Austrian Cream Cheese Bars

   I got an amazing cookbook for Christmas and I am super excited to start working through my 2 page list of recipes I want to try, but as always, I must pace myself, or our 2 fridges tend to get a BIT full! 🙂

011

  I wanted to make something fun over the weekend, and I had everything on hand to make these Austrian Cream Cheese bars.  What I didn’t count on, was my house erupting into mass chaos right as I began.  (How DOES that happen?)  Anywho, long story short, I made a ROOKIE MISTAKE!

A BIG Rookie mistake!

  I was reading über fast trying to get it in the oven so I could move on to supper prep and the errand we were going to run as a family, and I quickly glanced at the ingredient list, layed everything out and began dumping.  And…..

 Idumpedthebrownsugarinforthewhiteandthewhiteforthebrown.

  Oh what?! You didn’t hear what I said?

Sorry.

{SIGH}

I dumped the brown sugar in where the white belonged, and the white sugar where the brown belonged.

RRR, I was super ticked, but rather than waste all that butter, I rolled with it.  Needless to say, the crust was a bit chewy and the cream cheese layer had a different kick to it, but what I will tell you, is made CORRECTLY, these have the potential of being FANTASTIC!

  Don’t tell my Sunday School Class, but they were supposed to get a Breakfast Cake with their Eggs Benedict Casserole Sunday morning.  Instead, they got Austrian Cream Cheese Bars because I didn’t want a whole pan of them left at my house for me to eat on all week.  LOL 🙂   {They didn’t seem to mind.}

Austrian Cream Cheese Bars

(From Recipes & Recollections of the Better Baker)

Austrian Cream Chz Bars (1)

(click recipe title for easy printable)

  • 1-½ cup Flour
  • 1 cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • ½ teaspoons Cinnamon
  • ⅔ cups Butter, Softened
  • 8 ounces, weight Cream Cheese
  • ¾ cups Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Flour
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 12 ounces, weight Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • ¾ cups Chopped Walnuts Or Pecans

For the Crust: In your mixing bowl, whip butter, add flour, brown sugar, & cinnamon. Beat for 2 minutes at medium speed or until crumbly. Press mixture into an un-greased 9×13 pan. Bake for 12 minutes at 350*. Remove.
Topping: In clean mixing bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth, add in white sugar, flour and eggs. Stir in 1 cup chocolate chips. Pour over crust and return to oven for 20 minutes, or until topping is almost set. Remove pan from oven long enough to sprinkle remaining chocolate chips on top, return to oven 1 more minute to soften chocolate chips. Pull pan from oven, and carefully spread melted chips over the whole top. Sprinkle with nuts and press lightly. Refrigerate 1 hour before cutting into bars.

Austrian Cream Chz Bars (2)

So rich and good!

Thanks for another great recipe, Mrs. Baker!

~T

Head to Post 2 for today: “Required: Nap Time & Quiet Time”.

6 thoughts on “Austrian Cream Cheese Bars

  1. Well I’ll be…you musta been in a big hurry! =) Glad to know they turned out tasty anyway. I remember the first time my granddaughter Charlie tasted these…her eyes lit up and she said she wanted another one! Thanks much for the ‘promo’ for my book and recipe…I am flattered! Enjoy a great week Dearie. XO

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)

