG_6699  Another 3 hours drive time to get to Papa Clay & Grammy Drea’s house!  We got back on the road, just in time for nap time and quiet time!  The big kids don’t usually sleep at nap time, just read.  Apparently, motorhome travel makes you sleep, because they ALL napped each travel day!  Good thing I brought a bazillion library books to entertain them during quiet hour, they sure needed them.  😉road trip 9
We finally pulled into Dad and Drea’s and hopped out, so happy to be at our destination!  

IMG_6911

  As soon as I hugged my Dad, I burst into tears.  Just hugging him and sobbing into his shirt. It was SO SO good to see him in person, to see that he was smiling and ok.  It was good for the kids to see him active and smiling too.  They know what Cancer looks like, and I think they were fearing the worst.  Paxton had begun to ask if Papa was in Heaven with the other Papa or not.  To him cancer meant Heaven.  God knew we needed this trip.  We are all believing for a miracle harder than ever!

  First thing the kids wanted to do was SWIM! Drea was kind enough to watch them while I unloaded the motorhome with the guys, then BOOM! I cannon balled into the water with the kids.  Destiny’s jaw DROPPED! She didn’t think I would do it.

  They love it when momma swims AND gets her hair wet.  Isn’t that funny? I remember the same about my mom. We loved when she would swim AND get her hair wet.  It really is the little things that mean so much.road trip 10road trip 11

  Drea planned a delicious Mexican fiesta on the lanai, I couldn’t get over the nice weather and lack of bugs swarming us and the food!!
road trip 12road trip 13

Everyone was more than ready for showers and bed!  This photo was taken during family devotion time…road trip 14

   Everyone slept in a bit, and then bounced out of bed when they remembered, WE WERE IN FLORIDA!!!!!!!!!!

  And what better activity to do your first full day in sunny Florida, than to hit the BEACH!?

  This, my friends, albeit a bit blurry, is what pure, unadulterated joy looks like, Avery Style!road trip 15road trip 16

  Any pics lined in black belong to Drea, I figured that was easier than giving her photo credit every time.  Everyone should have a family member follow them around with a good DSLR camera, it’s the only way you get to be in your own vacation photos! Bahahaha!

drea 1road trip 17road trip 18road trip 19
Straight from Beach to Pool, this is the life!

  road trip 20

  Tylan was the master Lizard catcher our whole trip. Check out that teeeeeeny tiny baby one!
I held both of them thankyouverymuch, they were too adorable for words! They were ferocious little things, kept chomping my fingernails! 
road trip 21

A 3D movie and stories by Papa before bed.road trip 22

More to come tomorrow…
~T

6 thoughts on “Fun in the Florida Sun 1

  1. Glad to have you back! But, I am also glad that you were able to get a break for a while!
    Looks like you had a wonderful time in Florida! Praise God for Motor homes too! Looks like a nice one! What a way to travel. I am trying to get Ray on board with a driving one but, we really don’t travel enough to use it. So, in some ways we would be paying for something that we really don’t use. Hmmm, what to do!? Ya know?! 🙂 Oh well.
    Thanks for sharing and looking forward to tomorrow!

  2. I am SO glad you got to see your dad. He looks healthy!! I am praying for him and total healing! We serve a great and mighty God. Thanks for sharing all the pictures. It looks like you all had a great time!

  3. Oh how sweet! And fun! I could feel your joy in all those beautiful smiles! Amazing! that you had 2 with special cameras to take such awesome ‘shots’. SO glad you got to enjoy time away…and with your dad. And an RV to boot! God is so good!

  4. I just love your pictures and what you post!! Makes us feel like we could experience it too!! Great blog!! Thanks girl!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

