Tex Mex Brats & Beans and Nana’s Perfect Cornbread

This is post 2 for today, be sure to check out “Keeping It Local” for gift giving ideas in post 1.

 

I don’t remember when or how we came across this recipe years and years ago, but I can tell you one thing….you are going to LOVE this!

  Sweet BBQ meets smoky brats with a variety of colorful beans, all this topped with a bloop of sour cream and fresh snipped cilantro…A-MAAAAAZING!

  Tex Mex Brats & Beans

{click for easy printable}

  • 2 cans (15 Oz. Can) Northern Beans
  • 2 can (15 Oz. Can) Kidney Beans
  • 2 cans (15 Oz. Can) Black Beans
  • 10 whole Johnsonville Brats
  • 8 ounces, fluid Tomato Sauce
  • 1 cup Your Favorite BBQ Sauce
  • 1 can (4 Oz. Can) Chopped Green Chilies
  • 1 cup Salsa, You Decide The Heat Level
  • ¼ cups Brown Sugar

Drain and rinse beans. Slice brats diagonally in 1-inch pieces. Combine remaining ingredients in your slow cooker. Cook on low for 4 hours.

Just before serving, sprinkle with some cilantro, cheese and sour cream. 

You are gonna LOVE this!

Tastes great with Corn bread, and I just so happen to have a favorite Corn Bread Recipe to share with you, straight from my Momma’s kitchen!

Nana’s Perfect Cornbread

060

  • 1 cup flour (we used whole white wheat)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 1 t. salt

Preheat oven to 425*.  Mix dry ingredients well.  Stir in corn meal.  Beat eggs, then add eggs, milk and oil to dry ingredients.  Beat just until smooth.  Pour into 9×9 baking dish or deep dish baking stone. Bake for 15-20 minutes.  We grew up putting butter, honey or syrup on our cornbread.  It’d be good crumbled up in the above Brats and Beans recipe too.

~T

This post shared with:

Melt In Your Mouth Monday

Ultimate Beans & Rice Party

13 thoughts on “Tex Mex Brats & Beans and Nana’s Perfect Cornbread

  1. Oh my! Both recipes look wondermous! Hubs loves brats * beans (his nickname is Bean!), but not BBQ, so I normally get to eat BBQ when we go OUT to eat. Can I come to your house for leftovers tonight? ha – it’s fun to dream! =) I’m sure the cornbread is perfect with this bean dish too. I wish my photos would be nearly as good as yours! Have a marvy Monday and super duper week. XO

  2. Corey would love this… especially if he can add ghost chili to his!! Question: you don’t precook the brats? And I hear you on having to do photo’s inside at night.. I had to do that when I guest blogged because we never eat until 6:00 and it was already dark by then! 😦 Thanks for sharing such yummy ideas!

  3. Thank you for sharing my all time favorite cornbread. My mouth is watering for it right now. I love to spread it generously with real butter and pour on real Maple syrup. Daughter dearest, we need to tell everyone to bake it in a preheated 400* oven for 15 min. Enjoy!! Nana aka mom 🙂

  4. Pingback: Cheap Eats: Ham Bone Soup «

  5. Pingback: Taco Cornbread Pizza «

  6. Pingback: Tex Mex Brats & Beans and Weekend Potluck #44 |

  7. Pingback: Gun Smoke Chili |

  8. Pingback: The Dairy Free Table {A guest post by Tonya Ferguson} | gracefullhome

  9. Pingback: The Ultimate Beans & Rice Recipe List

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)