Bakeaholic Mama & Valentine Mailboxes

Hi everyone! I am guest posting today at Bakeholic Mama, so come see me there.  Carrie (aka Bakeaholic Mama) is, and I quote……

A “Food obsessed wife and stay at home mama of 3 kiddos and a black lab.” 

  She and I just recently got to know each other via Facebook. I love meeting new people! Come on over to Carrie’s place and say hi today!

  I am sharing the “Non-Recipe Recipe” for Raspberry Sweeties:

Raspberry Sweeties

  Just in time for an Oh-so Romantic celebration with the one your soul loves.  🙂

No, not Super Bowl, Silly…..

VALENTINES DAY!!!!!!!!!

dume,lean,on,me,love,random,cute,love,finger-090bc2b9e38d82916c3a4a845d552eaf_h

(via)

  Speaking of Valentines Day, check out this Oh-so ADORABLE idea I found at The Anderson Crew blog:

Valentine Mailboxes for the little people in your life you love most.

  You’ll need:

~Some old candle stick holders, my mom got mine for me at Goodwill for $2.00 a piece. {No I didn’t remember to photograph the before. They were plain wood. BORING!}

~ A mailbox for each kiddo, found in the Dollar Spot at Target RIGHT NOW!  {Go, run! Before all the other moms snag them!}

~Letters: stickers, wooden, magnet, you name it.  I REALLY wanted to find big colorful letters in all different prints, but alas it was not to be so. I check Walmart AND Hobby Lobby and finally settled on these sequin ones.  Not what I wanted, but cute none the less.

~An old magnet.  You know, like the free kind people give you with their business card on it.  You’ll be cutting this, so make sure it’s not your Insurance agent or someone important.  Then cut to shape and glue to your letters with a hot glue gun.

 ~You could glue direct to the mailbox, but JUST IN CASE we ever switch colors between kids, or I want the letters off for say cleaning purposes, I decided magnets work best for us.

~ A can of spray paint for your old 2nd hand candle stick holders. {Please don’t make me go all the way out to the cold shed to take a picture of the black spray paint, use your imaginations, ok?}

You can do any color spray paint you want, but I chose black to match the letters I had to buy since I live in a tiny town with no choices.

 {Sigh} Where or where could 2 inch tall colorful print letters be? 

  On a bright note, at least since I used magnets to attach my letters I COULD switch them out some day, should the perfect colorful letters reveal themselves to me!  

After the candlestick holders dried overnight, we attached them to the mailboxes with hot glue.  (Do something stronger, they keep falling off!) Then we used tape to make a ‘hinged door’ rather than the slide on and off lid these mailboxes come with.  Lord knows I don’t need mailbox lids getting lost, and yes, it would happen with Paxton into everything as much as he is!

Here is the finished product:

Ta-da!

Cute, right?!  I will be filling these with love notes, pipe cleaner sparkle hearts, stickers, heart window clings and GASP! maybe even a piece of candy. 

{Don’t get too excited, I am thinking like 3 M&M’s or something. Hey, my kids don’t get candy at ALL, they will be THRILLLLLLLED!}

The kids know they have a new treat awaiting them when I put the flag up.  I know this is opposite of how it works in the real world, but who cares, they LOVE it!

 Go forth, buy mailboxes and make your kiddos smile!

 Then come on over to the oh-so fabulous site of Bakeholic Mama!

~T

 

Shared at:

Meet Penny

16 thoughts on “Bakeaholic Mama & Valentine Mailboxes

  1. What a darling darling idea! I love it…will be on the lookout for those items…and I’ll know the perfect thing to do with them. VERY nice, Mom! I was a note-giving mom and anything you can do to dress up the ‘presentation’ really gets my attention. Terrific!

  2. I am in heaven with those raspberries! What a great idea and yet so simple. I never would have thought of it. I am thinking about doing a recipe roundup for Valentines Day~ would you mind if I shared this recipe of yours?

  3. Love these! I saw them on pinterest a week ago when scouring for valentines goodies {I’m such a hopeless addict} – and I love how you used the sequined letters. Fah-bulous, dah-link!

  4. Oh goodness those are TOO FLIPPIN CUTE. BTW, my child rarely gets candy either, but he sure loves ‘treat nanas’ aka bananas I bought and dehydrated in little rings. HAH. I love how we can teach our children that simple things are treats. Although he does love his chocolate….

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)