Library Day & Vietnamese Fried Rice

  071Once every other month, we head to the library for new books. 

  A LOT of new books! 

  By the time we’ve picked out some for Avery, some for Ty, and chapter books for Destiny, we’ve usually got about 45 books to lug home.

  Because of this, we wait until Monday’s to go, when daddy is home from work early.  Besides helping me haul books to the car, his job is to sit in the rocking chair and read to the children who are done picking out their books, while I run around with the ones still needing to choose.  Paxton just chills in the car seat or on Daddy’s lap, but before I know it, I’ll be helping him pick books too!

056

051  Ty asked to pick his own books out for the first time tonight. 

    “Well sure, buddy! Why not?”

  He came back with 9 books, all called: “The Night Before Christmas”.

  Needless to say, there were a few giggles as we put them all back, and tried again. 

052

    Speaking of Tylan, he is now the proud owner of his very own library card!!!!

060059

  So what’s the best part of this Library Adventure??????

The next few days are filled with QUIET. 

Beautiful, perfect, peaceful quiet. 

001025

The quiet only broken by the sound of turning pages and the occasional giggle.

003

I LOVE IT!

188

  Destiny is getting to be a faster reader, completing a small chapter book during her 1 hour of required reading time.  She does this during the little one’s nap on the weekends.

021

It is my hearts desire, that my kids love to read.  I can only hope this promotes a life time of reading and a love for it too!

    I adore getting lost in a good Christian novel!!! But alas, I don’t even bother to get books for me anymore.  It’s just mean to see them sitting there, untouched week after week.  I haven’t checked out a book since Paxton was a few months old and reality hit.

Life with 4 is busy

  Besides, right now the Lord is asking me to blog during my down time, not read 043and I am ok with that……. 

Cause I love you guys!  🙂  

  Too bad I won’t be able to take you out to the pool with me this summer. 

065

  Hmm, I might trade you in for a book those days, but don’t worry, I’ll still talk to you after the kids are asleep…….

Cause you pretty much ROCK!

~T  🙂

P.S.  Thanks to some afternoon prep work, we came home from the library and had this delicious supper ready within 10 minutes:

VIETNAMESE FRIED RICE with CHICKEN

Serves 8

062

Earlier in the day to make supper go waaaay faster, cook 3 cups brown basamati rice in 6 cups of water. If you feel like continuing your early prep, go ahead and chop your onions and cube your chicken.

Heat in large electric skillet:

6 T. cooking oil

Add:

1 lb. raw chicken, cut into cubes

6 cloves garlic, pressed

1 1/2 –2 large onions, chopped

2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. pepper

2 tsp. sugar

4 T. Soy Sauce

Stir-fry until meat is tender and hot, 2-3 minutes.

Add: 6-8 cups previously cooked rice

Stir-fry 5 minutes. 

Add:

2 cups frozen veggies such as peas, carrots or green beans

Stir well into rice-meat mixture.

Just before serving time.

Add to a cleared area, 2 eggs, beaten.

Heat and stir until eggs are cooked and mixed through.

Serve hot. 

064

  This recipe is FANTASTIC! And super cheap. It comes from the “More With Less Cookbook”.  Yum-o!  Making this again ASAP.

This recipe shared with:

Everday Sisters

The Ultimate Beans & Rice Linky Party