Butterfinger Banana Cream Supreme Pie & Killer Spiders (interesting combo, right?!)

  Wierd title, I know, but I had to somehow sum up this posts topics, and I came up with nothing clever. 

  Just to clear up any confusion: there were NO spiders found in my pie.

PHEW! 

We will talk about spiders later!  First, I want to share a new dessert recipe with you, one that we made over the weekend.  It is called……   

BUTTERFINGER BANANA CREAM SUPREME PIE

  As soon as I saw it had sour cream in it, I was in! And it was very good!  The Butterfinger makes this already amazing Banana Pie recipe, unique!

006034

16 graham cracker squares, crushed (about 1 1/2 cups)

1/4 cup butter, melted

3 T. Sugar

16 oz. container Cool Whip, thawed

8 oz. Sour cream

1 package (3.4 oz) Vanilla Instant Pudding and pie filling

2 medium bananas, sliced

1 – 8 pack (0.65 oz. each) Butterfinger bars, crushed

  Finely crush graham crackers in large zip lock bag.  Pour into small bowl, add melted butter and sugar, mix well. Press crumb mixture into pie plate. Set aside.

  In same large, now empty zip lock bag, open and crush 8 mini Butterfinger bars. Set aside.

  In a large bowl, whisk 12 oz. whipped topping and sour cream until blended.  Add pudding mix, whisk until mixture is well blended and smooth.  Spread half the filling over crust.  Slice bananas and arrange over filling.  Top with all but 1/2 cup crushed Butterfingers.  Spread remaining filling over Butterfinger Banana layer and top with remaining Cool whip.  Garnish with 1/2 cup reserved crushed Butterfingers.

Refrigerate at least 30 minutes.  Cut into wedges and enjoy!

This is so simple and so good!  Happy Pie Making!

028

Moving on to the second part of my post:

Spiders.

  Oh, how I HATE Spiders!  I mean reallyreallyreally HATE them! 

  When I first married Dale, and would spot a creepy crawling spider, I’d scream and hollar until he came and killed it for me.  Well, once we had our 4 little Fergusons, and the brave warrior & mother bear came out in me, that has slowly changed.

  First, I got brave enough to kill the nasty spider with a 2 x 4.  Ok, not a 2 x 4, but think of an object similar to that, one that would keep the spider as FAAARRRR away from my body as possible, when reaching out to smoosh it.  Then, I’d leave the dead spider AND the 2 x 4-like object right there in the spot, until Dale could come clean it up.  I thought it was a lovely arrangement.

 Dale didn’t agree.

  Next, I got brave enough, to kill the spider with a fly swatter, shrieking and screaming: “Ew!” and “Would you DIE already?” as I wacked it to pieces.  Then, I’d suck it up with our dust buster, while turning my head away, so I wouldn’t have to see it.

Ew.

  Finally, I managed to get brave enough to kill the dumb thing with my slipper.  (with some shrieking mind you) Then, I’d pick it up with toilet paper and flush it, and go sanitize the bottom of my slipper.  Gross!  I managed this daring feat, only because it was going to crawl near where my babies were playing.

Brave, right?!?!  I thought so.  I guess my biggest spider issues are the following: 

First, they are creepy.

Second, they are just plain devious. 

  They lie underneath my weapon of choice, PRETENDING to be dead.  BUT, when I just barely lift up the object of death, to see if they are smooshed to my liking…..

  AHHHHHHHHHHH! The dumb thing springs into action and darts towards my feet.  Thus provoking ear-shattering shrieking and superman like leaps on to the bed or chair nearest me. 

  Did I mention…..I hate spiders!?!?!?!

  Well, the other day, imagine my horror,  when a SPIDER crawled across my baby’s tray while he was eating his veggies. It crawled RIGHT TOWARDS HIS SWEET BABY HANDS!!!!!

I have reenacted it below, for your viewing enjoyment….

*NOTE: The “spider” (hand) you see in the photos, is not in fact, an accurate depiction of the size of the actual spider.

 (THANK THE LORD!)

  The spider I smooshed was more the size of….hmm, a small ugly creepy thing?!

Oh, that doesn’t help you?  How about the size of a pea? A teeny teeny little baby pea.

Ew.

Great, now I’ll never be able to eat peas again. 

  Ok, back to my re-enactment….

Oh my! What is that??????

026029030031034032

{GASP} A spider crawling towards my precious baby?!?!?!?!

There was no time for slippers, 2 x 4’s or fly swatters.  Without thinking I reached out, and…..

SMOOSHED IT WITH MY BARE HAND FINGER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

EW! I still get the creeps thinking about it.

Here is a photo:

What do you mean, you can’t see anything?!

It’s DEAD SPIDER GUTS.   Right there!038-2

  Still don’t see it?????  Ok fine, I can’t see it either, but it’s there.  I can still feel it……{CHILLS} Gross!

027028

     Why are you shrieking mommy?                                 You are funny!

 Things you should know:

I check my shower for spiders every time before entering. 

I have defeated the high chair spider with my bare finger. 

The shower spider is next on my “Hit list”. 

Oh, and the creepy one guarding the back door in the garage.

I am a brave warrior.  I am a brave warrior.  I am a brave warrior. I am a…….

Scaredy cat!!!!!!!!

DAAAAAAAAA-LE!

~T

 

Updated photo: 2014-1-24
butterfinger-banana-cream-supreme-bite.jpg