Sweet Pulled Pork Tacos with Avocado Cream Sauce

Sweet Pulled Pork Tacos with Avocado Cream Sauce

Recipe adapted from Laughter and Latte’s

Original Recipe Credit: The Meal Planner

If you like the fresh taste of cilantro, this is the dinner for you! Fresh, easy and oh-so delicious!

Ingredients

Sweet Pulled Pork:

  • 3 pounds Pork Shoulder Roast (or Loin Roast Is Fine, Just Pricer)
  • 2 cups Of Your Favorite Salsa (you Decide The Heat)
  • 4 ounces, weight Canned Green Chilies
  • ¼ cups Packed Brown Sugar
  • 15 ounces, weight Black Beans, Rinsed And Drained

Avocado Cream Sauce:

  • 4 whole Green Onions, Sliced
  • 2 whole Avocados
  • 2 Tablespoons Sour Cream
  • 4 Tablespoons Lime Juice
  • ¼ cups Snipped Cilantro
  • 4 cloves Minced Garlic
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt

TOPPINGS:

  • Shredded Lettuce
  • 4 whole Green Onions, Sliced
  • Stand And Stuff Taco Shells

Preparation Instructions

In the bottom of a large crock pot, mix salsa, green chilies, brown sugar and black beans. Add the pork roasted (salted with Kosher salt) and cook on low for 6-8 ours or high for 4-6. Take the meat out of the crockpot and shred with 2 forks. Return to pot and mix with sauce and beans. Leave lid off as you continue making supper to cook away some of the juices.
To make the avocado cream sauce, slice green onions, mash 2 avocado, add lime, sour cream, snipped cilantro, garlic and salt.
To serve:
Scoop sweet pork into baked hard shell. Top with a dollop of avocado cream sauce and shredded lettuce and green onions.
Serve with cherry tomatoes on the side.
Dig in to these fresh, easy, DELICIOUS tacos! YUM!004

*My only complaint was that if I made 2 tacos at the same time, my second got the shell soggy while it waited. Just an FYI, not a deal breaker!

Your gonna want to make this one!!!!!

~T

This post linked to:

The Lady Behind the Curtain

Gooseberry Patch Recipe Round Up

Lark’s Country Heart Made It On Monday

Tasty Tuesday

Wonka Wednesday

This Chick Cooks

Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

21 thoughts on “Sweet Pulled Pork Tacos with Avocado Cream Sauce

  1. The avocado and cilantro sound just fabulous in these! I’d do pulled chicken instead but add everything else you suggested. My stomach is growling just thinking about it!

  2. That looks so yummy. I am going to try it.

    I just want you to know that I love your blog! I found it totally by coincidence. I look forward to your posts. On the weekends I am hardly on the computer but I get your posts on my phone without the pictures. I get to read the post and then Monday go back and read again with pictures. I also find your spirit uplifting and motivating. I have struggled with religion my whole life the inner peace you have comes out in your blog and is an inspiration to me.

    Thank you for sharing!
    Teri

    • Teri, I have also struggled with religious people and their lofty ways, to me there is a big difference between religion and faith in Jesus Christ. Peace comes with Faith: Faith in God, faith in His plan for me. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with me! I love that you come see me…..twice! Phone AND computer. 🙂 ~Tonya

  3. Well — I had just written a long comment on your June 22nd blog and “poof” all at once it was gone! I am your Mom’s first cousin [Uncle Maurice is my Dad’s younger brother]. I had asked LaDonna about you, noting that I had anticipated meeting you as I have been following your blog since last spring/summer. We left to go west on June 22nd and I had not been on fb since father’s day.

    I have been blessed by your blog many, many times and want to encourage you to continue sharing your “daily life’s journey” with all it’s multi-faceted realities. I can most definitively relate to the adversities that you are dealing with, have wondered and asked God “why am I such a slow learner”? 😉 At one time I was driving in the car to work and I audibly stated “God, I just can’t take it anymore!” and it was like I heard God reply “That’s right, YOU can’t”. The realization hit — that’s the whole point. I have had to learn that we are fortunate to have been blessed with adversity and to have “lost” my life as I knew it — MS with physical disability/hearing impairment have been consistant teachers.

    Those experiences were “faith builders” for me, so important in a relationship with a personal God. Without faith it is not possible to please him…. thus I am grateful. Another promise I depend on is God’s reply to Paul “My grace is sufficient for you, for power [my strength] is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. II Corinthians 12: 9-10. As you and your family, we have been blessed to have the opportunity to be the recipients of God’s miraculous provisions and see His spirit working in and through others. That is truly a privilege, many have never seen God in action that way — but then, they maybe didn’t need a miracle. At the same time it gives one experiential knowledge of why the Word says, “it is more blessed to give, than to receive.” and realize what a privilege it is to give!!

    May you and yours be Blessed — Sara

    • Oh Sara, Thank you for this wonderful comment, I am glad this one didn’t vanish! You are a strong woman, and you show such strength through such a painful disease!!! I am always blessed and suprised to hear who follows our blog. I was so disapointed to have to miss the reunion, but as you know, sometimes there is just not money for these things! 🙂 It was a blessing to hear from you, Tonya

  4. Tonya! I made your delicious tacos tonight for my family…and they were absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! They are incredibly YUMMY!!! As soon as I read your post this morning, I knew I had to make this recipe!!! Saw your hubby while getting the ingredients today! Thanks for sharing your wonderful, tasty, and easy recipes!!!

  5. Thank you for sharing your recipe with me at Cast Party Wednesday. I hope you will come back tomorrow and share more of your recipes.
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

  6. Oh girl, these are great tacos and the avocado sauce is out of this world. We are going to love this recipe!! Hope you are having a great week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  7. Pingback: 2011 in review «

  8. Pingback: Sweet Pulled Pork Tacos | Lifestyle Pins

  9. Just made this tonight after tasting it at a friend”s house recently, and it was heavenly! Thanks so much for a fun new recipe for our family to “pig out” on!

I adore hearing from you, comment away! :)