Amish Cheeseburger Soup

I am guest posting at Marathon Mom again today, and I will be sharing this delicious Amish Cheeseburger Soup recipe plus several more, come see me!

~T

Amish Cheeseburger Soup

(Click recipe title for easy printable)

Amish Cheeseburger Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 pound Ground Beef
  • 8 Tablespoons Butter, Divided
  • 1-½ cup Carrots, Sliced or Roughly Chopped
  • 1-½ cup Celery, Sliced
  • 1 whole Small Onion Chopped
  • Fresh Parsley, Washed & Snipped
  • Basil, To Taste
  • 6 cups Chicken Broth
  • 8 cups Washed And Cubed Yukon Potatoes
  • 3/4 cups Flour
  • 2 cups Milk
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 16 ounces Velveeta or a more real cheese like 16 ounces extra sharp cheddar cheese, freshly grated is lovely
  • 16 ounces, weight Sour Cream

In a large soup pot, cook beef and onion.  Drain.  Add  2 tablespoons butter and saute carrots, celery right on top. After 10 minutes, add the chicken broth and cubed potatoes, reduce heat to a simmer and cook until potatoes are tender. (About 10 minutes)

In a saucepan, make your roux by melting the remaining butter. Add flour, salt and pepper to taste, and cook until bubbly, about a minute. Slowly, add milk and cook on medium, stirring constantly until thickened. Add cheese. Stir into the broth and veggies. Turn the heat to low and stir in the sour cream. Taste and add more seasonings according to your liking.

Top each bowl with a sprinkle of cheese and some fresh snipped parsley.

Delicious!

12 thoughts on “Amish Cheeseburger Soup

  1. Hey we use this same recipe but it’s called just “Cheeseburger Soup” and my family (especially husband) LOVE it!! Very tasty!! For a punch you can add bacon bits and that’s really good too!!
    Of course, I’m not cooking this week 😉 so maybe I’ll fix it again next week. I hear the cold is coming back!

  2. Looks so delicious but I to believe this is “my cheeseburger” soup non the less I have not made it yet this year so thanks for the reminder 🙂
    You can never go wrong with soup for any meal!

  3. We have made this so many times since you posted this originally! We made it once for Dave’s extended family and it was a huge hit! It’s a “repeat” at our house 🙂

  4. Pingback: Amish Cheeseburger Soup & Weekend Potluck #48 |

  5. I missed this recipe the first time around because I hadn’t found your blog yet (so glad I finally did!!) I will be making this soup this weekend! Sounds yummy! Thanks for another great recipe!

  6. Pingback: Amish Cheeseburger Soup | The Pajama Chef

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)