Cowboy Bundles

   My best friend is an AMAZING bread baker!  So, when she passed on this Cowboy Bundles recipe, and I saw the first ingredient said: 2 packets of yeast, I just sighed and tucked it away on the To Try pile.  She has totally conquered her fear of Yeast and left me in the dust, still battling it alone.

{Sigh}

  I hate yeast.  Yeast hates me, too. Except when I make butter crescents, but even they are ugly sometimes. 

  I can scarcely believe I am writing this, but I DID get these Cowboy Bundles to turn out: YAY!!!!  Soft, lofty and all the right kinds of chewy!   YUMMMMMMM!

Introducing COWBOY BUNDLES…….

  Think Meatloaf in an amazingly soft bread bundle. Did I already say, YUM?

Yes?

Ok, moving on.  Oh, but did I mention the bread was soft and nice?

 Yes?

Ok, just checking, cause it really was! Not flat and disgusting at all! Yipee!

Cowboy Bundles

(click title for easy printable)

IMG_2833

Ingredients

Dough

  • 2 packages (1/4 Ounce Each) Active Dry Yeast
  • ⅔ cups Warm Water (110-115*)
  • ⅔ cups Warm Milk (110-115*)
  • ¼ cups Sugar
  • ¼ cups Shortening
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 2 teaspoons Salt
  • 4-½ cups (up To 5 Cups) Of Flour (I Did A Mixture Of Whole Wheat And White)

Filling

  • 2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 3 ounces, weight Package Of Real Bacon Pieces
  • 1 whole Small Onion Chopped
  • 1-½ teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Pepper
  • 1 pound Velveeta Cheese, Cubed (next time I want to try a few cups of shredded colby jack instead)
  • ¾ cups Ketchup And BBQ Mixed
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter, Melted
  • Ketchup Or BBQ Sauce For Dipping

In your Kitchen Aide bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add the milk, sugar, shortening, eggs, salt and 3-1/2 cups flour; knead using your dough hook. Add enough remaining flour to form a soft dough, kneading until smooth and pulling away from the sides of the bowl.
Turn dough on to a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 3 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.
Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook the beef, onion, salt and pepper over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Add bacon and cheese; cook and stir until cheese is melted. Remove from the heat and stir in BBQ/Ketchup mixture.(I added a bit more than directed, until I liked the consistency)
Punch dough down. Turn on to a lightly floured surface; divide into fourths. Roll each portion into an 12-in. x 8-in. rectangle; cut each into six squares. Place 1/4 cup meat mixture in the center of each square. Bring corners together in the center and pinch to seal.
Place 2 in. apart on greased baking sheets. Bake at 400° for 9-11 minutes or until lightly browned. Brush with butter.

Serve warm with ketchup and BBQ sauce if desired.

  We ABSOLUTELY LOVED these and they have officially make “The Rotation” at our house, a select few recipes that EVER get repeated! Cause I loooove new recipes!   Be brave, try these Cowboy Bundles even though they call for Yeast, YOU CAN DO IT!

17 thoughts on “Cowboy Bundles

  1. Pingback: Lisa's Dinnertime Dish – Busy Night Braised Beef and Marinara Pasta

  2. Pingback: Lisa's Dinnertime Dish – Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

  3. Pingback: Lisa's Dinnertime Dish – Drunken Strawberry Shortcake Supreme

  4. Cowboy Bundles look Fantastic! So glad to know you conquered your fear of the yeasty battle..atleast this time huh? =) Thanks much for hosting another fun party. Looks like you’re gonna have a WARM weekend – good for you!

  5. I’m so glad to read that it’s not just me! Yea-there are others out there who are afraid of yeast recipes!! I will very often see a food pic or hear a title, click on the link for the recipe, and when I see “yeast” I immediately go away from that page-I don’t even print it and put it in a “Try Later” pile!! These Cowboy Bundles look really good though-and if Tonya says go for it, I’m really tempted. Maybe I’ll at least print this one up-LOL!!

  6. Tonya,
    I had a fear of yeast and have made a few things with yeast, but still pass over recipes with yeast. Now I have to Your Cowboy Bundles turned out so well.

    i was so excited to see the Linguine with Chicken, Bacon, and Sun Dried Tomatoes as a featured recipe on Weekend Potluck# 11!!! Thank you

  7. I’m making these next week! They’re going onto the menu plan 🙂 I’m posting a whole wheat hamburger bun recipe that is made in less than 45 minutes next week. You’re going to love it. And you won’t fail with the yeast.

  8. Pingback: Twice Baked Potato Casserole « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  9. Pingback: Smoky Blue Cheese & Basil Stuffed Mushrooms « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  10. Pingback: Delicious Thai Peanut Noodles in Minutes « Sumptuous Spoonfuls

  11. Pingback: Neapolitan Cheesecake Brownie Bars - Inside BruCrew Life

  12. Pingback: Shrimp and Corn Remoulade Dip – Sunflower Supper Club 3

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)