Ham & Cheese Quinoa Breakfast Bites

  Can you tell I am on a breakfast kick?! This is day 3 of Breakfast recipes!!!! LOL 🙂

  My mom brought these delicious little bites to our house and we gobbled them up.  The recipe comes from So Very Blessed and it made our local paper!  You are going to love it.

Quinoa {pronounced KEEN-WAH} is a complex protein and so healthy for you.  I am slow to the Quinoa fad, because it was listed as one of the 2012 “Food Trends” people wanted to see go.  Oops. If you are one of those people, sorry!  My mom made Quinoa when I was a kid, and I just now remembered how tasty it was.

  Ham & Cheese Quinoa Breakfast Bites

Recipe adapted from So Very Blessed

Ham & Cheese Quinoa bkfst bites txt

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Cooked Quinoa
  • 2 whole Large Eggs
  • 1 cup Shredded Carrot Or Zucchini
  • 2 whole Green Onions, Sliced Thin
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Cilantro Or Parsley, Snipped
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Pressed
  • ½ cups Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 Tablespoons Flour, I Like White Wheat
  • Generous Amounts Salt And Pepper
  • ½ cups Finely Diced Ham

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Make Quinoa according to package directions. Mix together quinoa, shredded carrot or zucchini, eggs, green onion, garlic, cilantro or parsley if using, cheese, ham, flour, salt and pepper. Divide mixture between mini muffin tins, filling to the top. (about 1 heaping T. each) If not using fresh cilantro or parsley, sprinkle a little bit of dried parsley on the top of each mini muffin cup. Bake for 15-20 minutes.
Serve warm with salsa or ranch dressing to dip these tasty cups for a hearty breakfast!

I think next time I will top each cup with a little bit of Colby Jack cheese to make them cheesier! Mmmm!

~T

5 thoughts on “Ham & Cheese Quinoa Breakfast Bites

  1. Oh!!! I think I am going to have to try these out! I have been wanting to try using Quinoa for a while now and I have been afraid to do it. So now, with the really easy looking recipe I think I may get the courage to do so!:)
    Thanks for sharing it.
    lobe and hugs,Kristina

  2. They look great – awesome photo too. I am one of those slooooow to get on the quinoa bandwagon, but now that you’ve given me a great reason to try it, I’m adding it to the grocery list. I love breakfast foods! Thanks – Pinning!

  3. where do you find quinoa at in the store/?? I looked with Rice and pasta and couldn’t find it……………..?????

  4. Pingback: Recipes Using Leftover Ham | 4 little Fergusons

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)