Kansas Cornbread Salad

Thank you for all your sweet birthday messages!  I was so blessed to log into my email at the end of the day to find 190-some birthday messages awaiting me. Made my day!  30 doesn’t feel a bit different from 29, guess I was already feeling old and tired?  🙂  Like Dale always says, the number 30 doesn’t make you old, it’s the 4 young children that take care of that!!!!!

On to food, one of my favorite topics, you are going to love this one! 

This salad is so colorful and unique! Plus, it tastes amazing!

011

KANSAS CORNBREAD SALAD

Ingredients

  • 8-½ ounces, weight Package Corn Muffin Mix
  • 10 slices Bacon, crisply cooked and crumbled
  • 8 ounces, weight Sour Cream
  • 1 cup Miracle Whip
  • 1 ounce, weight Packet Ranch Salad Dressing Mix
  • 3 whole Large Tomatoes, Chopped
  • 15 ounces, weight Can Pinto Beans, Drained
  • 15 ounces, weight Can Black Beans, Drained
  • 2 cans Corn, Drained (15 Ounce Cans)
  • 1 cup Chopped Red Pepper
  • ½ cups Chopped Green Onion
  • ⅓ bunches Cilantro, Snipped
  • 2 cups Shredded Colby-jack Cheese

Prepare muffin mix, according to package directions. (I do 1 pan rather than 001messy muffin tins)

When it’s done, cool and crumble. Set aside.

Cook and crumble bacon, set aside.

Combine sour cream, Miracle Whip and dressing mix, set aside.

Combine tomatoes, beans, corn, peppers, onions and snipped cilantro; set aside.

002

In a 9×13 glass dish, layer half of the crumbled corn bread, half of the bean mixture, half the bacon and 1 cup of cheese.  Spread with half of the dressing mixture.  Next, spread remaining bean mixture, bacon, dressing, cheese and end with remaining Cornbread crumbles.  Cover and chill.  

Enjoy!

~T

023

This post linked to:

Made It On Monday

Tasty Tuesday

Everyday Sisters

Back for Seconds

15 thoughts on “Kansas Cornbread Salad

  1. Oh my Tonya, this looks wonderful!!!!! It is a must try!

    Your idea of the Mom’s Day out was wonderful. They were blessed and the kids were precious! We had a wonderful time. I will let Tonya tell…….it was really neat though!

    Hugs to your day and please tell Sweet Avery…….HAPPY BIRTHDAY from the Stubbies!
    Blessings, Linda

    • I am so glad you all had a good turn out! As soon as I am home, I’ll be there to drop off my 4 little ones! 🙂 Thanks for the sweet birthday wishes! Make this salad soon, it’s soooo good! xo T

    • Hmmm, interesting thought! Yes, gooey cheese, but as far as beans, peppers and corn bread go, they’d all be fine warm. I just wonder what the cold ranch layer would be like. Its so good and fresh when its cold, but if you get brave and heat up a bowl, will you let me know the result?! ~Tonya

  2. Hi, we would like to pin your Kansas cornbread salad https://4littlefergusons.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/kansas-cornbread-salad/
    Would you mind if I posted it on Bethany College’s (Lindsborg, Kan.) boards on Pinterest (the new social media web collection site) http://pinterest.com/bethanyswede/?

    The pin includes a brief description we write about the content, a picture from the blog, and a link back to the permalinked post. We want to use our Pinterest as a helpful guide for college students with pins like quick snacks to make in their dorms, inexpensive décor, fashion ideas, creative inspiration, products to make their lives easier, and local places to visit.

    Would you please give us permission to share your content? Thank you for your consideration.

    Stephanie McDowell
    Director of Communications

    Bethany College
    335 East Swensson Street, Lindsborg, KS 67456
    (785) 227-3380 ext. 8274, mcdowells@bethanylb.edu http://www.bethanylb.edu

  3. I tried this recipe for the first time about a month ago. I will be making it for Memorial Day. I liked it the first day, but I LOVED it the second day after all the flavors had a chance to “marry”. Thank you for posting this great recipe!

  4. The Kansas Cornbread Salad looks SO good, but I’m allergic to tomatoes. Would it be okay to cut them out or because tomatoes are juicy will I need to add something to replace them?

  5. Pingback: Kansas Cornbread Salad & Weekend Potluck #72 |

  6. Pingback: Back For Seconds Social *Link Party* - Back for Seconds

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)