The Best Italian Beef Sandwiches

  So I know I say this a lot, but the things I type out and present to you are “The Best” that I have found for that category of recipes so far.  (It’s always subject to change!)  So, with that being said, here we go:

  These Italian Beef Sandwiches, made conveniently in the crock pot, are THE BEST shredded sandwiches I have ever had. 

EVER. EVER. EVER.

  We adore all the wonderful seasonings called for in this recipe.  If you stay home all day, beware, your mouth will be watering as you await the supper hour.  And you might be tempted to lift the lid and snitch, but don’t, you are stronger than that.  It’ll be oh-so worth it! 

  Oh, and no skipping the butter toasted bun and broiled provolone cheese, they are non-negotiable!  Yum.

  Without further ado…..THE BEST…..

ITALIAN BEEF SANDWICHES

(click on the title to be taken to TK to print)

  • 4 cups Beef Broth
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1½ teaspoon Black Pepper
  • 1½ teaspoon Oregano
  • 1½ teaspoon Basil
  • 1½ teaspoon Onion Powder
  • 1½ teaspoon Parsley
  • 1½ teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1 whole Bay Leaf
  • 2 envelopes Italian Salad Dressing Mix (1 Ounce Packets)
  • 3 pounds Chuck Roast, thawed 
  • 8 whole Wheat Hoagie Buns, 1 Side Buttered
  • 8 pieces Of Sliced Provolone Cheese
  • Butter for buns

Preparation Instructions

Combine broth with salt, ground black pepper, oregano, basil, onion salt, parsley, garlic powder, bay leaf, and salad dressing mix in a saucepan. Stir well, and bring to a boil.

Trim fat and place roast in slow cooker, and pour salad dressing mixture over the meat. Cover, and cook on Low for 10 to 12 hours, or on High for 4 to 5 hours. If cooking on low, at the 8 hour mark, remove bay leaf and use two forks to shred the meat, and then leave lid off for the rest of the cooking time (if cooking on high, do this with about 1/2 hour left); this allows the juice to soak into the meat.

Serve shredded meat on toasted hoagie rolls. On a cookie sheet, put your desired amount of meat on the roll bottom, top with provolone cheese. Butter top piece of bread and lay butter side up in the same pan. Broil everything for just a minute to melt the cheese and toast the top bun. 

Assemble sandwich and….enjoy!!! Serve with seasoned tater tots and carrot sticks.

 

Enjoy! It’s so stinkin’ incredible!

~T

 

 

39 thoughts on “The Best Italian Beef Sandwiches

  1. I made these for dinner tonight and they were delicious!

    I have to say I was worried if I was going to like them or not since in our area Italian Beef is made with fennel and green peppers and also always from a Sirloin tip roast :)..
    But you made them sound so good and the photos looked just mouth watering so I went ahead and gave them a shot.
    I was happy I did and my husband loved -loved them too!
    Still not sure I would call them Italian beef ( around here 🙂 ) but delicious Beef sandwiches for sure.
    Thanks so much for sharing a keeper recipe.
    Diane

    • I am proud of you for trying it anyhow!!!! 🙂 Hmm, a new name for your sandwich: Shredded provolone beef? Hmm, that sounds like the cheese is shredded. A-stinkin-mazing Easy Shredded Beef Crockpot Sandwiches? That’s a mouth full! Guess I got nothin’! LOL 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment and letting me know what you thought, I love to hear from readers! Have a great weekend! ~Tonya

  2. How funny this thread should pop up again right now since it has been on my mind to leave you another comment..
    I just wanted to let you know that this recipe that we have so lovingly named “Cheesy Beef Sandwiches” has become a family favorite for sure:)
    I have made it several times sinces my last comment it is my new go to beef sandwich recipe!
    Thanks again for this delicious recipe !!

  3. Pingback: Spoon Burgers & Brain Clearing «

  4. YUM! It was SOOOO good! We all loved it (The husband and two boys). They all gobbled them up after football practice. The only change I made was I used light hamburger buns because it was all I had. I buttered them (kinda defeats the light buns, but I wasn’t going for low cal here) and did everything you said and it just made for smaller sandwiches. Some of us ate two. Not that I would ever tell who…..

    Thanks so much. This is going in my rotation!

    • P.S. No judgment here towards the um, individuals who will remain unamed, that had 2 small sandwiches. You tell them that certain someone’s around our house like them so well they eat two Hoagie sized sandwiches with little to no effort.

      • Thank you, and also don’t mention I served it again tonight. BUT I added steamed veggies on the side so I am pretty sure that cancels out any butter or cheese.

        My husband walked in and saw the sandwich waiting for him (he’s off to practice) on the cookie sheet, with cheese already melted, and he cheered. Arms up and everything.

        Off to look at other recipes now!

      • LOL!!!! I love it!! Yes, veggies totally cancel out the butter and cheese. Ooo, so many yummy choices. Be sure to check out Man Casserole, Taco Pie & Vietnamese fried rice…those are practically top 3 around here. Oh and Korean Noodle bowls.

  5. Pingback: 2011 in review «

  6. Pingback: The BEST Italian Beef Sandwiches & Weekend Potluck #42 «

  7. This is great but it’s so salty!!! I modified mine the second time I made it and my husband said it’s perfect now! I don’t add salt AT ALL. The beef broth has enough! I use onion and garlic powder and not onion or garlic salt. I switch out the Italian mix for French onion mix and it’s AWESOME!!!! Seriously! Your rescipie altered to reduce salt is PHANOMINAL!!

  8. Made this for Christmas day. Absolutely delicious. Only revision I made was to add peperoncini slices and substituted one cup of beef broth for one cup peperoncini juice. This will definately be a recipe I’ll use over and over. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Pingback: May 4 – Three Food Holidays

  10. I made this Saturday night for my hubby and daughter. It was OMG! I have never had a Chicago style hot Italian beef sandwich before, and I don’t care. I will only make this recipe now. It was THAT GOOD!

  11. Recipe is good, definitely don’t skip butter toasted bread!! Also I have used Chuck and top round roasts and found top round roast to be better! Also it definitely needs BOTH salad dressing packets, I added a 16oz jar of pepperoncini (mild) removed stems and added all juice WAS REALLY better! melted sharp provalone Cheese …my family is in love with these! (I can’t do spicy but spicy peppers would zing it alot)!
    Thank you for posting!

  12. So excited to try this! Question is it 1 and 1/2 teAspoons of just 1/2 teAspoons on the spices? I did the 1 and 1/2. I hope it turns out as good as everyone says!

  13. Pingback: Slow Cooker Italian Beef Sandwiches – Cool Home Recipes

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)