Spoon Burgers & Brain Clearing

  Ten years ago yesterday, the world changed forever when the 9/11 attacks occurred. No matter who you are or where you’re from, never forget the lives lost and the sacrifices made on that day. 

wtc-9-11

  I was a nanny for 5 young children.  Their mom and dad had flown to Chicago and I was alone with the children for the week.  I remember being so scared at the large responsibility of these children’s lives.  I remember wondering what was going to be attacked next, was war going to break out all over the nation?!  Their parents were unable to leave Chicago as all flights were obviously cancelled until further notice.  I do believe after hours and hours of searching, they were able to find a rental car to start the long drive home.  Here is the Scripture passage that brought me comfort that weekend, as I prayed it over America:

  Psalm 35
“O Lord, oppose those who oppose me.
Declare war on those who are attacking me.
Put on your armor and take up your shield…come to my aid.
…..disgrace those trying to kill me;  turn them back in confusion.”

  It’s hard to understand why God would allow something like this to occur. 

“I believe God is deeply saddened by {9-11}, just as we are, but for years we’ve been telling God to get out of our schools, to get out of our government and to get out of our lives.

And being the gentleman He is, I believe He has calmly backed out. How can we expect God to give us His blessing and His protection if we demand He leave us alone?”

   May God have mercy on our fallen Nation as she defies Him at every turn.

images

Heavy thoughts to start a Monday, so a couple deep breaths and some happier notes before I go: 

 Thank you to my facebook friends for your prayers this weekend!  I shot my first ever wedding, interviewing for a “2nd Shooter” position.  It was SO much fun! Daunting, but fun. My hand is permanently in a camera shape though and I think I have like 4 blisters too! Shooting for 12 hours is EXHAUSTING!!!!! Kudos to you wedding photographers, no wonder you charge so much! 🙂

  All of the shots we took belong to the Photographer, so I turned over all the memory cards full of photos to her.  She said when they hit her website I could share them with you though! Here is a picture of my computer screen as we speak: 

IMG_4222

  I can’t wait to see the rest.  I’m nervously waiting “The phone call” where she critiques my work.  She’s a close friend of mine, so I know she’ll be gentle with me! 🙂

  The Food side of 4littlefergusons is growing, and I’m excited!  Last week, nearly 100 extra views from someone featuring our recipe for Italian Beef Sandwiches.  Man, are those ever good!!!!  If you haven’t made them yet, you are MISSING OUT! 

Over the weekend:

EVERYDAY SISTERS voted our Twinkie Cake top 3 for Yellow week. 

017_thumb1

Head on over and check it out.  These Sisters are always cooking up something good! Thanks, Everyday Sisters!

We were also mentioned at Sumptuous Spoonfuls Pizza Party, along with a bunch of other yummy ones that I need to try!

031_thumb1

Excerpt: “I don’t know how she did it with all the chaos in her household, but the 4 little Fergusons brought 3 kinds of pizza.  My favorite was the Herb & Garlic Asparagus Pizza….”

She was referring to the pizza in this post:  “Try My 3 Pizzas”. 

Hmm, how DID I survive that crazy night with my sanity in tact?  Just barely, if I recall!

Thanks Sumptuous Spoonfuls!

Speaking of food, I have a new, simple recipe for you.  I made these this summer when we just arrived home from 2 weeks in Florida.  As you can imagine, my cupboards were bare, and so was my fridge!! 

  Spoon Burgers were popular back in the 30’s during the days of the Depression. This is a simple supper and easy on the ol’ grocery budget. It was actually a delicious, filling meal!

Spoon burgers

Spoon Burgers

from Savannah’s Savory Bites

Ingredients
  • 2 pounds Venison, Bison, Beef Or Ground Turkey
  • Salt And Pepper
  • ⅓ cups Flour (I Did A Generous 1/3 Cup)
  • 2 cans (10 Oz. Size) Campbell’s French Onion Soup
  • Whole Wheat Rolls Or Small Hoagie Buns
  • Your Favorite Cheese, To Serve
Preparation Instructions

Brown meat with salt and pepper. Drain fat. Stir in flour. In a small saucepan, add soup and boil about 20 minutes to reduce liquid by half. Pour over hamburger and serve warm on whole wheat buns with your favorite cheese—Provolone, Havarti, Gouda, Swiss, Velveeta, whatever floats your boat!  Serve it up with french fries and a veggie and you are set!

  Welp, that’s it from here…. All blah’d out in one big, rambling post.  I gotta tell you, after that wedding, I AM WIPED OUT.  Thanks for letting me clear my brain!

Happy Monday!

~T

This post linked to:

Wonka Wednesday

This Chick Cooks

Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

5 thoughts on “Spoon Burgers & Brain Clearing

  1. We are having leftover Italian Beef Sandwiches for supper tonight-if you haven’t tried them they are delicious! I also made “Can’t Leave ‘Em Alone Bars” for a church dinner last night-only got to bring 2 home!

  2. You are really making me hungry right now!!! Have any spoon burger fixins’ at your house? If you do, I’ll be right over, if not, how about another piece of that fabulous, gotta have more peach pie? hmm…sorry I messed up your whole pie pic for your blog!!! Hope everybody understands…the smell was drivin’ your mama crazy!!

  3. Love the wedding shot! I have done a half dozen weddings or so myself and I do say, they are quite tiring! I much prefer to do the less stressful shoots like the one I did today – a super fun Senior Photos shoot…so fun, so carefree…bubbles and flip flops…need I say more? LOL

    The spoon burgers look so interesting that I will have to try them out and see what my carnivore husband thinks of them! LOL

  4. This is a great post and your Spoon Burgers are a real bonus! It is a great burger. Hope you are having a great week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)