Creamy Chicken Enchilada Casserole

I know you thought you were getting on here to read a recipe, and you will, but first things first…….

Guess who is CRAWLING?! 027

Yuppers, my lil’ Paxton!!!!

I thought I’d have to cry that my last baby was mobile, but I totally didn’t, just clapped and enjoyed the moment.

He was pretty dumbfounded that he was moving FORWARDS after weeks of backwards crawling/scooching, and was so proud of himself!  Of course, by the time I got the camcorder out he was done with the show and crying, super offended I left him in his moment of glory.

The best part is, he does this funny little crawling method, unlike any of the other kiddos:

He moves arm, arm and then moves both his knees simultaneously and hops. This makes his little boofus bump up in the air and is the CUTEST inchworm impersonation you ever did see! We were cracking up!

004011010014015016

020019

This is the part where he got distracted by the string of drool coming from his mouth…..

036

Then he lay down and decided that was enough crawling for the morning.

Awwww, sweet baby Pax! 038

So on to dinner.  I grew up eating this casserole, and I love that my children ADORE it too!  It is creamy, it comes together easily and is oh-so delicious!

I apologize for this photo. I was lucky to get a shot before dinner was devoured by my family who was just “STARRRRRRVING”.  Trust me, this dish is all kinds of good. Creamy, flavorful and just YUMMY all the way around!

CREAMY CHICKEN ENCHILADA CASSEROLE

(click title to print)



½ cup onion
2 T. Butter
2 cans cream of chicken soup
16 oz. sour cream
3 cups shredded cheese, divided
1 can green chilies
1 container mushrooms, sautéed in butter
10 large tortillas
3 cups cooked, diced, chicken

 Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a large family-sized skillet over medium heat, sauté onion and mushrooms in butter until tender. Add all of the remaining ingredients except tortillas, reserving 1 cup of the cheese for topping.

Heat on medium low until cheese is melted. While it’s heating, cut all of the tortillas into 4 pieces, this can be done quickly by cutting 5 at a time, using a pizza cutter. Remove soup mixture from heat once the cheese is melted and everything is heated through.

Spread a small layer of chicken cream mixture in the bottom of your 9×13 baking dish, followed by a layer of slightly overlapping tortilla triangles, about 10 of them. Repeat layers for a total of 4 tortilla layers, ending with the chicken cream mixture.

Add the reserved 1 cup of cheese to the top and bake at 350 F for 15–20 minutes.

Serve with chips and fresh salsa. Yum!

Happy Cooking!

~T