Italian Beef & Cheese Buns

  My momma used to make these for us when we lived in Phoenix. I LOVED it when I saw her hollowing out rolls, because I knew what we were having for supper. In fact, I SPECIFICALLY recall that for my kindergarten birthday, this is what I chose for family supper that night. (I also remember that I got 2 SUPER cool pair of leather high tops that night, in both black AND pink! Oh, I was in 1980’s heaven!)
These Beef & Cheese Buns were as good as I remembered; think lasagna filling inside a French bread roll!

Beef & Cheese Buns

(click title to print at TK’s website)006

  • 1 pound Ground Beef, With Salt And Pepper
  • 15 ounces, fluid Tomato Sauce
  • ½ packages Dry French Onion Soup
  • ½ teaspoons Basil
  • ½ teaspoons Oregano
  • 1 cup Cottage Cheese
  • ¼ cups Parmesan Cheese
  • ½ Tablespoons Italian Seasoning
  • 8 whole French Bread Rolls, Hollowed Out

Cook and season meat. Drain.
Add sauce, dry soup packet, basil and oregano. Simmer for 5 minutes, uncovered.

In a separate bowl, mix Parmesan cheese, cottage cheese and Italian seasoning.

Cut a thick slice off the top of each French Bread Roll, saving “lid”. Carefully pull out extra bread, leaving 1/4 inch walls. Press to create max room for filling.
004
Layer meat, cheese mix and  meat mixture until it’s gone.
Top with roll “lids” and wrap individual buns in foil.
Bake at 400* for 20-25 minutes. Dig in!
003
022
  I’ve never tried it, but my recipe says it can be frozen. Just heat for 60 minutes to thaw and cook. You may need to remove the foil for the last few minutes of bake time to pull moisture from the bread though.

Enjoy this unique and savory supper with a casear salad!
~T

Update 2021: We have teenagers now and are making this recipe with 1 pound hamburger & 1 pound sausage and doubling all ingredients. I am buying 18 pack of mini hoagie buns from the Sam’s club bakery section. I’ve also added a sprinkling of shredded mozzarella before closing each bun “lid”. YUM!

Just put a  nice scoop of meat, cottage cheese layer, more meat and mozzarella cheese to top. Place lid back on. Repeat with each bun.  You will have both the meat and cottage cheese mixture left, but no worries, use it in Spaghetti Bake or Lasagna later. Freezes beautifully!

We baked at 350* for 20 minutes or until center is warm, without foiling individual buns. (foil is SO toxic!)
Worked out great! I highly suggest these changes!

10 thoughts on “Italian Beef & Cheese Buns

  1. Pingback: Apple Ginger Chutney « Venison for Dinner

  2. Wanted you to know I linked up 3 favorite recipes to Foodie Friday…crockpot brownies, cranberry sauerkraut ;-} meatballs and WW Snickers Ice Cream Pie. Can’t wait to scour the photos already linked up….I’ll be doing lots of pinning today!

  3. So, just realized that I suck at this! Apparently I am so stuffed up with this cold that I couldn’t figure out that were it said name I should have put the name of the recipe not the name of my blog. Oops!! So for anyone interested #30 is Creamy Chicken Enchiladas.

  4. OK another goody to try soon!!
    I make something similar called stuffed bread but you use the full loaf…
    These look Amazing have a good weekend!

  5. Thanks so much for featuring my dip this week! That’s SO exciting! Thanks also for hosting this hop – I’ve linked up my Bloody Marys this week. They’d go great with your wonderful Beef and Cheese Buns!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)