Tree Houses & Treasures

Due to a scheduling mix up (read that: Tonya was too tired to remember to check her blog calendar Sunday night) you are getting Monday’s post, today.  Just go with me here….. and thanks for understanding! 🙂 

We had such a fun and busy weekend!  It’s been a while since I’ve had a “blog-worthy” Weekend to share, but I think this one fits the bill.  🙂  This blog is to be a book of Memories one day for our children, so I want to be sure to continue to do these sorts of posts between recipes and other thoughts.

  First of all, the children’s adopted Grandparents, offered to build them a tree house.  WOO-HOO!  We had a spot already picked out and had actually planned to do one once some extra money came in for lumber.  {Well, you know how that goes! Especially with 4 little people to care for, there’s never extra money!}

  We are sooo thankful for this awesome gift that will bring hours upon hours of fun.  It’s not done yet, but here are the pictures so far.  A big thanks to Glen, Papa Don and Dale for their hard work!

IMG_3568IMG_3569IMG_3578IMG_3600

“Mommy, PLEEEEEASE can we do a silly picture?”

IMG_3602IMG_3616IMG_3653IMG_3632IMG_3622

Walls are going up….

IMG_3659

A Snack bucket with rope is a must! 🙂

IMG_3656IMG_3661IMG_3667

Pax wakes up from nap time and joins the fun…..

IMG_3670IMG_3672IMG_3675IMG_3678IMG_3687IMG_3679IMG_3681

This tree house is WAY bigger than it looked when we first staked it out! I see future slumber parties out here! 🙂

IMG_3684IMG_3688IMG_3689IMG_3690IMG_3699

IMG_3627Daddy and Papa finish the ladder just in time for everyone to come down for a much-needed bath!

EWWWWWW

IMG_3702

   So far, everything has been done with scrap lumber other than the floor, PTL!  This week the guys will work on the roof and then we’ll paint everything.  I told the kiddos we’ll paint the inside with their handprints, names and anything they want to draw.  Fun stuff! I will be sure to post pictures when it is all done.

Also this weekend, we headed over to where Dale’s Dad {aka Papa} recently bought the land adjoining ours, and went on a Treasure Hunt.  There were all kinds of neat things hidden amongst the old outbuildings.  The kids got some new play horses and a steel truck.  And this Momma got her hearts desire…..

IMG_3583

  Ball Jars, Mason Jars and Kerr Jars;  a whole wooden crate of them!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IMG_3585{SQUEEEE!}  🙂   I just may have done a happy dance, but who knows for sure.

  Jars like these are hard to find now that they are so “cool”.  Have you looked on Pinterest lately?  Everyone is using them for their weddings, household décor, chandeliers etc. 

Destiny helped me clean them up. I can’t wait to use them to decorate tables at a party or something!

 IMG_3595IMG_3596 Look what else we found:

IMG_3591

IMG_3586An old amber glass Clorox jug and the kind of iron that you heat up on a stove.  I used them to decorate my laundry room!  Fun, right!?IMG_3588

“The Lady Dover” clothing iron.  What a fancy name! lol 🙂

IMG_3590

   We also went to the school carnival, but I only took 4 pictures.  This is very unusual for me! 🙂  I gotta tell you, sometimes, I just want to be Mom, not Mamarazzi, you know?

I DID get out my camera for these shots, I know they are dark, the evening was drawing to a close, but Paxton’s face was too precious not to show you these!

Clearly, he is underwhelmed by this horse ride!

IMG_3647

Or maybe it was just a helmet issue?

IMG_3643

Avery clearly, is having the time of her life. 

Ty thought it was pretty cool, too.

IMG_3650

  Destiny ran off with her friends the SECOND we walked in the door. (Well, once she got her tickets and permission that is.)

{SIGH}  Guess this is our new reality, huh?!  How is my baby girl turning 9 this summer?

~T