Teriyaki Chicken Lettuce Wraps

  I told my friend, Kim from The Sunflower Supper Club, that we just might be Foodie Sisters separated at birth, or maybe just the lunch line.  All I know, is that what she posts, I print, make and LOVE…every single time!

These Teriyaki Chicken Lettuce Wraps are amazing. The homemade Teriyaki sauce is GORGEOUS!  And makes the dish in my opinion!

Teriyaki Chicken Lettuce Wraps

(click title for easy printable)

adapted from Sunflower Supper Club

Teriyaki Chicken Lettuce Wraps (2)

Ingredients

FOR THE GLAZE:

  • ½ cups Soy Sauce
  • ¼ cups Brown Sugar
  • ¼ cups Honey
  • ½ cups Red Wine Vinegar
  • ½ teaspoons Garlic Powder
  • ¼ teaspoons Onion Powder
  • ¼ teaspoons Ginger
  • 2-½ Tablespoons Cornstarch

FOR THE FILLING:

  • 1 pound Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, Diced Into Bite Size Pieces
  • ½ teaspoons Pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons Sesame Oil
  • ½ cups Onion, Diced
  • 1 Tablespoon Garlic, Minced
  • ½ teaspoons Dried Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
  • ½ whole Lime Juiced, (about 1 1 /2 Tablespoons)
  • 1 whole Red Bell Pepper, Diced
  • 4 sprigs Green Onions, Sliced
  • 2 whole carrots, peeled and thinly sliced
  • ½ cups Dry Roasted Peanuts Or Cashews
  • 12 whole Lettuce Leaves, Boston or Romaine Hearts work best because they are a stiffer leaf {not pictured}
  • 1 box Fried Rice, made according to package directions

FOR GARNISH:

  • Cilantro
  • Soy Sauce

In a medium saucepan, mix all the glaze ingredients together, except the cornstarch, and bring to a slow boil. Take 1/3 cup of sauce and put in a small bowl. Mix with the cornstarch and whisk together. Add back into the sauce and simmer until it thickens to desired consistency, about 5 minutes. If it gets too thick, you can thin with a little water. Set aside.

Season the diced chicken with pepper. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium high heat and add the sesame oil. Sautee the onion and garlic for a few minutes until beginning to soften. Add the chicken and continue cooking until chicken is cooked through, about 5-7 minutes. Stir in the red pepper flakes, if using; cook another minute. Pour the glaze into the skillet with the chicken. Add the lime juice, red bell pepper, carrots green onions, peanuts or cashews and sautee a few more minutes. Remove from heat for a few minutes before serving so you don’t wilt your lettuce “shell”.

Spoon a few Tablespoons of fried rice, followed by  1/4 cup of the mixture into a lettuce leaf and garnish with fresh cilantro.

Enjoy!

~T

Teriyaki Chicken Lettuce Wraps (1)

10 thoughts on “Teriyaki Chicken Lettuce Wraps

  1. Thanks Tonya for sharing! I LOVE your changes and will be trying your version soon. I pretty sure we were separated at birth as well! 🙂

  2. This looks wonderful! I have printed it out and am adding it to this week’s menu. Thanks for posting because I was at a loss for menu planning this week. I get bored so easily. (0=
    Have a blessed day.

    • Hi Tonya……me again! I made this last night and it was SOOOOO good!! My family practically licked the pan clean. LOL. The only problem we had was in the delivery from the plate to the lips – haha – the lettuce kept spilling the contents. Ah, such is life. I was thinking maybe next time I make this, I might try to find a recipe for those cute little asian pancakes that they serve that Chinese take-out place, what do you think? Thanks again and have a GREAT day!

      • Bahahaha! That is funny! Hmm, next time, try Boston lettuce….it tends to hold up better than regular lettuce leaves. I used our garden lettuce in the photo, because it was FREE! 🙂 I love to hear when a recipe is a success!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Chinese Dishes | 4 little Fergusons

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)